Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream!


Rules Discussion

51 to 100 of 263 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

More generally, what are the most common mistakes / assumptions about the rules you find first edition players making?

Shadow Lodge

Do small giant instinct barbarians get to start with a large weapon?


Does AC count as a DC for the purpose of effects like frightened and sickened?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The dwarven ancestry and the weapon description imply that almost all dwarves have a clan dagger. Yet as uncommon items, they can only be gained through the Dwarven Weapon Familiartiy feat. Is the intent really that the other 5 out of 6 dwarves be embarasing outcasts?

Shadow Lodge

Daedalaman wrote:
Do small giant instinct barbarians get to start with a large weapon?

Asked and answered earlier.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

How long does poison stay on a weapon/ammo? Can an Alchemist poison their weapons during daily preparation and carry them around all day?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Is purchase of proficiencies via feats based on a cost = reward hierarchy of sorts, where class feats give the strongest options, ancestries give scaling but specific options, and general is broader but no scaling?

Class Feats(impactful): Cost2
Fighter MC gives Trained in Simple and Martial weapons, scales up to Expert with a second feat.
Champion MC gives Trained in light, medium and heavy armor, scales up to Expert with a second feat.

Ancestry(curveballs): Cost2-3
Specific weapons per race, humans can take one of any, but can gain Critical Specialzation only via Adopted Heritage.
The limited amount of weapons raised to Expert a level later than class expertise/fighter MC.

General (jack of all trades, master of none): Cost1-3
Access to all Light > Medium > Heavy armors, but only Trained.
Access to all Simple > Martial > One advanced, but only Trained.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Can bards dance and/or sing for spellcasting components?

Is there any way for a monk to throw shurikens or other monk ranged weapons during flurry of blows? Monastic Weaponry only works for melee monk weapons.


1. Can you even have a cloistered Cleric of Gorum? Gorum requires armor, but the cloistered choice has no armor proficiency.

2.Battle Clerics get a boost to Deity's weapons if they are simple, but there is no boost for other Deity weapons.

3. How are Angelic/Demonic bloodlines supposed to cast spells like Divine Lance if they have no need for the Deity to give them that spell.


Kringress wrote:

1. Can you even have a cloistered Cleric of Gorum? Gorum requires armor, but the cloistered choice has no armor proficiency.

2.Battle Clerics get a boost to Deity's weapons if they are simple, but there is no boost for other Deity weapons.

3. How are Angelic/Demonic bloodlines supposed to cast spells like Divine Lance if they have no need for the Deity to give them that spell.

A human could take versatile/general training and pick up an armor proficiency at level 1 if nothing else :(

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Given how the 2 extra flaws = 1 extra boost alternate rule is handled with a sidebar, should we treat the ability to have half-orc and half-elves of non-human Ancestry as similarly RAW implications? Can/Should Half-Elf Dwarves be legal for PFS?

Are the Focus Pool/Point rules intentionally different between the dozens of ways to get them, or was that simply something that was missed in the editing passes?


If you multiclass into a caster, do you use their casting replacements, namely replacing certain components according to the class? (Namely, Bards and music, Clerics and holy symbols, Druids and a Primal Focus, Sorcerers replacing Material with Somatic)

Shadow Lodge

thistledown wrote:
Daedalaman wrote:
Do small giant instinct barbarians get to start with a large weapon?
Asked and answered earlier.

Don't mean to derail, but can you tell me where it was answered and/or what the answer was, because I've been looking for it and have not been able to find it.

If I'm reading it right it specifically says that small characters can use a large weapon, but it goes on to say that you start with access to a weapon one size category larger than you, which seems to imply that they can only start with a medium weapon as that is one size category larger and large is two. I seem to recall this coming up in the Know Direction episode where they built Ryan's gnome barbarian, but I can't remember what the answer was and that is the only time I've seen dev input on this issue.

Thank you.


I watched the stream and the only questions on the stream were from the stream chat not this thread, so I think those get priority.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
PossibleCabbage wrote:
I watched the stream and the only questions on the stream were from the stream chat not this thread, so I think those get priority.

Well that... Would have been polite of them to let all the people who posted here know beforehand.

Silver Crusade

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Payton did say in the OP that this thread would be for collecting questions for all future episodes, not just this one.


Daedalaman wrote:
thistledown wrote:
Daedalaman wrote:
Do small giant instinct barbarians get to start with a large weapon?
Asked and answered earlier.

Don't mean to derail, but can you tell me where it was answered and/or what the answer was, because I've been looking for it and have not been able to find it.

If I'm reading it right it specifically says that small characters can use a large weapon, but it goes on to say that you start with access to a weapon one size category larger than you, which seems to imply that they can only start with a medium weapon as that is one size category larger and large is two. I seem to recall this coming up in the Know Direction episode where they built Ryan's gnome barbarian, but I can't remember what the answer was and that is the only time I've seen dev input on this issue.

Thank you.

You know, oddly enough, I don't think it really matters. Because I don't think the damage of the weapon changes. Because if you download the pregen's and look at Amiri's stats, she has a Large bastard sword that does 1d8. It actually has the same exact stats as the bastard sword in the Core. And you notice there's no "small" damage in the weapon section. At least, none that I've found or read(To be fair, I haven't read it that thoroughly, to say the least). But it doesn't appear as if the weapons do different damage according to size.

So I'm thinking the "large" bit is just for flavor. And the only real difference is that you get to do "6" damage extra instead of "2" while raging with the big weapon. It would appear that's really the only reason to go that route. Seems weird to me, though, that the damage die wouldn't increase by one step. Don't really get it. *Shrugs*

Unless, of course, I'm totally missing something which is HIGHLY possible seeing how I'm still trying to learn this stuff. But that's just what I'm figuring after looking at Amiri's sheet.

But please correct me if I'm wrong. I actually hope I am because it would definitely benefit me for sure seeing how I have a barbarian that's going down that same path.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Since this thread is aggregating questions for next week as well:

Are all unarmed attacks in the brawling group of weapons, or are unarmed attacks like glutton's jaws and dragon's claws not part of any weapon group?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thrown Weapons:
Are thrown melee weapons still melee weapons? Do they work with Double Slice and Rage when thrown? If yes, what does Raging Thrower do? If no, why not, given feats like Power Attack specifically needs melee strikes?


Rysky wrote:
Payton did say in the OP that this thread would be for collecting questions for all future episodes, not just this one.

Ahh, I missed that. Hopefully there are episodes where there's time for the forum questions as well.

Liberty's Edge

8 people marked this as a favorite.

1. As has been mentioned previously, there's some serious Alchemist Bulk issues.

To the point where the standard Alchemist's Kit + Formula Book is 5.6 Bulk not counting any of your infused items, and also to the point where the PFS version of Fumbus's character sheet is wrong according to the rulebook (he's listed at 4.7 Bulk when the math would indicate it at 6.6), and would leave him encumbered.

This seems off, are some of the numbers wrong in the corebook, or on Fumbus's sheet, or what?

2. If unarmed strikes are now like simple weapons for Proficiency, and Mutagens can be used by anyone, what benefit does the Mutagenist Field grant at 1st level? Should we expect something new in this regard?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Is AC consisted a DC for things like frightened?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
Is AC consisted a DC for things like frightened?

That has actually long been confirmed as a yes.

EDIT: It has long been confirmed for the Playtest, but it has also been confirmed for the full game. I forget if it's spelled out in the book or if a Dev said it, I think the former, but it is confirmed nonetheless.

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Are the 'racket-specific' rogue feats such as brutal beating intended to be off limits to those who MC into rogue? This does not occur with muse-specicic, order-specific, or instinct-specific feats for those who MC into their respective classes. Perhaps it was just an oversight given the late addition of the rogue rackets to the system.

SRC

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Edge93 wrote:
Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
Is AC consisted a DC for things like frightened?

That has actually long been confirmed as a yes.

EDIT: It has long been confirmed for the Playtest, but it has also been confirmed for the full game. I forget if it's spelled out in the book or if a Dev said it, I think the former, but it is confirmed nonetheless.

Where? Just wondering (sometime the forums are not always accurate)

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
Where? Just wondering (sometime the forums are not always accurate)

The book confirms Armor Class as a DC pretty much every time it's defined. Frightened explicitly hits all DCs you have. Therefore Frightened hits AC.

For a more explicit example, check Clumsy. It specifies that it applies to "Dexterity-based checks and DCs, including AC, Reflex saves, ranged attack rolls, and skill checks using Acrobatics, Stealth, and Thievery."

That wording makes it very explicit that AC is either a check or a DC, and it sure isn't a check.


Deadmanwalking wrote:

1. As has been mentioned previously, there's some serious Alchemist Bulk issues.

To the point where the standard Alchemist's Kit + Formula Book is 5.6 Bulk not counting any of your infused items, and also to the point where the PFS version of Fumbus's character sheet is wrong according to the rulebook (he's listed at 4.7 Bulk when the math would indicate it at 6.6), and would leave him encumbered.

This seems off, are some of the numbers wrong in the corebook, or on Fumbus's sheet, or what?

2. If unarmed strikes are now like simple weapons for Proficiency, and Mutagens can be used by anyone, what benefit does the Mutagenist Field grant at 1st level? Should we expect something new in this regard?

Mutagens aren't brewed for specific people anymore so another research field "boon" seems wasted as well.


Could you, please, provide a step by step example of using Assistance and Aid? Specifically, what exactly is the "usually" needed "preparatory action"?


Flying characters, and the ground-based prejudice of strength modifier.

I'm playing a Pathfinder game, where I am running a flying character. And I have recently discovered a ground-based assumption of the rules.

First, I am new to the Pathfinder system.

On two separate occasions, my character has attempted to do a death from above maneuver against an opponent. The first time, I just went along with what the game master said I needed to roll, and did not really understand much of the mechanics. By the second time, I had a little more understanding, enough to understand what was being said, and actually started looking up the rule mechanics.

So here's the problem:

1. Charging into an opponent with the intent of using body weight/momentum as a weapon is not covered anywhere in the system.
2. The bullrush maneuver currently represents a ground-based creature using their strength as leverage against the ground to push someone forward. (This is the closest there is, but there are no rules for damage by knocking them into a wall, nor are there any rules for the damage done being based on momentum, which is different from strength).
3. The overrun maneuver currently represents a ground-based creature using their strength as leverage against the ground to move through another creature, possibly knocking the first creature down (although that is not the primary intent).
4. The charge maneuver, even when tied to bullrush/overrun, only gives a +2 to hit; the wording also seems to imply that while the bullrush/overrun is part of the movement, and you can attack afterwards, the GM (as well as another player that knows the system quite well) said that this was not possible, the bullrush or overrun would be the attack. (Something about needing a second standard action to make the second attack).

For a flying creature, neither bullrush nor overrun work as currently written. If you are flying, strength is meaningless in this context; your ability to use muscles to exert force when you have a solid surface (the ground) to work against is not relevant. What would matter is your acceleration ability -- probably a modifier based on your flight skill, or perhaps something else specific to acceleration. Consider two flyers, or two astronauts, crashing into each other; the ability to knock someone out of the way is more based on your flight ability (or thruster strength) then your ability to push a rock on the ground.

Equally, in general in a death from above situation, you are basically trying to use your body as a projectile weapon -- this implies that it should be a DEX modifier inherently, rather than a strength modifier unless you buy the "all combat Maneuvers are based off of Dex instead of strength" feat.

My problem is that the GM wants to use the rules as written. Based on this, he is not willing to permit a flying creature moving at high speed in a charge downward to actually inflict damage when they crash into someone, and wants me to use strength as a modifier (rather than speed, momentum, Dex, or anything reasonable) to determine success in knocking someone prone.

Can you give some sort of ruling on how flying creatures would use these maneuvers against each other in the air, or against a creature below them on the ground?


I'm not clear on the rules for broken objects:
A broken object can’t be used for its normal function, nor does it grant bonuses-with the exception of armor.
Broken armor still grants its item bonus to AC, but it also imparts a status penalty to AC depending on its category (...)

Does 'normal function' include magical abilities (or even special mundane ones) that aren't 'automatic' for it's generic item type?

When it says armor is exception, is that only in reference to 'granting bonuses' and magical/special abilities continue to function?
i.e. a Sword or Cloak's magical Fly ability would stop working while broken, but an Armor with magical Fly ability would continue?

But Heavy Armor including underlayer of Padded to which Runes attach means those would keep functioning even if Heavy Armor itself is Broken/Destroyed?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Deadmanwalking wrote:
Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
Where? Just wondering (sometime the forums are not always accurate)

The book confirms Armor Class as a DC pretty much every time it's defined. Frightened explicitly hits all DCs you have. Therefore Frightened hits AC.

For a more explicit example, check Clumsy. It specifies that it applies to "Dexterity-based checks and DCs, including AC, Reflex saves, ranged attack rolls, and skill checks using Acrobatics, Stealth, and Thievery."

That wording makes it very explicit that AC is either a check or a DC, and it sure isn't a check.

So why is called out separately in Clumsy but not in Frightened?

But I did find this

Core Rule Book page 274 wrote:


Armor Class
Your Armor Class (AC) measures how well you can defend against attacks. When a creature attacks you, your Armor Class is the DC for that attack roll.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I cast an Illusory Object to wall off the enemy goblin tribe, by creating a make-believe wall that cuts them off (Imagine we are in a tunnel and the spell is big enough to fill the entire segment of the tunel from one wall to another). All the gobos legit think there is now a wall in their way, while GoboBoss was smart enough to recognize the spell and orders his gobos to just charge the damn wall, or else. Gobos still believe in the wall, but are afraid of the boss, and cannot disobey the order. What happens, mechanically?

Do they come up to the wall, spending one action to get near it, then spend actions interacting with it until they successfully disbelieve it?

Do they close their eyes and charge full speed, expecting to smash into the wall, but actually moving fine into it and ending at the other side, very surprised and not understanding what happened?

Does believing the wall (and thus being unable to ignore it) make their goblin brains freeze and burn with syntax errors when ordered to run into illegal space, or what? Will they attempt a Disbelieve check prior to entering the first space of the wall, and if they fail, they will just stop, unable to ignore it and ending their movement prematurely?

Can the GoboBoss even issue the order to charge through the wall until he himself has disbelieived it, and if so, does he get a free disbelieve window when he recognizes the spell, or does he have to spend an action to interact with the wall?

If some of the goblins succeed on the disbelieve check after being ordered by their boss to go through, and others see them do it, do they get a free disbelieve check from seeing it, or do they still need to interact on their own turn to disbelieve?

Can I just tell my friends that the wall is a illusion, or do they need to actually pass the disbelieve check?

Do I even automatically disbelieve my own illusions?

This whole spell is giving our group a headache. Please explain :(.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nimble (Elf Feat) says "Your muscles are tightly honed" and Unburdened Iron (Dwarf Feat) says "You've learned techniques..."

Are both of these compatible with Adopted Ancestry, or are they "physiologically" unique and thus don't work?

Adopted->Unburdened seems most dubious balance IMHO, allowing for Elves and Half-Elves to gain maximum bonus atop high base speed,
and this when Mithril with sufficient STR makes Unburdened superfluous re: Armor, just enabling minimal STR investments / non-Mithril materials.


Chirurgeon:

As long as your proficiency rank in Medicine is trained
or better, you can attempt a Crafting check instead of
a Medicine check for any of Medicine’s untrained and
trained uses.

Is this supposed to allow you to try to Treat wounds for the higher healing that rank advances in Medicine provides, or are you forced to spend 2 out of your 3 skill increases throughout your career to actually keep using this bonus?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
WHW wrote:

I cast an Illusory Object to wall off the enemy goblin tribe, by creating a make-believe wall that cuts them off (Imagine we are in a tunnel and the spell is big enough to fill the entire segment of the tunel from one wall to another). All the gobos legit think there is now a wall in their way, while GoboBoss was smart enough to recognize the spell and orders his gobos to just charge the damn wall, or else. Gobos still believe in the wall, but are afraid of the boss, and cannot disobey the order. What happens, mechanically?

Do they come up to the wall, spending one action to get near it, then spend actions interacting with it until they successfully disbelieve it?

Do they close their eyes and charge full speed, expecting to smash into the wall, but actually moving fine into it and ending at the other side, very surprised and not understanding what happened?

Does believing the wall (and thus being unable to ignore it) make their goblin brains freeze and burn with syntax errors when ordered to run into illegal space, or what? Will they attempt a Disbelieve check prior to entering the first space of the wall, and if they fail, they will just stop, unable to ignore it and ending their movement prematurely?

Can the GoboBoss even issue the order to charge through the wall until he himself has disbelieived it, and if so, does he get a free disbelieve window when he recognizes the spell, or does he have to spend an action to interact with the wall?

If some of the goblins succeed on the disbelieve check after being ordered by their boss to go through, and others see them do it, do they get a free disbelieve check from seeing it, or do they still need to interact on their own turn to disbelieve?

Can I just tell my friends that the wall is a illusion, or do they need to actually pass the disbelieve check?

Do I even automatically disbelieve my own illusions?

This whole spell is giving our group a headache. Please explain :(.

Unless a particular spell says otherwise, and illusionary item is not physical, even to creatures that think it is real. The goblins might stop to investigate the wall, since they don't know that they can pass through it, but the wall can't actually stop them if for whatever reason they happen to try.

It is also possible for a creature to know that an illusion is present, and act on that information, without 'disbelieving' the illusion. This is what the rules say on that subject:

Quote:
If the illusion is visual, and a creature interacts with the illusion in a way that would prove it is not what it seems, the creature might know that an illusion is present, but it still can’t ignore the illusion without successfully disbelieving it. For instance, if a character is pushed through the illusion of a door, they will know that the door is an illusion, but they still can’t see through it. Disbelieving an illusion makes it and those things it blocks seem hazy and indistinct, so even in the case where a visual illusion is disbelieved, it may, at the GM’s discretion, block vision enough to make those on the other side concealed..

So if the goblin boss shouts out that the wall isn't real, then the other goblins know that, but they can't see right through the wall without making a save first.


Synopsising some discussion in other thread that I thought was worthy...
Should Fist or other Finesse Unarmed Attacks work with Thief Rogues DEX to damage ability ("When you attack with a finesse melee weapon")

While Fist (generic Unarmed Attack) is listed under Melee Weapons heading and has Finesse Traits, the general rule for Unarmed Attacks state:
Unarmed attacks can belong to a weapon group (page 280), and they might have weapon traits (page 282). However, unarmed attacks aren’t weapons, and effects and abilities that work with weapons never work with unarmed attacks unless they specifically say so.

It clearly does not "specifically say so", so is it correct Thief DEX to damage cannot work with Fist or any other Finesse Unarmed Attack?

Regardless of intent with Thief DEX to damage, it seems useful if effects NOT excluding UAS had a more concise way to convey that than how the UAS rules seem to envision including both: "specially say[ing] so" which implies an unwieldy dual enunciation like "when you make attack with finesse melee weapon or unarmed attack with finesse trait".
Possibly "when you make a finesse melee attack" without ANY (problematic) reference to "weapon", could be good approach for such cases?


Shove (Athletics) requires one hand free, and Shields (nor even Shield Bosses) don't have Shove trait despite being Martial Weapons.
Is this intended that wearing a shield disallows Shoving enemies? (if other hand occupied with sword etc)
In terms of Shield Bosses enchanted as weapons, it seems equally reasonable to allow item bonus as Shove weapons like Mace etc.

I can see Bucklers not having Shove trait to use item bonus (although they allow free-hand), but strange for real Shields especially Bosses.
Especially when the Crit Specialization effect is a free Shove, but you have no way to reliably do that in lieu of damage.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ancestral weapon familiarity specifies that the downgrade from martial to simple or advanced to martial is only "for purposes of proficiency" most likely to prevent shenanigans with Deadly Simplicity. But should, for example, a gnome rogue with the ruffian racket be able to sneak attack with hook hammers?


Honestly some rule to allow using Martial as a Simple, removing all traits and dropping 1 die size with d6(1H)/d8(2H) max, would probably be convenient. Then you can use it with traits when needed (if you're Trained), but if you usually get better proficiency/effects with Simple then you can use same physical weapon...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It just seems slightly oddly asymmetrical that elf, goblin, and halfling thief rogues benefit from their racket with ancestral weapons (since they can now get dex to damage with curve blades, dogslicers, filcher's forks, and all future finesse ancestral martial weapons) but ruffians can not benefit from ancestral weaponry with one of the rogue's main class features.


^Dwarven Clan Dagger should also have Finesse, it's even more exclusive than Curve Blade et al which anybody can get easily enough.

Actually, with FAQ that Dwarves don't need Dwarven Weapon Familiarity to access Clan Dagger, it seems weird for Dwarven Weapon Cunning to require DWF since a (Simple Weapon proficient) Clan Dagger user doesn't gain anything from DWF yet would want Cunning... Maybe with the Errata to DWF/Clan Dagger, Cunning should just require proficiency with any Dwarven associated weapon, and apply benefit to only those you are proficient in... whether via DWF, or general Simple/Martial (or Class specific) proficiency? (still leaving out Wizards without DWF etc)

Also: Shouldn't Lance (or Joust property) also come with Push/Trip or something to unseat a mounted opponent?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
So why is called out separately in Clumsy but not in Frightened?

Because Clumsy only effects Dex-based stuff and has to specify which those are. Frightened effects all DCs, and can thus just say 'all'.

Slamy Mcbiteo wrote:
But I did find this

Indeed. That's listed several places.


Some weapon have Trip, Disarm, Shove etc traits which allow using them (and reach and item bonuses etc) with Skill checks.
How are discrepancies between weapon proficiency and skill proficiency handled?
Where one in either untrained in one, or one is higher than the other?

e.g. Wizard NOT proficient in (martial) Whip weapon but proficient in Athelitics for Trip, Disarm? or LESS proficient in weapon than skill?

or Fighter proficient in Spiked Chain weapon but NOT proficient in Athletics for Trip, Disarm? or MORE proficient in weapon than skill?

Best I could find is:
When attempting a check that involves something you have some training in, you will also add your proficiency bonus. (...) If you’re untrained, your bonus is +0—you must rely on raw talent and any bonuses from the situation. Otherwise, the bonus equals your character’s level plus a certain amount depending on your rank.

The question being, in case of weapon+"maneuver" there is TWO things "involved" in which you have training in (or not), the weapon itself and the skill.
Should a "best of" approach apply here? A "worst of" approach?

While Disarm is Trained only usage at least establishing that floor, Trip Shove and Grapple are usable Untrained.
Should these maneuvers be unavailable if not at least Trained with the Weapon?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Keybounce wrote:

Flying characters, and the ground-based prejudice of strength modifier.

...[snip]

Take a look at the Falling rules.

Yes, it's not exactly the situation you describe, but were I your GM, I would replace the Reflex save of the creature hit with an acrobatics check of the creature diving down (and flipping the 4 levels of success around). The diving creature still takes damage from the fall, depending on the height of the dive.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

For the purpose of the Monk Mountain Stance Trigger (Must be touching the Ground) what constitutes ground? Does it have to be au-naturel rock or earth, or can it be just be a worked stone castle interior or wooden floor?

If the wooden floor is okay, does it matter if the wooden floor is the second story of a house, say? Or the deck of a boat?

prototype00


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm pretty sure the *intent* of mountain style is "you cannot activate this while you are swimming, climbing, flying, etc." If you can plant both feet on something solid, you can use mountain style. I mean, it's not a supernatural thing where you draw power from rock and stone, it's about centering yourself with a solid base.


i too will gm it as "as long as it's a solid floor, it's ok"


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Touch of Undeath seems off. It reduces healing on a successful save, but not on a failed save? Is that correct?

Btw I am talking about Undead Sorcerer's Touch of Undeath, not Undeath Domain's Touch of Undeath. You've got a problem here.


1. Is it possible to learn the shield cantrip from more than one list using archetypes (divine shield, arcane shield and occult shield)?
2. If so, can one cast shield from the divine list, then shield from the arcane list, then shield from the occult list all in the same combat?

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

What's up with Touch attack spells? Most spells are pretty straight forward, you cast the spell and that guy over there needs to make a save, or there's a ranged attack roll right away.

However there is no clarification on how touch or touch attack spells work.

-Do touch/touch attack spells have to be cast adjacent to the target and delivered as part of the spell casting?
-If you fail the attack roll do you keep the charge or is the spell lost?
-Can you cast the spell then use stride/step to move adjacent then deliver the spell attack automatically?
-Can you cast the spell then use stride/step to move adjacent but have to use a strike to deliver the spell attack?

Then there's the Archetype Rules that list 'occasionally' Archetype Feats that act like skill Feats. And they should have the Skill Trait. Unless I missed it there are no Skill Trait Archetype Feats listed among the archetypes. Are they listed Elsewhere, or does "occasionally" mean there are none yet, but you think some will be coming?

51 to 100 of 263 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.