Command Question


Rules Discussion


If you Command a target to walk in a line and they are within reach of your Fighter would the enemy provoke an AOO?

https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=45


Yes.


Yeah. The actions take place on the targets turn and would qualify as regular actions.
But I think you could only command them to approach you or flee. I don't think you could tell them to move anywhere you want on the battle field.


Would I need to be able to speak the same language as the enemy? Or does it just work automatically?


It has the Linguistic trait, so the target must be able to understand the language you're using.


Ohh, that sucks. Figured there was a caveat. How could I know if they spoke common? A knowledge check? But then I can't ask specific questions like that right?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Insult them as a free action and see if they react?

Or (probably more likely to work) roll an Intimidation check (without Intimidatin Glare) and ask the GM if you suffer a -4 penalty because the target doesn't understand you.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

It says you shout a command, so, if they can't understand that command some how I guess it would not work. Though, its up to your GM if that shout is just for the auditory aspect of the spell and you could use body language if applicable for the linguistic aspect.


Blave wrote:

Insult them as a free action and see if they react?

Or (probably more likely to work) roll an Intimidation check (without Intimidatin Glare) and ask the GM if you suffer a -4 penalty because the target doesn't understand you.

Haha good idea, but that's borderline cheating.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Blave wrote:

Insult them as a free action and see if they react?

Or (probably more likely to work) roll an Intimidation check (without Intimidatin Glare) and ask the GM if you suffer a -4 penalty because the target doesn't understand you.

Haha good idea, but that's borderline cheating.

The insult, maybe.

But the intimidation still costs you an action so I don't consider it cheating. It's not much different from a martial character with assurance athletics trying to trip an enemy just to see if he can - and get a feel for the enemy's reflex save in the process.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Command Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.