Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream!


Rules Discussion

151 to 200 of 391 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>

Syri wrote:
Unlike the Healing Touch archetype feat, the Deity's Domain 1st-level champion feat does not say anything about normally giving you a focus pool. Yes, page 302 should hopefully override feats with the "If you don't already have one, gain a focus pool" clause, but many GMs' current interpretation is that in the case of Deity's Domain, the feat has no such clause for page 302 to override. Many are hoping the designers tell us the clause's exclusion from Deity's Domain was a mistake.

In my humble opinion and as per RAW the Deity's Domain Champion feat 1st level does only grant the extra spell, not an extra Focus Point. This means you can either use your Focus Point lay on hands or the domain spell.

Note that the level 8 Advanced Deity's Domain Champion feat does explicitly grant an extra Focus Point, which is in line in how Clerics get their focus points by the way but of course would render the 1st level Champion feat way weaker than that of their divine counterparts.


Does the wizard's bonus spell have to come from the Arcane tradition or can they choose it from any tradition as long as it is from the right school?


Cruel Illusion wrote:
Does the wizard's bonus spell have to come from the Arcane tradition or can they choose it from any tradition as long as it is from the right school?

arcane.

when you pilfer spells from other traditions it's explicitly stated so.


Well, that makes 1st level wizards a lot less appealing. Thanks for the answer!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can MC Sorcerers pick bloodline granted cantrips with their dedication feat?

Sorcerer Dedication says you pick two "cantrips from the spell list associated with your bloodline"

Basic Spellcasting (and the other spellcasting feats) on the other hand say you can pick a spell from your bloodline's tradition or one of its granted spells.

As written this seems to suggest that, for example, MC Diabolic Sorcerers couldn't take produce flame because it's not a divine spell and Sorcerer Dedication doesn't have the 'or' language in it, but that doesn't feel intended.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can you make with Advanced/Quick Alchemy an item at a higher level than the one printed in the crb? Similar to how you can Heighten spells without specific heighten levels?

Mainly for stuff like counteract levels and such.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does the Battle Medicine feat require:
- access to healer's tools (say, in a bandolier)
- use of a free hand? Two free hands? No hands at all?
- If Battle Medicine requires no hands at all, is it considered a supernatural ability?


Source

Are you able to Sustain a Spell on the same spell multiple times per round, for spells like Flaming Spehere to cause their effects more than once?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Keybounce wrote:
Saros Palanthios wrote:

For purposes of Crafting items, are "raw materials" interchangeable between items?

If a PC buys a certain amount of raw materials intending to craft a suit of Full Plate, can they later change their mind and use the same raw materials to craft an Oil of Weightlessness instead? Can a PC "disassemble" a Potion of Healing and then and use the disassembled parts as raw materials to craft a mundane Longsword?

Or should the raw materials used to craft an item be specific to that item in some fashion?

If I were the GM, I'd rule that the raw materials are specific to the type/class of the object unless you had the "mad scientist" trait. So your materials for plate armor can only be used for something involving metal or armor, and even then not all of them will be usable on your new project (25-50% loss in useful parts).

People such as McGuyver, Agatha, etc., can make use of anything :-).

By rules, raw materials can be bought and sold at value, so while technically raw materials may not be the same for one object as another. By rules, if the raw materials necessary for a particular object are not unavailable, you should be able to sell/trade an equal value of raw materials for other items for the raw materials you need to make the item you want. If you need Adamantine raw materials, and it isn't available, it doesn't matter if you have that much in value of raw materials, you still need to find access to that amount of the specific raw material. But selling 100gp of magical potion raw materials you de-crafted out from the original potions you had, should be able to net you the 100gp for a very nice 200gp chariot you were wanting to build. (insert any valuable but potentially common item you were looking to craft yourself)

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
zer0darkfire wrote:

So, I was looking over swarms and I don't see anything stopping you from grappling them, at least not mechanically.

Swarm: "A swarm is a mass or cloud of creatures that functions as one monster. Its size entry gives the size of the entire mass, though for most swarms the individual creatures that make up that mass are Tiny. A swarm can occupy the same space as other creatures, and must do so in order to use its damaging action. A swarm typically has weakness to effects that deal damage over an area (like area spells and splash weapons)."

I even checked some swarm creatures to see if they had common entries about it, but came up empty. Rat Swarm (276) has immunity to precision and swarm mind, but not grapple?

If you look at Incorporeal, they have this line "An incorporeal creature can’t attempt Strength-based checks against physical creatures or objects—only against incorporeal ones—unless those objects have the ghost touch property rune. Likewise, a corporeal creature can’t attempt Strength-based checks against incorporeal creatures or objects."

This is an oversight right? I'm not supposed to be able to roll around on a pile of spiders, keeping them in place or throw the entire swarm with whirling throw? Can we just add a similar line from incorporeal creatures to swarms so you can't grapple or trip them?

Silver Crusade

8 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

For a recovery check at Dying 2 (DC12), is a natural 2 result a failure or a critical failure?

Discussion Thread


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, if a ran an encounter of 80 Xp total to a 5 members party, how many xp would each one gain and why?

If it were 4 i understand that each would gain 80 xp as a "moderate treat", but if i ad a 5º character this encounter would be closer to be a "Low threat". The book said to give de Total of xp of the monsters involved and if i do that each of the 5 would win the same 80 correct?
The problem is that by doing this, the more characters it have, more xp they would get since encounter will need to have more monsters to keep the "moderate" level.
I'm aware of the part where they tell to exclude the XP adjestment, but what do that mean if the xp given is the sum of monsters in the encounter and the adjustments are just about the xp budget threat.


Is the movement from Hydraulic Torrent spell a push effect?

The text refers to it being a push but the fail consequences say knock back

Similarly Hydraulic Push. It is called "Push" but the text only says knock back.

(spells p344, forced movement p475)

When do you save against Stinking Cloud spell? Right away?

The first time you end or start a turn in the spell AOE? Each time you start or maybe end your turn in the spell AOE

( I speculate the first time you enter the AOE & succeeding the save gives immunity, but that is not in the text)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nabucodonozor wrote:

So, if a ran an encounter of 80 Xp total to a 5 members party, how many xp would each one gain and why?

If it were 4 i understand that each would gain 80 xp as a "moderate treat", but if i ad a 5º character this encounter would be closer to be a "Low threat". The book said to give de Total of xp of the monsters involved and if i do that each of the 5 would win the same 80 correct?
The problem is that by doing this, the more characters it have, more xp they would get since encounter will need to have more monsters to keep the "moderate" level.
I'm aware of the part where they tell to exclude the XP adjestment, but what do that mean if the xp given is the sum of monsters in the encounter and the adjustments are just about the xp budget threat.

If you look at that chart, it has something like "+y xp per additional member"

That's the adjustment you ignore.

So, for 4 players, it might be 80xp budget, and there's +20 per additional member.

So, if you have 6 players, you would put 120xp worth of stuff (80+2*20) but each player would only get 80.

For your case:

Low threat for 5 players is 75 xp budget (60+15)

So I would give 60xp each

Exo-Guardians

Loreguard wrote:
By rules, raw materials can be bought and sold at value, so while technically raw materials may not be the same for one object as another. By rules, if the raw materials necessary for a particular object are not unavailable, you should be able to sell/trade an equal value of raw materials for other items for the raw materials you need to make the item you want. If you need Adamantine raw materials, and it isn't available, it doesn't matter if you have that much in value of raw materials, you still need to find access to that amount of the specific raw material. But selling 100gp of magical potion raw materials you de-crafted out from the original potions you had, should be able to net you the 100gp for a very nice 200gp chariot you were wanting to build. (insert any valuable but potentially common item you were looking to craft yourself)

The question arises when you're NOT in a town/city that has plenty of raw materials available to trade. But there's been a veeeery long discussion thread about this issue already, let's keep this thread for questions only.

Exo-Guardians

Syri wrote:
Saros Palanthios wrote:

The Acid Splash cantrip deals 1 splash acid damage on a hit. However, the spell does not have the Splash trait.

Should the splash damage be applied to all creatures adjacent to the target or only to the target itself?

Yes, that's what splash damage does. What the lack of the splash trait brings into question is whether any splash damage should be dealt on a failure.

"Splash damage" isn't defined anywhere in the CRB. The question arose out of a discussion in a different thread. Let's keep this thread for questions only please.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

What's the intent behind the Rough Rider ancestry feat? Are wolves/goblin dogs granted the mount special when aquired as a companion? Does the small mount size still apply?


How long does a Glyph of Warding remain inert to a person that has given a keyword or trigger?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Franz Lunzer wrote:

For a recovery check at Dying 2 (DC12), is a natural 2 result a failure or a critical failure?

Discussion Thread

I just re-watched the 3-action game night game on YouTube, and Jason Bulmahn more or less directly answered this question by stating (regarding a recovery save)

Quote:
it is going to be a flat check, the DC is 12, which means, on a 1 or a 2 you die


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Do you need a different formula for each type of spell for a scroll to craft?

Ie. Do you need 2 separate formulas to craft a scroll of magic missile and a scroll of mage armor?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Distracting feint gives a creature -2 to perception and reflex whilst it is flat footed from a feint . But does it get that negatives against everyone as long as it has the flat footed condition? Or do the rogue’s allies only get to take advantage of this if the rogue crit succeeds on the feint?


When using a staff, the CRB clearly states:

"You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level." (page 592)

However, for scrolls, it says:

"To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list." (page 564)

Nothing about having the appropriate level to cast the spell on the scroll. Was this intentional, or an oversight? If intentional, does that mean that a caster can cast a higher level spell from a scroll just because it appears on their spell list (Arcane, Divine, Occult, Primal)?

Sovereign Court

Denim N Leather wrote:

When using a staff, the CRB clearly states:

"You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level." (page 592)

However, for scrolls, it says:

"To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list." (page 564)

Nothing about having the appropriate level to cast the spell on the scroll. Was this intentional, or an oversight? If intentional, does that mean that a caster can cast a higher level spell from a scroll just because it appears on their spell list (Arcane, Divine, Occult, Primal)?

I think this is intentional. There was kind of a similar difference in 1e between spell completion items and spell trigger items.

1e Magic Items

Spell Completion wrote:
To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can’t already cast the spell, there’s a chance he’ll make a mistake.
Spell Trigger wrote:
Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell.

If you look at the magic item's text you can see 1e went about it in a much more complicated way, but there is precedence for a difference between items that emulate spells.


Thanks for the insights, NumenorKing!


What happens if you attempt to move into a square containing an Undetected creature?

What happens if you attempt a ranged attack against an opponent, not knowing that an Invisible/Undetected creature exists within the line of effect?

Unseen Servant states that it is invisible but "it normally doesn't Sneak so it is usually only Hidden". But this is contradicted by Invisible which reads "you're undetected to everyone" with no requirement to Sneak, only that it can be made Hidden by a Seek action.

Do enemies or PCs know about triggers or AoOs that their opponents have?


How do tower shields work?
Are they meant to cover a single side of the users square or the whole square?
If it's the whole square, do others that take cover from the tower shield count the whole square as cover?
Does this mean that foes the tower shield user is fighting in melee can also take cover from the shield?

Chirugeon alchemists using their research ability with medicine require what? Do they need both medicine and alchemy tools? Do they need 4 hands?


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

I posted this in its own thread to clearly explain it, but I feel like the TLDR version deserves to go here.
Halfling and Orc weapon familiarity are worded differently from every other ancestry's weapon familiarity feat. To them, their martial ancestry weapons are simple weapons, whereas for everyone else it's just for proficiency purposes. Is this inconsistency intentional, or is it meant to be one way or the other across all ancestries?

Scarab Sages

Ubertron_X wrote:
Syri wrote:
Unlike the Healing Touch archetype feat, the Deity's Domain 1st-level champion feat does not say anything about normally giving you a focus pool. Yes, page 302 should hopefully override feats with the "If you don't already have one, gain a focus pool" clause, but many GMs' current interpretation is that in the case of Deity's Domain, the feat has no such clause for page 302 to override. Many are hoping the designers tell us the clause's exclusion from Deity's Domain was a mistake.

In my humble opinion and as per RAW the Deity's Domain Champion feat 1st level does only grant the extra spell, not an extra Focus Point. This means you can either use your Focus Point lay on hands or the domain spell.

Note that the level 8 Advanced Deity's Domain Champion feat does explicitly grant an extra Focus Point, which is in line in how Clerics get their focus points by the way but of course would render the 1st level Champion feat way weaker than that of their divine counterparts.

But is it intended or is the Focus Point an oversight and should be copied over to level 1?


1. Form spells let you use 'your unarmed attack modifier' if it is higher than what the spell gives you. What constitutes your unarmed attack modifier? Is it just bonuses from proficiency and ability score?

While we're on the subject:

2. Do runes on Handwraps of Mighty Blows affect your post-transformation stats (Striking and Energy-Resistance for instance)?


Do the "Learn a Spell" rules apply to spells gained (or swapped) on level up? Specifically, the needing to find someone to teach the spell and the costs in time and gold.

And what are the number of known spells for spontaneous casters?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Thomas Keller wrote:


And what are the number of known spells for spontaneous casters?
"Sorcerer class entry, Page 190+ wrote:


Spell Repertoire
The collection of spells you can cast is called your spell repertoire. At 1st level, you learn two 1st-level spells of your choice and four cantrips of your choice, as well as an additional spell and cantrip from your bloodline (page 194). You choose these from the common spells from the tradition corresponding to your bloodline, or from other spells from that tradition to which you have access. You can cast any spell in your spell repertoire by using a spell slot of an appropriate spell level.

You add to this spell repertoire as you increase in level. Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–17), you add a spell of the same level to your spell repertoire. When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always your bloodline spell, but you can choose the other spells you gain. At 2nd level, you select another 1st-level spell; at 3rd level, you gain a new bloodline spell and two other 2nd-level spells, and so on. When you add spells, you might choose a higher-level version of a spell you already have so that you can cast a heightened version of that spell.

Though you gain them at the same rate, your spell slots and the spells in your spell repertoire are separate. If a feat or other ability adds a spell to your spell repertoire, it wouldn’t give you another spell slot, and vice versa.


zer0darkfire wrote:
Thomas Keller wrote:


And what are the number of known spells for spontaneous casters?
"Sorcerer class entry, Page 190+ wrote:


Spell Repertoire
The collection of spells you can cast is called your spell repertoire. At 1st level, you learn two 1st-level spells of your choice and four cantrips of your choice, as well as an additional spell and cantrip from your bloodline (page 194). You choose these from the common spells from the tradition corresponding to your bloodline, or from other spells from that tradition to which you have access. You can cast any spell in your spell repertoire by using a spell slot of an appropriate spell level.

You add to this spell repertoire as you increase in level. Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–17), you add a spell of the same level to your spell repertoire. When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always your bloodline spell, but you can choose the other spells you gain. At 2nd level, you select another 1st-level spell; at 3rd level, you gain a new bloodline spell and two other 2nd-level spells, and so on. When you add spells, you might choose a higher-level version of a spell you already have so that you can cast a heightened version of that spell.

Though you gain them at the same rate, your spell slots and the spells in your spell repertoire are separate. If a feat or other ability adds a spell to your spell repertoire, it wouldn’t give you another spell slot, and vice versa.

I thought there were only 3 bloodline spells and you needed feats to get them.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The names could be better, but there are bloodline spells and "granted spells" from your bloodline, which are totally different things. A bloodline always gives you a spell at each level from 1st to 9th, but there are also "bloodline spells" which are just focus powers.

Aberrant for example:
Granted Spells cantrip daze, 1st: spider sting, 2nd: touch of idiocy, 3rd: vampiric touch, 4th: confusion, 5th: black tentacles, 6th: feeblemind, 7th: warp mind, 8th: uncontrollable dance, 9th: unfathomable song
Bloodline Spells initial: tentacular limbs, advanced: aberrant whispers, greater: unusual anatomy


zer0darkfire wrote:

The names could be better, but there are bloodline spells and "granted spells" from your bloodline, which are totally different things. A bloodline always gives you a spell at each level from 1st to 9th, but there are also "bloodline spells" which are just focus powers.

Aberrant for example:
Granted Spells cantrip daze, 1st: spider sting, 2nd: touch of idiocy, 3rd: vampiric touch, 4th: confusion, 5th: black tentacles, 6th: feeblemind, 7th: warp mind, 8th: uncontrollable dance, 9th: unfathomable song
Bloodline Spells initial: tentacular limbs, advanced: aberrant whispers, greater: unusual anatomy

So, what do you get from level 10 to 20?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Thomas Keller wrote:
zer0darkfire wrote:

The names could be better, but there are bloodline spells and "granted spells" from your bloodline, which are totally different things. A bloodline always gives you a spell at each level from 1st to 9th, but there are also "bloodline spells" which are just focus powers.

Aberrant for example:
Granted Spells cantrip daze, 1st: spider sting, 2nd: touch of idiocy, 3rd: vampiric touch, 4th: confusion, 5th: black tentacles, 6th: feeblemind, 7th: warp mind, 8th: uncontrollable dance, 9th: unfathomable song
Bloodline Spells initial: tentacular limbs, advanced: aberrant whispers, greater: unusual anatomy

So, what do you get from level 10 to 20?

Those spells? Those levels are spell levels, not character levels. For example, unfathomable song is a 9th level spell, so you get it at level 17 added to your 9th level spells known.


zer0darkfire wrote:
Thomas Keller wrote:
zer0darkfire wrote:

The names could be better, but there are bloodline spells and "granted spells" from your bloodline, which are totally different things. A bloodline always gives you a spell at each level from 1st to 9th, but there are also "bloodline spells" which are just focus powers.

Aberrant for example:
Granted Spells cantrip daze, 1st: spider sting, 2nd: touch of idiocy, 3rd: vampiric touch, 4th: confusion, 5th: black tentacles, 6th: feeblemind, 7th: warp mind, 8th: uncontrollable dance, 9th: unfathomable song
Bloodline Spells initial: tentacular limbs, advanced: aberrant whispers, greater: unusual anatomy

So, what do you get from level 10 to 20?
Those spells? Those levels are spell levels, not character levels. For example, unfathomable song is a 9th level spell, so you get it at level 17 added to your 9th level spells known.

Ah, got it. Now if someone could answer my other question...

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Thomas Keller wrote:
Do the "Learn a Spell" rules apply to spells gained (or swapped) on level up? Specifically, the needing to find someone to teach the spell and the costs in time and gold.

They do not. They're for any additional spells learned (or possibly a requirement by your GM to learn Uncommon or rarer spells at level up for a spontaneous caster).

The level up ones are free, you see, but must be Common.


Deadmanwalking wrote:
Thomas Keller wrote:
Do the "Learn a Spell" rules apply to spells gained (or swapped) on level up? Specifically, the needing to find someone to teach the spell and the costs in time and gold.

They do not. They're for any additional spells learned (or possibly a requirement by your GM to learn Uncommon or rarer spells at level up for a spontaneous caster).

The level up ones are free, you see, but must be Common.

I'm not sure about that. It seems ambiguous to me. It would be a simple fix if that's the case. One sentence in the Learn a Spell write up. Which is why I think that it may not be the case that level up spells are free.

Liberty's Edge

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Thomas Keller wrote:
I'm not sure about that. It seems ambiguous to me. It would be a simple fix if that's the case. One sentence in the Learn a Spell write up. Which is why I think that it may not be the case that level up spells are free.

It's not ambiguous. To quote Bard (under Spell Repertoire on p. 96):

"Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–6), you add a spell to your spell repertoire of the same level."

That's utterly unambiguous. And repeated in every spontaneous spellcaster.

Meanwhile, under Wizard it says:

"Each time you gain a level, you add two more arcane spells to your spellbook, of any level of spell you can cast."

Again, utterly unambiguous. You just add them.

Meanwhile, the 'Learn A Spell' action says the following:

"If you’re a spellcaster, you can use the skill corresponding to your magical tradition to learn a new spell of that tradition."

That's 'may' not 'must'. You have the ability to do so to learn spells, not a requirement to do so for all new spells.


Deadmanwalking wrote:
Thomas Keller wrote:
I'm not sure about that. It seems ambiguous to me. It would be a simple fix if that's the case. One sentence in the Learn a Spell write up. Which is why I think that it may not be the case that level up spells are free.

It's not ambiguous. To quote Bard (under Spell Repertoire on p. 96):

"Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–6), you add a spell to your spell repertoire of the same level."

That's utterly unambiguous. And repeated in every spontaneous spellcaster.

Meanwhile, under Wizard it says:

"Each time you gain a level, you add two more arcane spells to your spellbook, of any level of spell you can cast."

Again, utterly unambiguous. You just add them.

Meanwhile, the 'Learn A Spell' action says the following:

"If you’re a spellcaster, you can use the skill corresponding to your magical tradition to learn a new spell of that tradition."

That's 'may' not 'must'. You have the ability to do so to learn spells, not a requirement to do so for all new spells.

It says, "If you have a spellbook, Learning a Spell lets you add the spell to your spellbook; if you prepare spells from a list, it's added to your list; if you have a spell repertoire, you can select it when you add or swap spells." So, when you add a spell to a spellbook, or add or swap spells from a repertoire, you must Learn the Spell first. At least that's how I read it. Some official word on this would be appreciated.

Liberty's Edge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

That's in the section under the effects of the action, not under the section on when you must perform said action. It's thus what happens when you perform the action, not when you are required to do so.

Using the same logic that this is required on all learning of new spells, you would also have to use the 'Force Open' action on all attempts to open a door, since the text under a 'critical success' says 'You open the door, window, container, or gate and can avoid damaging it in the process.'

Now, obviously, you don't actually have to do that, but your ruling of 'Learn A Spell' only makes sense assuming that the text under what an action does means you must always and exclusively use that action to do that thing. So by your ruling, you would in fact need to Force Open every door, even the unlocked ones.


Deadmanwalking wrote:

That's in the section under the effects of the action, not under the section on when you must perform said action. It's thus what happens when you perform the action, not when you are required to do so.

Using the same logic that this is required on all learning of new spells, you would also have to use the 'Force Open' action on all attempts to open a door, since the text under a 'critical success' says 'You open the door, window, container, or gate and can avoid damaging it in the process.'

Now, obviously, you don't actually have to do that, but your ruling of 'Learn A Spell' only makes sense assuming that the text under what an action does means you must always and exclusively use that action to do that thing. So by your ruling, you would in fact need to Force Open every door, even the unlocked ones.

That doesn't really track, though. I mean, you don't have to force open an unlocked door. You do have to learn a spell when you don't already know it, even if you're saying that it's free to learn it, it doesn't just appear in your brain.

Exo-Guardians

Thomas Keller wrote:
it doesn't just appear in your brain.

Why shouldn't it? We're talking about *literal magic* here.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thomas Keller: you've posted your question and even gotten answers. I think it might be time to start your own thread instead of derailing a thread collecting various different questions to ask. It's not really the place to debate a single question.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
graystone wrote:
Thomas Keller: you've posted your question and even gotten answers. I think it might be time to start your own thread instead of derailing a thread collecting various different questions to ask. It's not really the place to debate a single question.

I second this, but only because it doesn't really feel like a rules question anymore, but one of game/world design. You could put a question more worded in this direction in the "Ask Mark Seifter Anything" thread, but I don't know if he really checks that thread very often right now.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

How does the "Visions of Danger" spell work?

Visions of Danger wrote:

Saving Throw Will; Duration 1 minute

An illusion of horrific creatures fills the spell's area. The creatures look like Tiny swarming monsters with a specific appearance of your choice, such as Hellish flies or animated saw blades. The burst deals 8d8 mental damage to each creature that's inside the burst when it's created, enters the burst, or starts its turn inside the burst. A creature that critically succeeds at its will save can immediately attempt to disbelieve the illusion. A creature that tries to Interact with the monsters or observes one with a Seek action can attempt to disbelieve the illusion. Creatures that disbelieve the illusion take no damage from the illusion thereafter.

The saving throw line doesn't say Basic Will, so it's not clear to me if the initial 8d8 mental damage is halved or negated, or not reduced at all. I'm able to infer that the victims DO get a Will save on initial casting and when starting their turn inside the burst, but its not spelled out what that will save would do.


How many formulas do you get as an alchemist at first level? Is it 4 or 8?

According to the Alchemical Crafting Feat—you immediately add the formulas for four common 1st-level alchemical items to your formula book.

For the entry for the formula book—
The formula book contains the formulas for-two common 1st-level alchemical items of your choice, in addition to those you gained from Alchemical Crafting and your research field.

Entry for the Research Field—You start with the formulas for two 1st-level alchemical bombs in your formula book, in addition to your other formulas.

Every example I have seen has 4 formulas, but after reading all the different entries it sounds like 8 formulas. Especially after reading the entry for the Formula Book where it states “in addition”.

Thanks for any help that can be provided.


graystone wrote:
Thomas Keller: you've posted your question and even gotten answers. I think it might be time to start your own thread instead of derailing a thread collecting various different questions to ask. It's not really the place to debate a single question.

I posted the questions here because I thought this was where to get official answers. Any derailing was unintentional.


So if I use a gnome flickmace (a reach weapon that does not have the trip trait) and have the knockdown feat, can I use knockdown on an opponent within my weapon’s reach but not my arm’s reach? What about improved knockdown? Also, am I limited to using those feats on opponents no more than one size greater than myself (barring titan wrestler or other means of going beyond the size limitation dictated by using the athletics skill maneuver trip)?


Are Monks and Druids with Timeless Body/Timeless Nature still susceptible to dying of old age? Or are they functionally immortal barring death by misadventure?

151 to 200 of 391 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.