Ring of Force Shield, what happens when the shield breaks.


Rules Questions


https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/rings/ring-of-force-shield/

So what happens when the shield provided by this item reaches 0 Hp.

Does the shield go poof only to be replaced by a new on the next time the ring is activated?

Does the ring just become a normal ring?

I have a list of other guesses but you get the idea: We don't know. Please help.

P.S.
I kinda hate this magic item now. Also Wall of Force being an evocation spell low-key bothers me.


Ezzard wrote:

...

1) what happens when the shield provided by this item reaches 0 Hp.

Does the shield go poof only to be replaced by a new on the next time the ring is activated? ...

You were on the verge of the answer.

As per Wall of Force... then it is a standard action to activate the ring and create another shield[force]. Use the caster level listed in creation requirements to determine spell specifics if they are not given in the item's description.
If it were Continual or Use activated it would cost more. If it were a one shot item then it would cost less. See the Magic Item Creation table in the CRB.


Azothath wrote:
it is a standard action to activate the ring and create another shield[force]

Even when it says this?

Quote:
It can be activated and deactivated at will as a free action.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Under most circumstances, the ring of force shield would never take any damage, so Ezzard's original question is moot. The shield wouldn't ever "reach zero hit points".

I suppose an adversary could try to target it specifically with a Sunder action. In which case the bearer could simply reactivate it. The only restriction would be having to wait for his own turn (free actions can't be taken off-turn).

I have a hard time seeing occasions where this force shield would take damage. When was the last time you saw a shield-using PC's shield take damage?


When i sundered it with my breaker barbarian :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It would be simpler to use the sunder action on the ring.
I dont see an issue with just gaining it back again on your turn as a free action, and I agree it's not really coming up enough to worry about it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Wheldrake wrote:
I have a hard time seeing occasions where this force shield would take damage. When was the last time you saw a shield-using PC's shield take damage?
Sacrificial Shield (Ex) wrote:


Once per round when you would normally be hit by a weapon attack, you can use your shield to block the attack. You must be using a shield in order to use this ability. Subtract your shield’s hardness and hit points from the damage of the attack and apply the remaining damage to your hit points. If the shield takes enough damage to destroy it, it’s destroyed. Otherwise, it gains the broken condition, even if the damage was not enough to give it the broken condition under other circumstances. You can expend one use of mythic power when using this ability to negate any damage dealt to the shield, though you still take any damage that exceeds its hardness and hit points. You can choose to negate the damage after the damage is rolled.

The shield in this case has hardness 30, 180 hp, and can be replaced each round as a free action.


That does sound like an overpowered combo. I might say that while you can activate and deactivate the shield as a free action, that does nothing to repair any damage it's taken.


What would repair the force shield then Matthew? I'm not sure it's even a valid target for mending or make whole; it looks like a spell effect rather than an object. Mundane crafting is certainly out.

Blocking that combo directly might be better than trying to nerf it.


Buy a new one?

In high level play, the ability to auto-block a 100hp critical hit or two could be worth the 8500gp.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It should be noted that Sacrificial shield is a guardian mythic ability. So, a character can only have it if they are both mythic and have chosen the guardian path. Making it an extreme edge case.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

For a mythic path ability, that isn't even close to overpowered.


Ninja'd by blahpers. Even at very high levels of play (i.e. non-Mythic) that's not all that earth shattering. Way too many ways to deal with it starting with overwhelming it, cancellation, Disintegration, non-weapon attacks etc.

But I think the OP's actual concern was answered well upthread. It just gets reactivated. The Ring generates it's +2 AC via a spell effect.


How about the Armored Sacrifice advanced armor training:

"When damage would cause the fighter or an adjacent ally to be knocked unconscious or killed, the fighter can instead direct the damage to a suit of armor that he is wearing or a shield he is using as an immediate action. The original target takes no damage, but the armor or shield is treated as if it had only half its normal hardness. The fighter can use this option once per day, plus one additional time each day at 11th level and every 8 fighter levels thereafter, to a maximum of three times per day at 19th level."


That means wearing the Ring, hanging around adjacent to your ally and waiting for him to be knocked unconscious or killed to redirect into the Wall of Force shield you've got. Sounds way too rare a moment to worry about ... though it doesn't specify "weapon" attack in the part you quoted so Fireball or Meteor Swarm might get thwarted :P. Word of that text leaves something to be desired.


Ally or user can benefit, and killing/KO blows are the ones you really care about stopping.


Java Man wrote:

How about the Armored Sacrifice advanced armor training:

"When damage would cause the fighter or an adjacent ally to be knocked unconscious or killed, the fighter can instead direct the damage to a suit of armor that he is wearing or a shield he is using as an immediate action. The original target takes no damage, but the armor or shield is treated as if it had only half its normal hardness. The fighter can use this option once per day, plus one additional time each day at 11th level and every 8 fighter levels thereafter, to a maximum of three times per day at 19th level."

I dunno, there might be a wizard who ready actioned to stop the attack with a force wall instead.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Java Man wrote:

How about the Armored Sacrifice advanced armor training:

"When damage would cause the fighter or an adjacent ally to be knocked unconscious or killed, the fighter can instead direct the damage to a suit of armor that he is wearing or a shield he is using as an immediate action. The original target takes no damage, but the armor or shield is treated as if it had only half its normal hardness. The fighter can use this option once per day, plus one additional time each day at 11th level and every 8 fighter levels thereafter, to a maximum of three times per day at 19th level."

Better, but given the uses per day requirement and the immediate action required I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Force Shield, what happens when the shield breaks. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.