Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream!


Rules Discussion

1,101 to 1,150 of 1,179 << first < prev | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | next > last >>

3 people marked this as a favorite.

So on Eidolons and items. It's clear Eidolons can't attune items without the Eidolon trait, and not more than two, but borrow some of the Summoner's bonuses from attuned bonuses, but what about mundane items?

Can my Fae Trickster Eidolon pick a lock if I give it lockpicks?
Can my Angel Eidolon use healer's tools in order to use its medicine skill?
Can my Pyschopomp Eidlon row a boat?
Can my canine Beast Eidolon fetch a ball?

It seems like there's a huge difference between "attuned magical items" and "items, period" and I would like to know what the intent is.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

If you habe a 2handed weapon held in one hand, can you regrip it in two hands as part of reloading it?

Reload states " Switching your grip to free a hand and then to place your hands in the grip necessary to wield the weapon are both included in the actions you spend to reload a weapon."

This seems to allow a regrip but some argue it just works if you also release it as part of the action.


CaffeinatedNinja wrote:

If you habe a 2handed weapon held in one hand, can you regrip it in two hands as part of reloading it?

Reload states " Switching your grip to free a hand and then to place your hands in the grip necessary to wield the weapon are both included in the actions you spend to reload a weapon."

This seems to allow a regrip but some argue it just works if you also release it as part of the action.

And to be clear for anyone reading this thread that hasn't also read the thread that this question came from:

The question is mostly in regards to the Fatal Aim trait. If you are holding an unloaded Fatal Aim ranged weapon 1-handed and then reload it, do you get to choose either the 1-hand or 2-hand modes of the weapon to regrip to afterwards? Or are you still only holding the weapon 1-handed and not wielding it at all?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
breithauptclan wrote:
CaffeinatedNinja wrote:

If you habe a 2handed weapon held in one hand, can you regrip it in two hands as part of reloading it?

Reload states " Switching your grip to free a hand and then to place your hands in the grip necessary to wield the weapon are both included in the actions you spend to reload a weapon."

This seems to allow a regrip but some argue it just works if you also release it as part of the action.

And to be clear for anyone reading this thread that hasn't also read the thread that this question came from:

The question is mostly in regards to the Fatal Aim trait. If you are holding an unloaded Fatal Aim ranged weapon 1-handed and then reload it, do you get to choose either the 1-hand or 2-hand modes of the weapon to regrip to afterwards? Or are you still only holding the weapon 1-handed and not wielding it at all?

Well, that too hah. But some GM's don't allow a regrip on reload with a standard 2h weapon so asked the question.


One thing that has been bothering me, is that there is no real FAQ for the 2e rules. And there are certainly some places where it would be useful.

I'm proposing a crowd-sourced FAQ. I've only just started, but am hopeful others might be interested in contributing. I thought about doing it on a wiki (wikidot or something) but I think that creates a significant barrier for entry. My goal isn't to figure out what the answer *is* to each question. Instead what I'm trying to do is link to the relevant resources (rules, discussions, etc.) and identify consensus.

So I've created a Google document with an introduction and just one question asked and answered as an alpha version of such an FAQ. What I'm looking for from this group is:
* If anyone has feedback on the format or structure or anything like that.
* Others willing to edit.

If you'd like to edit, just reply to the post where I first announced this with a Google email address you'd be using and mention one or two questions you'd be planning on adding to the FAQ. Or you can do the same by emailing me at gmail (user name brehob).

If this really takes off I'll open a slack or something for discussion, otherwise I imagine the linked thread will be enough.

Thanks!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Would doubling rings give the +1 item bonus to shield augmentation traits like Shove if you have a potency rune on a weapon?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Question about the Creature Ability Sneak Attack. It reads:

When the monster Strikes a creature that has the flat-footed condition with an agile or finesse melee weapon, an agile or finesse unarmed attack, or a ranged weapon attack, it also deals the listed precision damage. For a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, that weapon must also be an agile or finesse weapon.

I was having a discussion where the other side said they think that when creatures have the sneak attack ability and it says "They deal XdY precision damage to flat-footed creatures" that the flat-footed extra text is a specific override to the creature ability, and thus their sneak attack works on any strike, not only those with finesse/agile/ranged.

Is there any clarification about this?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

That position makes no sense.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Derp_Stevenson wrote:

Question about the Creature Ability Sneak Attack. It reads:

When the monster Strikes a creature that has the flat-footed condition with an agile or finesse melee weapon, an agile or finesse unarmed attack, or a ranged weapon attack, it also deals the listed precision damage. For a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, that weapon must also be an agile or finesse weapon.

I was having a discussion where the other side said they think that when creatures have the sneak attack ability and it says "They deal XdY precision damage to flat-footed creatures" that the flat-footed extra text is a specific override to the creature ability, and thus their sneak attack works on any strike, not only those with finesse/agile/ranged.

Is there any clarification about this?

The "other side" you are discussing this is wrong. No clarification is needed or required.


This:

Derp_Stevenson wrote:
I was having a discussion where the other side said they think that when creatures have the sneak attack ability and it says "They deal XdY precision damage to flat-footed creatures" that the flat-footed extra text is a specific override to the creature ability, and thus their sneak attack works on any strike, not only those with finesse/agile/ranged.

is what is called 'reminder text'. It is a quick version of the full rule that has been shortened enough to fit in the space available. The full rule is what should be followed.


Ranged combatant needs crafication about runes.

Flaming+SpellStoring+GhostTouch, if you need entire list of runes.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Themetricsystem wrote:

This is my monthly public service announcement/reminder to the moderation team to unsticky the thread, lock it, or at least modify the title as it's incredibly misleading given the continued contribution of new users who take it at face value.

This thread was only intended to be used as a resource for gathering common questions for a SINGLE STREAM on Twitch, and even then the stream itself didn't actually do what the thread title suggested it would and the idea was never revisited in the 28 months that followed.

To newer forum users: This thread is not in any way useful for the purpose that people are led to believe. Asking questions here is like shouting into the void and you are much better off either searching to see if your question was discussed in another thread or starting a new one if there isn't any existing discussion on the topic.

Oh, deary me, is it March already?


+
So I have a player playing a magus. He is trying to tell me that he can use the free action to active the conducting rune in the middle of his 2 action spellstrike so he gets the extra conducting rune damage dice on the spellstrike attack weapon damage role. I am trying to explain to him that spellstrike is a unique combined ability and the spell is not actually cast until the attack role is made. The conducting rune can only be activated for an attack after the spellstrike does not work with the spellstrike. Any clarification? Im not wrong on this am I?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Conduct Energy says it can be used if the last action or spell had one of the appropriate traits. Without looking at it more closely, I'd probably allow it.


TomParker wrote:
Conduct Energy says it can be used if the last action or spell had one of the appropriate traits. Without looking at it more closely, I'd probably allow it.

For sure Conduct Energy works, but it will work for the next attack, not the attack in the spellstrike.

Bujinkan is correct, I don't see any rule that allows you to insert a free action into the middle of a two action activity.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Oh, I haven't used conducting runes. I guess I didn't quite understand how they work. Yeah, if the free action has to happen after the spell and before the strike, I'd agree those aren't two separate things with spellstrike.


We had a disagreement in our party and were hoping for some clarification backed by Paizo.
Does the deadly trait require a specific feat to use or can any character using the weapon use the deadly feat on a critical roll?
There was some questioning if it fell under the Critical Specialization Effects and could only be used by certain classes


6 people marked this as a favorite.
Farbjoor wrote:

We had a disagreement in our party and were hoping for some clarification backed by Paizo.

Does the deadly trait require a specific feat to use or can any character using the weapon use the deadly feat on a critical roll?
There was some questioning if it fell under the Critical Specialization Effects and could only be used by certain classes

Deadly is not a Critical Specialization effect, even though it's triggered by criticals. CE effects are specifically listed by weapon group, and are not weapon traits like Deadly is.

Paizo does not respond to this thread anymore, though this is all in the CRB under weapons and the labels they place these abilities under.

Dark Archive

Realized I could ask this here in case it ever gets answered so yeah, is Resilient Sphere meant to be opaque?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I am a little uncertain about a PFS 2e process

I have a Sorcerer (9 LVL) he has a Druid Dedication (Wild).
I need to gain at least two more feat levels in the Druid. But at what level do I gain these feats?

The description of Druid with order Willed is that you also gain the Wild Shape druid feat. You gain the wild morph order spell also. Is this feat in addition to other feats that I obtain or in lew of them? The same question for the spell. Does this spell count against the spell slots for the druid or is it an innate spell?

Thanks


2 people marked this as a favorite.

You don't get Wild Shape or Wild Morph automatically from Druid dedication. You'd need to pick them up via the separate feats Basic Wildling or Order Spell respectively.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

multiclass dedication feats are class feats, so you get them every even level. If you got Druid dedication at 2nd level, you can get your 2nd feat at fourth level, and your 3rd feat at sixth level. Then at eighth level you could add another dedication, another at fourteenth level, and another at 20th. Not sure such a character would be viable, though. :-)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:
multiclass dedication feats are class feats, so you get them every even level. If you got Druid dedication at the 2nd level, you can get your 2nd feat at the fourth level, and your 3rd feat at the sixth level. Then at the eighth level, you could add another dedication, another at the fourteenth level, and another at the 20th. Not sure such a character would be viable, though. :-)

Ed, thank you for making a clear statement about this. The only issue that didn't touch on was if these feats are in lew of gaining Sorcerer Feats or in addition to them. I know that this may sound simple. But I don't want to go into Paizo Con 2022 and have to rush corrections on the character.

Thanks


Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Grcles de Cross wrote:
Ed Reppert wrote:
multiclass dedication feats are class feats, so you get them every even level. If you got Druid dedication at the 2nd level, you can get your 2nd feat at the fourth level, and your 3rd feat at the sixth level. Then at the eighth level, you could add another dedication, another at the fourteenth level, and another at the 20th. Not sure such a character would be viable, though. :-)

Ed, thank you for making a clear statement about this. The only issue that didn't touch on was if these feats are in lew of gaining Sorcerer Feats or in addition to them. I know that this may sound simple. But I don't want to go into Paizo Con 2022 and have to rush corrections on the character.

Thanks

Unless the GM is using the Free Archetype rules (which isn't a thing in organized play insofar as I'm aware), then it's in lieu of Gaining sorcerer feats.

If the GM IS using Free Archetype rules, then you get both, though their may be additional restrictions on your free archetype feats (such as limiting you to a specific archetype for a themed campaign, for example).

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Grcles de Cross wrote:
Ed, thank you for making a clear statement about this. The only issue that didn't touch on was if these feats are in lew of gaining Sorcerer Feats or in addition to them. I know that this may sound simple. But I don't want to go into Paizo Con 2022 and have to rush corrections on the character.

They're class feats. So you can take the dedication feat or a sorcerer feat as your class feat, not both. Even the dedication itself is a class feat; you don't take the dedication and immediately get one of the feats within the dedication.

As mentioned, there are free archetype rules that modify this but they're out of scope for PFS.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

RD and Tom covered it. :-)


TomParker wrote:
Grcles de Cross wrote:
Ed, thank you for making a clear statement about this. The only issue that didn't touch on was if these feats are in lew of gaining Sorcerer Feats or in addition to them. I know that this may sound simple. But I don't want to go into Paizo Con 2022 and have to rush corrections on the character.

They're class feats. So you can take the dedication feat or a sorcerer feat as your class feat, not both. Even the dedication itself is a class feat; you don't take the dedication and immediately get one of the feats within the dedication.

As mentioned, there are free archetype rules that modify this but they're out of scope for PFS.

I'm guessing they took the human ancestry feat to gain the multiclass dedication. Now they need to spend class feats for the archetype feats.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
RexAliquid wrote:
I'm guessing they took the human ancestry feat to gain the multiclass dedication.

Why would you guess that?


RexAliquid wrote:
I'm guessing they took the human ancestry feat to gain the multiclass dedication. Now they need to spend class feats for the archetype feats.

Multitalentedd is only for gaining multiclass dedication, but you didn't telling what it was used for, like, Sorcerer or Summoner.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I have a Champion with a Scimitar. I am trained and 3rd lvl with a strength mode of +3. I believe that the first swing is +8, and the second swing gets a circumstance bonus of the number of weapon damage dice.

My question is for the 2nd swing does that mean I get +1 (1 die) or +6 (ie d6) or +8 (d6 + ?). And what is the double on the 3rd swing?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

The damage die size is the d4, d6, d8, d10, d12.

The Forceful trait on the scimitar is looking for the number of damage dice rolled. Specifically for the number provided by the weapon itself, not from other feats like Power Attack that add additional damage dice.

So initially the circumstance bonus will be +1 because the weapon has 1d6 damage. Once you get a striking rune on the scimitar the bonus will increase to +2 because the weapon now has 2d6 damage.

As for doubling:

The bonus is +0 for the first attack. If it is +1 for the second attack, then it would be doubled to +2 for additional attacks.

If the bonus is +3 for the second attack, then it would be +6 for additional attacks.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Adamantine Golem questions?

Is a PC with Adamantine Armor resistant to the armor breaking effects of "Destructive Strike"? Or is this effect an automatic effect that happens regardless of armor type, hardness etc?

How much gp value of Adamantine does a dead Adamantine Golem yield?

Considering high grade Adamantine armor is 32,000 gp + 3,200 per bulk (38,400 for bulk 2 medium Full Plate for example), I am presuming since it's a huge creature and it's more dense than hollow plate mail, I am guessing at least 10 times that, or around 384,000 gp worth of adamantine?

That would be enough to craft 20 suits of armor which sounds right.

However, the Bestiary says the incredible amount of Adamantine necessary to create a single adamantine golem is worth more than many nations treasuries. Is 384,000 gp worth too low?


Ares71 Lord of War wrote:

Adamantine Golem questions?

Is a PC with Adamantine Armor resistant to the armor breaking effects of "Destructive Strike"? Or is this effect an automatic effect that happens regardless of armor type, hardness etc?

How much gp value of Adamantine does a dead Adamantine Golem yield?

Considering high grade Adamantine armor is 32,000 gp + 3,200 per bulk (38,400 for bulk 2 medium Full Plate for example), I am presuming since it's a huge creature and it's more dense than hollow plate mail, I am guessing at least 10 times that, or around 384,000 gp worth of adamantine?

That would be enough to craft 20 suits of armor which sounds right.

However, the Bestiary says the incredible amount of Adamantine necessary to create a single adamantine golem is worth more than many nations treasuries. Is 384,000 gp worth too low?

This thread is dead re: its original purpose.

Adamantine Armor is no more resistant to Destructive Strike than any other armor. And yes, it's automatic on a critical hit.

You can recover as much or little of the Adamantine as the GM allows, and that should be a function of standard treasure allotment. So it might be nil if a dragon's hoard is nearby, or the Adamantine could be the major payoff itself for a string of monsters culminating in the golem.

As for what steps/investment it takes to turn its heart into a legendary forge, that's also the GM's call depending again on reward desired plus what direction they want to go with the story.

Unless there are specific numbers, commentary on what can be retrieved from a body is just treasure ideas & hooks for the GM to use or dismiss as desired. Hopefully a GM integrates this kind of stuff since I at least find it enriches the setting and gives flavorful rewards. But there are no formal rules here, and trying to extrapolate can lead to absurdities or shenanigans which warp the wealth curve therefore the power curve beyond what the game's meant to handle.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi all. I'm looking at the BON MOT feat, and I'm curious about how an enemy's retort works ...

Quote:
The target can end the effect early with a retort to your Bon Mot. This can either be a single action that has the concentrate trait or an appropriate skill action to frame their retort. The GM determines which skill actions qualify, though they must take at least 1 action. Typically, the retort needs to use a linguistic Charisma-based skill action.

So the first part is about the concentrate action: My interpretation was that this is a specific action that does nothing but end the Bon Mot debuff and has the concentrate trait, but when I looked this up some people thought that any action with the concentrate would work (eg. Concentrating to maintain a spell). That seems kinda silly to me, but I thought I'd check to see if there's a general consensus on this.

The second part is about the "appropriate skill action": Does this skill action require a roll? If so what's the DC of the check? Regardless of whether there's a roll or not, what actions are appropriate? Is there any kind of guide? It seems like just a bluff/diplomacy/intimidate check to talk back would work (with some other checks being circumstantially usable), but maybe I'm missing something. But again, is there a roll associated?

Basically I'm trying to decide if this feet is worth it as an extra debuff option, so if anyone has used this feat I'd love to hear from you.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Not "any single action..." otherwise it'd say that, as that would be the clearest way to say that (and I agree it'd be ridiculous). The feat's first describing a generic retort and its one trait, not what qualifies as a retort. There's no roll to this, but you just robbed them of an action so yay! (Value of this trade of course depends on the value of your action vs. theirs and if they even care much about Will saves.)
Then the second part opens up the enemy's options for retorting, perhaps their own (usually) Cha-based skill. There's no roll for this to be a retort, otherwise yes, it'd need to list a DC even if just to point to the level-based chart or some stat of yours. So it's automatic, yet there would be the normal rolls if it were say to Demoralize (by far the most likely IMO). So yay? Perhaps not so good if they were already going to use said skill.

As a low-level feat on an already valuable skill, it's not much extra investment (other than the action cost and need to be so close, 30' being kind of dangerous for some folk). Yet no rolls for them, and with them being able to clear the penalty so easily the feat's impact comes down to a matter of timing & teamwork. It'll make a huge impact if you coordinate well with others or have abilities vs. Will saves already. Penalize a worthwhile enemy that's just gone and your whole team can unload vs. their Will, and it'd be in their best interest to Delay to take advantage of this. The caveat is that some parties have few abilities that target Will, so party composition matters too.

So it's a good, somewhat reliable debuff, but note that as a Status penalty it won't stack with Frightened (et al) and most PCs won't be targeting Will to take advantage of it. The most certain use if you yourself can Bon Mot/cast.


Awesome, thanks for the reply.

I'm playing a knife-throwing Investigator (so the range is fine), and my party contains a Witch and a Cleric (so they should be able to benefit from this), and a Swashbuckler who I think uses the enemy's Will DC to get Panache (so at least some use) ... and a Barbarian, but he usually just hits stuff.

So in my party it could probably see some use, but it's not going to be an "every-combat" kinda thing.

My GM just decided to give us a free archetype (lvl 5), and since I needed the Rogue archetype for Quick Draw it's basically just giving me 2 free feats. I'm trying to play more as a utility, buff/debuff kinda character, and since we're all fairly new to PF2 I thought I'd try to show off some options like Demoralize and Bon Mot.

I'll keep looking, but it seems like an alright option.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I personally think it's fantastic if the party has abilities that can target Will. The status penalty is greater than many others, and the target doesn't become immune to it like Demoralize.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
MrCharisma wrote:
Basically I'm trying to decide if this feet is worth it as an extra debuff option, so if anyone has used this feat I'd love to hear from you.

Bon Mot is not only good enough to take, it is quite possibly the best singular debuffing Feat in the entire game system for any PC who can invest in Cha and Diplomacy advancement.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Themetricsystem wrote:
MrCharisma wrote:
Basically I'm trying to decide if this feet is worth it as an extra debuff option, so if anyone has used this feat I'd love to hear from you.
Bon Mot is not only good enough to take, it is quite possibly the best singular debuffing Feat in the entire game system for any PC who can invest in Cha and Diplomacy advancement.

With the proviso that you're going to be mostly fighting creatures that understand your languages. If you're fighting creatures without a language or one that doesn't understand you, it's a big fail. IMO, Intimidating Glare removing the -4 from not sharing a language beats out Bon Mot because of a lot more targets allowed. That and a foe can get rid of the Bon Mot debuff with a Bon Mot of their own. [though strangely not a demoralize]

Now that's not to say Bon Mot isn't great, especially if the majority of foes are humanoid and/or speak your languages, but demoralize and feats that buff it IMO have a broader reach for games with mix of opponents. Since MrCharisma asked about both Bon Mot and demoralize, I'd say the only thing better than one of them is taking both. Just don't neglect those extra skill feats for demoralize like Intimidating Glare.


Thanks guys, this is really helpful.

One thing in Bon Mot's favour is that I can use a Bon Mot if my Intimidate fails, or vice versa (2 chances are better than 1).

On the other hand, the language barrier is a potential problem, and the ability for a foe to just disregard the debuff by spending an action seems like a weakness of the feat (yes costing them an action is potentially worth it, but not always - it's somewhat circumstantial).

I guess the other thing I hadn't considered though is that Demoralize only lasts a round or 2, so even if an enemy instantly removes the Bon Mot I've still had roughly the same duration as the Demoralize ... Yeah looks like a pretty good feat.

I know this is the rules section, but if I may be so bold: I'm looking for actions to buff my allies or debuff enemies (along the lines of Bon Mot or Demoralize). Are there any obvious options that I'm missing? (I've recently found the Martial archetype, so I'll probably jump into that in a couple of levels with our free archetype rules)

PS Thanks all, this has been really helpful. A lot of love for Bon Mot, and Intimidating Glare looks good too =)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

For highly sociable characters, I like using Bon Mot followed by Demoralize (or vice versa) followed by a Strike or other offensive action for a great punchline.

Each one increases the likelihood that the follow-ups will succeed.

I've had great success against even tough enemies by doing this with a wand of teeming ghosts and quickened phantasmal killer.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
graystone wrote:
That and a foe can get rid of the Bon Mot debuff with a Bon Mot of their own. [though strangely not a demoralize]

Bon Mot can be removed with "an appropriate skill action to frame their retort. The GM determines which skill actions qualify, though they must take at least 1 action. Typically, the retort needs to use a linguistic Charisma-based skill action."

I would allow Demoralize to qualify if they spoke the same language. Demoralize doesn't have the linguistic trait because you can use it without sharing a language, albeit at a penalty. As long as they met the linguistic requirement I'd allow it and I feel like that's within the wiggle room provided by the use of "typically."

I imagine it to be something along the lines of "We'll see how funny you are after I rip your arms off."


TomParker wrote:
I would allow Demoralize to qualify if they spoke the same language. Demoralize doesn't have the linguistic trait because you can use it without sharing a language, albeit at a penalty. As long as they met the linguistic requirement I'd allow it and I feel like that's within the wiggle room provided by the use of "typically."

It's one of those 'expect table variations' situations. Any individual DM might allow it or they might not: heck, a DM COULD allow a Society [Recall] skill check to remember a something some embarrassing fact about a targets lineage to use in a quip but they could as easily not allow it. Or you Could try an Acrobatics check to perform a particularly crude set of gestures and movements while intimating the target is overly close to their horse. The DM COULD allow it or not. It's just that Linguistic skills have a much greater chance of 'could' than others.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Sure. But Demoralize isn't nearly the stretch your examples are. I'm not sure I'd play with a GM that didn't allow something like that. It's pretty obvious, at least to me, that the Demoralize action is not linguistic to expand the potential uses, not reduce them.


TomParker wrote:
I'm not sure I'd play with a GM that didn't allow something like that.

*shrug* I have. IMO, I don't think it's crazy to just stick to "linguistic Charisma-based skill action[s]" since that's literally the quote of what's typical for it. I sure wouldn't head into a new game assuming it'd work.

TomParker wrote:
It's pretty obvious, at least to me, that the Demoralize action is not linguistic to expand the potential uses, not reduce them.

Maybe, but the game doesn't really have a mechanism for adding traits and the skill action could quite easily mentioned adding/removing traits if it was truly meant to expand. Look at Perform once:

Act or perform comedy: add Auditory, linguistic, and visual
Dance: add Move and visual
Play an instrument: add Auditory and manipulate
Orate or sing: add Auditory and linguistic

They could have easily had the base action linguistic and then 'You can take a –4 circumstance penalty to the check to remove the linguistic trait" and saved themselves in word count for the same effect AND having the right traits represented.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Is a target that has the blind condition considered flat footed to others?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

The description of the blinded condition does not mention flat footed. The description of flat footed starts with "You’re distracted or otherwise unable to focus your full attention on defense." It's unclear whether the later is intended as "when you're flat footed this is what happens" or as "when this sentence applies you're flat footed."

Absent guidance from the devs, I'd say blinded doesn't make you flat footed, though it probably should.

I'd suggest starting a new thread in the rules discussion forum to ask this specific question.

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

2 people marked this as a favorite.

But "Hidden" says a creature you're hidden from is flat-footed to you.

And when you are Blind, everyone is hidden from you (in most cases) so you are flat-footed to everyone.

Our group had a hard time finding this rule when the obvious place to look is flat-footed or Blind.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is a good question. And one that should be asked in its own thread.

This thread is defunct. It really needs a moderator to unsticky and maybe close it.


Light
Source Core Rulebook pg. 633 2.0
Light effects overcome non-magical darkness in the area, and can counteract magical darkness. You must usually target darkness magic with your light magic directly to counteract the darkness, but some light spells automatically attempt to counteract darkness.

But how actually does this operate.
1. How does the Target mean?
2. It is said light magic not light spell. How does non-spell magic operate?
3. What is the range that light magic can counteract.
4. What is the range that darkness magic counteracted?

For example, can the spell Light counteract Darkness?
I think it can't. Because Light can only target an object. But my friend thinks that it act like Dispel Magic. Once used 2 single action and touched Darkness. Then operated as the Counteract r

1,101 to 1,150 of 1,179 << first < prev | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream! All Messageboards