Lycanthrope Contracting Lycanthrope


Rules Questions


Can a lycanthrope (natural or afflicted) contract another form of lycanthropy?

If so:

Can a natural lycanthrope be infected with the same type of lycanthropy, making them effectively afflicted but with better stats?

If I have a character thats an afflicted lycanthrope, let's say wolf, and I contract another type of lycanthropy, let's say shark, what happens during a full moon? Do I become a wolfshark?


No because Lycanthropy is a template and you cannot apply the same template twice.

From a practical standpoint you cannot be both a natural and afflicted lycanthrope. The curse is transmitted by a bite and people accidently bite their tongue all the time. This would mean that all natural lycanthropes are also afflicted.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
No because Lycanthropy is a template and you cannot apply the same template twice.

Is there a page for this rule, cause I could have sworn you could have multiple half-dragon templates?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

Regardless of if it is possible to apply the same template to a creature twice (which I do believe it is not), in a case where doing so makes no sense, it makes no sense. This is one of them.

A werewolfshark is nonsensical - though an extreme example.

Regardless, I wouldn't allow such a dual-disease situation stack. If such a creature existed and was one-third human(oid), one-third wolf, and one-third shark, I would just skin it that way, but not stack any ability score changes and similar. It's the same disease, just a different shape. As in the creature wouldn't be a "were wolf plus shark" they'd be a "were wolfshark". One non-base form that is shaped between two animals.

Now, if you wanted for flavor / plot purposes a creature who has two alternate forms, a DM might allow either a "random nights you get a random form" or "alternating night you get an alternating form". But again, either way, no stacking of abilities. There's just no reason for it that I can see.


Multiple half dragon templates make no sense at all. Half black dragon, half red dragon and half human equals someone who is 150%.


I do thank you all for the input, but I did post this in the "rules question" part of the forum and not advice for a reason. I'm looking for a more rules oriented answer.

I, personally, think a natural born werewolf that contracts a different form of lycanthropy could be quite a mystery for players to solve, in the right context and story. I just was wondering if there's anything concrete that would prevent this from being possible.


Ed Girallon Poe wrote:

I do thank you all for the input, but I did post this in the "rules question" part of the forum and not advice for a reason. I'm looking for a more rules oriented answer.

I, personally, think a natural born werewolf that contracts a different form of lycanthropy could be quite a mystery for players to solve, in the right context and story. I just was wondering if there's anything concrete that would prevent this from being possible.

If there is, it's from an obscure FAQ or forum post, and probably wouldn't do more than provide some guidance on ways to rule things rather than concrete details.

The biggest question, I suppose, is what uncontrolled transformations would be like. Some kind of homebrew abomination that is a blend of the two animals? A coin flip between the two forms? Based upon the environment so that a were-shark that is also a were-wolf will only transform into a shark when there's water it can survive in?


Ed Girallon Poe wrote:

Can a lycanthrope (natural or afflicted) contract another form of lycanthropy?

If so:

Can a natural lycanthrope be infected with the same type of lycanthropy, making them effectively afflicted but with better stats?

If I have a character thats an afflicted lycanthrope, let's say wolf, and I contract another type of lycanthropy, let's say shark, what happens during a full moon? Do I become a wolfshark?

Looking at the lycanthrope template makes me wonder, why would a were wolf/shark man be more powerful than just a werewolf? Either its a half wolf-half humanoid, or its a half-shark half humanoid. Or its all shark, or its all wolf, or its all human. The stat increase only happens once for the template and to be fair, there isn't a compelling reason to double the stat changes. it just sounds like a lycanthrope with more options than a normal one. I don't even think it merits more than the +1 CR that a usual lycanthrope would get.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lycanthrope Contracting Lycanthrope All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.