Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream!


Rules Discussion

651 to 660 of 660 << first < prev | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | next > last >>

Staffan Johansson wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
It's true that the APs don't do a good job of telling you how much XP the Encounter is worth.

I don't know about Age of Ashes, but each encounter I've seen in Extinction Curse says something like "Severe 2" or "Moderate 4". That means it's a Severe encounter for a 2nd level party and a Moderate encounter for a 4th level party*, which in turn tells you how much XP the encounter is worth.

* These are not the same encounter at different levels. Encounters in a part of the adventure meant for 2nd level characters will have "Low 2" or "Severe 2" while one in the part meant for 4th level will have "Moderate 4" or "Low 4".

That's not precise though. The XP Reward is based on the Creatures and Hazards actually in the Encounter, not the Budget of the Encounter. Just because a Severe Encounter has a Budget of 120 XP doesn't mean it has 120 XP worth of Rewards in it. Sometimes the APs even go over Budget. The first Severe Encounter in Extinction Curse is worth 140 XP.

Which is funny, because it's one of the easiest Encounters in the entire chapter.


The Section in the companion items state:

"Other items may qualify, at the GM’s discretion, but an animal can never Activate an Item."

1) Does this only refer to companion items or to items in generel?

if second...

2) Since most familiars count as animals, does that mean a familiar, even with manual dexterity, is not able to activate an elixir of life for feeding it to you?

3) If this is true, is an alchemical familiar also an animal?

Thx for claryfing


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Quick question about the sweep trait for weapons (core rulebook pg 283)

Using sweep
I attack a target - regardless if I hit or miss, if I attack another target this round, I get a +1 to the next attack.

My question is - if I attack ANOTHER target after the 2nd target...

do I still get +1 on my third attack against a different target

do I still get a +1 on my third attack against the same (or first) target (because I have already satisfied the requirement for attacking a different target once during the round)

do I get a stacking +1 on my third target for a total of +2 (because I have targeted two separate targets so far)?

I've got a player looking for every possible bonus to squeeze out of the system - myself, I'm suspicious of stacking bonuses, but I'm happy to hear opinions of other players, or better yet, rules creators and their intended/expected use for the ability

Thanks for any time and effort you spend on my question

Kermit


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The only requirement on Sweep is that earlier in your turn you attacked a different target. Second attack. Third attack. Fourth attack if you have a way to do that.

The bonuses don't stack though. They're circumstance bonuses and the CRB says:

CRB p.444 wrote:
If you have different types of bonus that would apply to the same roll, you’ll add them all. But if you have multiple bonuses of the same type, you can use only the highest bonus on a given roll—in other words, they don’t “stack.”

So a +1 circumstance bonus and a +1 circumstance bonus still only gives you +1.


What does "common in another culture" mean for the Unconventional Weaponry feat?

Is this "common" as in the rarity rules sense like "Katanas are common in Tian Xia" or common in the ordinary language sense?

How granular is "another culture"? Is Vudra many cultures or one? Are the Aldori a culture?

Is this feat supposed to be a free-for-all "get access to an uncommon thing" or should we be strict about what constitutes "common in an other culture"? Using fire poi as a weapon probably isn't common anywhere, but can you get access with this feat?

Liberty's Edge

What skill is used to Recall Knowledge when attempting to identify a troll?

Sczarni

Tarpeius wrote:
What skill is used to Recall Knowledge when attempting to identify a troll?

Looks like either Nature ("creatures of natural origin") or Troll Lore.


Nefreet wrote:
Tarpeius wrote:
What skill is used to Recall Knowledge when attempting to identify a troll?
Looks like either Nature ("creatures of natural origin") or Troll Lore.

In Kaer Maga, it could be Society. :)

I think the important thing to note is that some creatures can have multiple applicable skills, i.e. spirits can be Occult & Religion.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Castilliano wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Tarpeius wrote:
What skill is used to Recall Knowledge when attempting to identify a troll?
Looks like either Nature ("creatures of natural origin") or Troll Lore.

In Kaer Maga, it could be Society. :)

I think the important thing to note is that some creatures can have multiple applicable skills, i.e. spirits can be Occult & Religion.

Heh, yeah I was going to include a bit about Troll Augurs needing Religion as the skill in question but figured I'd stick with answering the base question of "Troll", since exceptions always exist.

Liberty's Edge

Castilliano wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Looks like either Nature ("creatures of natural origin") or Troll Lore.

In Kaer Maga, it could be Society. :)

I think the important thing to note is that some creatures can have multiple applicable skills, i.e. spirits can be Occult & Religion.

Thanks, I was caught up looking at table 10-7 (Creature Identification Skills) and forgot to check whether there were applicable rules in a completely different part of the book.

651 to 660 of 660 << first < prev | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Got a rules question about Pathfinder Second Edition? Post it here! And we might answer them on stream! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.