"Tenacious Spell" metamagic and "Vanish"


Rules Questions


Hay does this work how I think it works?

If you use "Tenacious Spell" metamagic on "Vanish" Spell (Or "Invisibility") is it a lower level "Greater Invisibility" that continues to work for a random d4 number of rounds after your attack?

Tenacious Spell:
Benefit(s): Increase the DC of caster level checks to counter or dispel a tenacious spell by 2. If a tenacious spell is dispelled or dismissed, it lasts for 1d4 further rounds (to a maximum of the spell’s normal duration) before ending (this does not occur if antimagic field or a similar spell or effect suppresses or ends the spell’s effect without dispelling or dismissing it). The lingering auras of tenacious spells detectable with detect magic last for twice as long as usual after the spells end.

Level Increase: +1 (a tenacious spell uses up a spell slot 1 level higher than the spell’s actual level.)

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

From Invisibility (and thus Vanish): "...this spell ends if the subject attacks any creature..." (bolding mine).

so, it seems to me that it actually doesn't fit the requirement: "...a tenacious spell is dispelled or dismissed,..." - unless. of course, it were dispelled or dismissed.

Attacking would actually fall in the "...(to a maximum of the spell’s normal duration)..." part of the spell description.

the above is only my opinion on this


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from

This implies that ending and being dispelled are different things.

Quote:
this does not occur if antimagic field or a similar spell or effect suppresses or ends the spell’s effect without dispelling or dismissing it

And I feel that this text is to prevent just the sort of thing as prolonging invisibility.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Concur. Attacking does not dismiss nor dispel vanish; it just ends it. Dismiss and dispel both have specific rules definitions, and this doesn't fall under either case.


As… everyone so far said,
Tenacious Spell only interacts with Dispelling and Dismissing, both of which are rule terms with explicit meanings, and Vanish/Invisibility ending on an attack is neither of those, therefore Tenacious Spell doesn't affect it.


What happens to a tenacious vanish spell that you dismiss? For instance, say on the last round of a Tenacious Vanish you spend a standard action to dismiss it. Does it still end on the next round if you attack or does it continue keeping you invisible because of Tenacious? Can it exceed the usual 5 round duration cap of Vanish?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nothing changes about the spell other than that it doesn't end the way a dismissed spell normally would until 1d4 rounds after being dismissed. Any other circumstance that would cause the spell to end would still cause it to end. This includes reaching the end of its duration, and it includes anything in the text that would cause it to end prematurely (in this case, attacking). The former is even explicitly called out:

Tenacious Spell wrote:
If a tenacious spell is dispelled or dismissed, it lasts for 1d4 further rounds (to a maximum of the spell’s normal duration) before ending (this does not occur if antimagic field or a similar spell or effect suppresses or ends the spell’s effect without dispelling or dismissing it).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Tenacious Spell" metamagic and "Vanish" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.