Having trouble understanding Spellwrack


Rules Discussion


Archives of Nethys wrote:

Spellwrack Spell 6

Abjuration Curse Force
Source Core Rulebook pg. 371
Traditions arcane, divine, occult
Cast Two Actions somatic, verbal
Range 30 feet; Targets 1 creature
Saving Throw Will
You cause any spells cast on the target to spill out their energy in harmful surges. The target must attempt a Will save.

Critical Success The target is unaffected.
Success Whenever the target becomes affected by a spell with a duration, the target takes 2d12 persistent force damage. Each time it takes persistent force damage from spellwrack, it reduces the remaining duration of spells affecting it by 1 round. Only a successful Arcana check against your spell DC can help the target recover from the persistent damage; the curse and the persistent damage end after 1 minute.
Failure As success, but the curse and persistent damage do not end on their own.
Critical Failure As failure, but the persistent force damage is 4d12.

I'm having a bit of trouble understanding some parts of this spell.

First, does persistent damage stack? I'm inclined to say no, but I can't find anything on Archives of Nethys indicating that it doesn't.

Second, the success effect, does the curse reduce it's own duration when triggered?

So, lets say you have 7 rounds left on both a 1 minute spell and spellwrack affecting you, and before the next round someone lands 2 spells with durations on you. First, do you take 2d12 or 4d12 persistent force damage? Next, does the duration for your buff and spellwrack both go down to 5 rounds, or is it just your buff? Third, lets say next round you recover from all persistent damage but someone hits you with another spell with duration, do you begin taking the persistent damage again?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Paradozen wrote:
Archives of Nethys wrote:

Spellwrack Spell 6

Abjuration Curse Force
Source Core Rulebook pg. 371
Traditions arcane, divine, occult
Cast Two Actions somatic, verbal
Range 30 feet; Targets 1 creature
Saving Throw Will
You cause any spells cast on the target to spill out their energy in harmful surges. The target must attempt a Will save.

Critical Success The target is unaffected.
Success Whenever the target becomes affected by a spell with a duration, the target takes 2d12 persistent force damage. Each time it takes persistent force damage from spellwrack, it reduces the remaining duration of spells affecting it by 1 round. Only a successful Arcana check against your spell DC can help the target recover from the persistent damage; the curse and the persistent damage end after 1 minute.
Failure As success, but the curse and persistent damage do not end on their own.
Critical Failure As failure, but the persistent force damage is 4d12.

I'm having a bit of trouble understanding some parts of this spell.

First, does persistent damage stack? I'm inclined to say no, but I can't find anything on Archives of Nethys indicating that it doesn't.

Second, the success effect, does the curse reduce it's own duration when triggered?

So, lets say you have 7 rounds left on both a 1 minute spell and spellwrack affecting you, and before the next round someone lands 2 spells with durations on you. First, do you take 2d12 or 4d12 persistent force damage? Next, does the duration for your buff and spellwrack both go down to 5 rounds, or is it just your buff? Third, lets say next round you recover from all persistent damage but someone hits you with another spell with duration, do you begin taking the persistent damage again?

CRB 621, persistent damage of different damage types stack, the same one doesn't. Since you take persistent damage at the end of your turn, not immediately, that would imply that stacking several buffs on the target will not cause more damage. As for reducing it's own duration, Spellwrack doesn't actually have a duration, so it isn't reduced. only the curse has a duration, and it isn't a spell.


lordcirth wrote:
Paradozen wrote:
Archives of Nethys wrote:

Spellwrack Spell 6

Abjuration Curse Force
Source Core Rulebook pg. 371
Traditions arcane, divine, occult
Cast Two Actions somatic, verbal
Range 30 feet; Targets 1 creature
Saving Throw Will
You cause any spells cast on the target to spill out their energy in harmful surges. The target must attempt a Will save.

Critical Success The target is unaffected.
Success Whenever the target becomes affected by a spell with a duration, the target takes 2d12 persistent force damage. Each time it takes persistent force damage from spellwrack, it reduces the remaining duration of spells affecting it by 1 round. Only a successful Arcana check against your spell DC can help the target recover from the persistent damage; the curse and the persistent damage end after 1 minute.
Failure As success, but the curse and persistent damage do not end on their own.
Critical Failure As failure, but the persistent force damage is 4d12.

I'm having a bit of trouble understanding some parts of this spell.

First, does persistent damage stack? I'm inclined to say no, but I can't find anything on Archives of Nethys indicating that it doesn't.

Second, the success effect, does the curse reduce it's own duration when triggered?

So, lets say you have 7 rounds left on both a 1 minute spell and spellwrack affecting you, and before the next round someone lands 2 spells with durations on you. First, do you take 2d12 or 4d12 persistent force damage? Next, does the duration for your buff and spellwrack both go down to 5 rounds, or is it just your buff? Third, lets say next round you recover from all persistent damage but someone hits you with another spell with duration, do you begin taking the persistent damage again?

CRB 621, persistent damage of different damage types stack, the same one doesn't. Since you take persistent damage at the end of your turn, not immediately, that would imply that stacking several buffs on the target will not cause more damage. As for...

Thanks! I completely missed that persistent damage sidebar on the Archives of Nethys (I can't afford the book quite yet). As for the curse duration, I guess that checks out and thought it was counterintuitive otherwise, but I think the wording could use clarification when the CRB errata comes around. Or perhaps I just need to get the hang of reading the new books.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Having trouble understanding Spellwrack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.