Polymorph any object


Rules Questions


I have a question for any GM or Developers out there. I have a group of adventures, four in total. All around level 16. One is a wizard, who would like to cast "polymorph any object" on all the party members including herself. This is with permission of the party. They would like to be polymorph into pureblood azlanti. Then they would like to have permanency cast on themselves. I would like to know if this can be done. To me it seems like it can. Based off "polymorph greater" and "polymorph any object". The party is three humans and one half elf. I would like to know if anyone has run across this. Or what others think. Thanks!


I can't find the creature you mentioned. Could you provide a link?

As for permanency, it tends to cost 2500 gp per level of the spell, and requires a caster level of 8 + spell level. For purposes of these calculations, level 0 spells count as level 1 spells. So if you wanted to make an 8th level spell permanent, it would cost 20000 gp and would need to be cast by a level 16 spell caster.

You may need to do spell research to develop a method for rendering polymorph any object permanent. This spell does not exist on the list of spells for permanency.

I currently have no opinion on this transformation. I don't know the creature the party wishes to become, nor any other context.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Good news for the players: reading the duration chart for Polymorph any object, this will be permanent anyway.

Bad news: all it will do is be a permanent alter self, so +2 size bonus to str, no other polymorph effects can be used, and the half elf loses their low light vision.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It can be done, polymporph any object can duplicate greater polymorph, which can duplicate alter self. I don't think they even need permanency, transforming a Medium-sized humanoid into another Medium-sized humanoid of the same Intelligence already gives enough duration bonuses for the duration to be permanent.

They should however be aware that it will be mostly cosmetics, it doesn't give the racial +2 bonuses to all ability scores. The polymorph spells don't grant the stats and abilities of the creature/object that one is polymoprhed into, except these clearly stated in the spell's description or in general polymorph rules. In this case, it will only give +2 to Strength, as alter self.

You may also require that the caster knows how a pureblood Azlanti looks like.


OmniMage wrote:
I can't find the creature you mentioned. Could you provide a link?

Pureblood Azlanti is one of the human ethnicities listed in the Inner Sea World Guide.


Quote of what's been said before on PAO

Zollqir wrote:

#349 mega

PAO is the most misunderstood spell in the game (and with good reason. It's not well written). Here is what it can actually do:

It functions as the spell Greater Polymorph (which itself functions as either: animal or magical beast as Beast Shape IV, elemental as Elemental Body III, humanoid as Alter Self, plant as Plant Shape II, dragon as Form of the Dragon I; Note that this means PAO cannot do aberrations, constructs, fey, monstrous humanoid, oozes, outsiders other than elementals, undead, or vermin), with the following exceptions:

1)The duration works differently, as shown in the tables (potentially being permanent)
2)It can turn creatures into objects, using the rules listed in the spell
3)It can turn objects into creatures (while it says it can do this, the mechanics for doing so are not fully explained, due to how polymorph changed between 3.5 and PF. For instance, what is the objects HD? BAB? base saves? etc.)
4)Finally, PAO can be used to mimic one of the following spells instead of the above uses: baleful polymorph, greater polymorph, flesh to stone, stone to flesh, transmute mud to rock, transmute metal to wood, or transmute rock to mud

Note that when polymorphing into a creature, you do not gain that creature's stats or special abilities. Instead, you gain bonuses to your own ability scores as appropriate for the polymorph spell (Beast Shape IV for animals, etc.), and any special abilities that polymorph spell lists, as well as all natural weapons.


Adjoint wrote:
OmniMage wrote:
I can't find the creature you mentioned. Could you provide a link?
Pureblood Azlanti is one of the human ethnicities listed in the Inner Sea World Guide.

I must have failed a knowledge check then. ;)

In that case, yes and no. Polymorph any Object can turn you into a another race of humanoids, but it will not bestow higher stats (except maybe +2 size bonus to str). Also, a duration of permanent means that the spell is still active. It can be detected and dispelled. A duration of instantaneous would be more permanent, neither radiating magic nor being possible to dispel.

A question of my own. If you polymorph into something like an elf or orc, do you count as being a member of that race for the purposes of using magic items? I'm thinking no.

All this said, perhaps you should talk to your GM about researching a new spell. You might get something that better fits your needs.


As I also pointed out in another thread the spell Permanency can be dispelled. The duration is extended indefinitely but the spell as noted in its text is as dispellable as most spells with a duration beyond instantaneous(particularly when targeting someone other than the caster).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
OmniMage wrote:
A question of my own. If you polymorph into something like an elf or orc, do you count as being a member of that race for the purposes of using magic items?

No, you're still your normal race (and creature type). You'd also still count as your normal race for effects like Favored Enemy.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Bizarrely, this can lead to things like rangers doing extra damage to otherwise perfectly-disguised creatures without ever realizing that those creatures are their favored enemy--or rangers not getting their favored enemy bonus to what they are utterly convinced is their favored enemy. Does the ranger know that they are/aren't getting their favored enemy bonuses? Nope; the bonus doesn't care whether the ranger knows anything.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
blahpers wrote:
Bizarrely, this can lead to things like rangers doing extra damage to otherwise perfectly-disguised creatures without ever realizing that those creatures are their favored enemy--or rangers not getting their favored enemy bonus to what they are utterly convinced is their favored enemy. Does the ranger know that they are/aren't getting their favored enemy bonuses? Nope; the bonus doesn't care whether the ranger knows anything.

Note that the polymorph spells only give a +10 to disguise as creatures of the new form, hardly perfect.


Well, it's still a huge bonus, considering that most bonuses that easy to get are only around 2, or maybe 5.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just to make sure this gets brought up, if the party are permanently PAO'ed into Azlanti that means they are under a Polymorph effect.

Polymorph wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

So if any of them try to use a polymorph effect after that, they cancel the PAO and when the new effect ends, they return to their real form.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Meirril wrote:

Just to make sure this gets brought up, if the party are permanently PAO'ed into Azlanti that means they are under a Polymorph effect.

Polymorph wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
So if any of them try to use a polymorph effect after that, they cancel the PAO and when the new effect ends, they return to their real form.

To add, they can't be reduced or enlarged, too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph any object All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.