Charm, Charming Touch, and Identify Magic


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Charm and charming touch mention that on a successful saving throw, the target can use Identify Magic to realize the attempt at enchantment, but how does this actually work if Identify Magic calls for ten minutes of examination of an ongoing effect? The charm attempt failed, so how can there be possibly anything to identify?

For that matter, since the condition appendix says that PCs are not subject to the friendly and helpful conditions, does that mean that the only part of such spells that PCs can be affected by is "no hostile actions"?


You'd need the Recognize Spell skill feat or to have Charm/Charming Touch in your repertoire or memorized for it to actually work. Identify Magic reference is in error or at least incomplete.


Xenocrat wrote:
You'd need the Recognize Spell skill feat or to have Charm/Charming Touch in your repertoire or memorized for it to actually work. Identify Magic reference is in error or at least incomplete.

It is in error, yes, but don't forget that any character, even without the spell memorized or the Recognize Spell feat, can "spend an action on your turn to attempt to identify it using Recall Knowledge. You typically notice a spell being cast by seeing its visual manifestations or hearing its verbal casting components. Identifying long-lasting spells that are already in place requires using Identify Magic instead of Recall Knowledge because you don’t have the advantage of watching the spell being cast," per Identifying Spells, page 305.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Colette Brunel wrote:

Charm and charming touch mention that on a successful saving throw, the target can use Identify Magic to realize the attempt at enchantment, but how does this actually work if Identify Magic calls for ten minutes of examination of an ongoing effect? The charm attempt failed, so how can there be possibly anything to identify?

For that matter, since the condition appendix says that PCs are not subject to the friendly and helpful conditions, does that mean that the only part of such spells that PCs can be affected by is "no hostile actions"?

Specific beats general. General rule is there needs to be an ongoing effect. Specific rule allows the attempt regardless.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Questions / Charm, Charming Touch, and Identify Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.