Does XP (Experience) carry over?


Rules Discussion


As title says does any XP carry over??

Its not anywhere in the rules I can find other than when you reach 1000 to go back to zero.

What are you guys playing as?

I can see being at 940 XP and gaining 80 XP just going back to zero as the carry over with new APL and stuff making it less XP but what about something like 980 XP then 160 XP gain??

We are going to do the Age of Ashes XP and I'm planning on allowing no carry over whatsoever but wanted to hear some thoughts.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Society Subscriber
CRB p. 31 wrote:

Every time you gain a level, make sure you do each of the following:

• Increase your level by 1 and subtract 1,000 XP from your XP total.

So, yes, XP carries over.


From page 31 of the core rulebook:

"On your character sheet, indicate your character’s new level beside the name of their class, and deduct 1,000 XP from their XP total. If you have any Experience Points left after this, record them—they count toward your next level, so your character is already on their way to advancing yet again!"

Yes, it carries over.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

2 people marked this as a favorite.

It should carry over

Otherwise, you're encouraging a weird meta to the game where your players will start second guessing when their characters will tackle adventures based on maximizing their XP loss. "We are at 960 XP, so let's not do the big next encounter but instead go back to town and kill rats." Which breaks the flow of the story.


James Jacobs wrote:

It should carry over

Otherwise, you're encouraging a weird meta to the game where your players will start second guessing when their characters will tackle adventures based on maximizing their XP loss. "We are at 960 XP, so let's not do the big next encounter but instead go back to town and kill rats." Which breaks the flow of the story.

it's chickens.

it's always chickens you kill when you need 10-20 xp to level up.

baldur's got it right with their 1 xp per chicken :P


Thanks guys I scoured the Game Master section but I guess I should've looked in glossary.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I have managed to ninja a T-Rex and still live to tell the tale. :o)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Lanx wrote:
I have managed to ninja a T-Rex and still live to tell the tale. :o)

That won't get you as much xp as the chicken!

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:

it's chickens.

it's always chickens you kill when you need 10-20 xp to level up.

baldur's got it right with their 1 xp per chicken :P

As someone who grew up with the Legend of Zelda, no! I say again NO!. Do not attack the chickens! They're worse than the boss fights...*twitch*

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does XP (Experience) carry over? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.