Morphic Weaponry (Ex)


Rules Questions


Hello, I have a question about the morphic weaponry.

Quote:
Morphic Weaponry (Ex): An oozemorph can create a number of natural weapons to fight with from any portion of her body, regardless of her current form. At 1st level, as a move action, an oozemorph can form two primary natural attacks that each deal 1d6 points of bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage, chosen by the oozemorph when she forms them. An oozemorph can change the damage type of any number of her natural weapons as a swift action. An oozemorph gains one additional primary natural attack at 6th level and another at 15th level.

Is it possible to obtain the electricity damage from a storm hag (bite and claws) ?

Or a ranged primary natural attack ?

Thanks to your future answer.


They deal bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage, not electricity. Pathfinder doesn't generally like "get anything from any book" stuff, so if a spell or ability doesn't specifically list it, it's safer to assume you don't get it. It doesn't actually allow you to mimic specific forms of attack, you simply get a 1d6 primary attack without any special rider effects.

Ranged is a bit more open to interpretation, since it doesn't specify melee attacks, but most natural attacks seem melee, and I think that was just an oversight and only melee was intended.

Grand Lodge

Morphic weaponry is basically you turn into the T-1000 terminator and morph part of your body into a melee weapon. They are always physical attacks that do slashing, piercing, or bludgeoning. The ability does not allow you to mimic specific natural attacks of other creatures, Morphic Weaponry is a specific kind of natural weapon itself.

Now if you are talking about the Wild Shape portion of the Fluidic Body ability, you can turn into anything allowed via Beast Shape 1, Beast Shape 2, of Giant Shape 1 once you reach the appropriate levels. When you do that, you gain all the abilities you would normally gain from wildshaping into those forms.

If the form you chooses gains less natural attacks than you gain from Morphic Weaponry, you get to use the natural attacks of the form + your morphic weaponry up to your maximum number of Morphic Weapon attacks. For example, you morph into some animal form at level 8 that only gets a bite...you would get a bite + 2 morphic weapon attacks. If you choose a form that gets 2 claw attacks you would get 2 claws + 1 morphic weapon. If you turn into a shape that gets claw/claw/bite, you would not gain any morphic weapon attacks.


For example, with monstrous physique I, the character (at 5th level) change in an euryale.

The character has six secondary natural attacks with a - 5 penalty (-2 with multiattacks feats) and so with morphic weaponry, he can form two primary natural attacks in addition to the secondary natural attacks.

Is it right ?

Can these primary natural attacks take the shape of a claw, bite ... ?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Waldham wrote:

The character has six secondary natural attacks (...) and so with morphic weaponry, he can form two primary natural attacks in addition to the secondary natural attacks.

Is it right ?

No, it's not. Because "The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form." If you have 6 natural attacks from polymorphing into an euryale, that's 6 natural attacks from your current form, and you can't use Morphic Weaponry at all until the polymorph ends.

Ignoring how you'd get access to Monstrous Physique, and the issues with non-standard natural attacks.

Waldham wrote:
Can these primary natural attacks take the shape of a claw, bite ... ?

No. Basically, you have a unique type of natural weapon. It doesn't count as anything specific.

Dark Archive

No

They are not more bites, claws, gores, wing attacks, or tail slaps, They are their own kind of appendage. A lump of you that strikes out. Might be spiked, might be pointy, might just be a lump.


Quote:
No, it's not. Because "The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form." If you have 6 natural attacks from polymorphing into an euryale, that's 6 natural attacks from your current form, and you can't use Morphic Weaponry at all until the polymorph ends.

Ok, but for the morphic weaponry, it specifies primary, not secondary, no ?

Quote:
The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form.

Is it with this sentence ?


Waldham wrote:
Quote:
No, it's not. Because "The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form." If you have 6 natural attacks from polymorphing into an euryale, that's 6 natural attacks from your current form, and you can't use Morphic Weaponry at all until the polymorph ends.

Ok, but for the morphic weaponry, it specifies primary, not secondary, no ?

Quote:
The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form.
Is it with this sentence ?
Quote:
The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form.

It does not restrict it's count to only primary natural attacks, secondary are counted as well.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are totally ignoring the rest of that paragraph...

Morphic Weaponry wrote:
The total number of natural attacks an oozemorph has at any given time includes those gained via her current form. For example, an 8th-level oozemorph who has taken the form of a wolf with beast shape I has a bite attack as part of that form; she can create only two additional natural attacks via morphic weaponry, for a total of three attacks available to her at that level. If the oozemorph later reverts to a humanoid form with no natural weapons, she can instead create three morphic weapons.

If you gain natural attacks from a shape shifted form, they overwrite your Morphic Weapons, if there are more natural attacks from the form you take you get zero Morphic Weapon attacks. Which is why the wolf form specifically mentioned in the ability keeps it's bite attack, and loses 1 of it's 3 morphic weapon attacks.

If you shift into a form that gets 6 natural weapon attacks, you will have zero morphic weapon attacks while in that form, even at level 20.


The ability basically sets your minimum number of natural attacks to 3. Making forms with 1 attack more powerful, but not making forms with lots of them (Ex: octopus or something) broken.


Can a morphic weaponry to replace a natural attack from a taken form ?


Waldham wrote:
Can a morphic weaponry to replace a natural attack from a taken form ?

No.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Morphic Weaponry (Ex) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.