Core Rule Help. Party Encounter Card Play and Multiple Check Banes


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm a little confused about some of the new rules.

It is my understanding that now the party can only play one of each boon card collectively per encounter.
An encounter is resolving a card, right?

What about banes with "then'? If you can only use one weapon for a check, you can't use a weapon for a second... can you?

I think I'm misunderstanding either the definition of encounter or the party collective rule but can't seem to find the answer in the rulebook.

Could someone clear this up for me plz?


The actual limit is for check or step, not the whole encounter. You can play 1 boon of any type in each step, including "before acting", "check to defeat", "2nd check to defeat" and so on :)


Jenceslav wrote:
The actual limit is for check or step, not the whole encounter. You can play 1 boon of any type in each step, including "before acting", "check to defeat", "2nd check to defeat" and so on :)

Oh good. I was hoping/expecting something like that, but I couldn't find an adequate explanation. Where does it say that exactly, anyway? I feel like a must be glossing over it or something.


Ironvein wrote:
Jenceslav wrote:
The actual limit is for check or step, not the whole encounter. You can play 1 boon of any type in each step, including "before acting", "check to defeat", "2nd check to defeat" and so on :)

Oh good. I was hoping/expecting something like that, but I couldn't find an adequate explanation. Where does it say that exactly, anyway? I feel like a must be glossing over it or something.

Page 8 wrote:

During each step, … … … but collectively, the party

may play no more than one of each type of boon; powers that can be
played freely do not count toward this limit.
Page 9 wrote:
Start the encounter by reading the card, then go through all of the following steps that apply in order. … … list of all steps

or a paragraph in "A Few Rules That Are Easy to Forget"


Thanks Jenceslav, the "A Few Rules..."seems the be the part I kept glossing over.

When I reread 8 and 9 by themselves though, I still feel like there is room for misinterpretation. Maybe over-explained, idk. May just be me. Thanks again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Core Rule Help. Party Encounter Card Play and Multiple Check Banes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.