Nanite Corruption (SFS Boon)


GM Discussion

5/5

So I have some questions about this boon.

1) If my Personal boon slot is full when I slot this, it instead takes up a non-Starship boon slot for the session. Could I have it take up my Vanity or Promotional boon, both of which I barely ever use?

2) Offensive Nanites: At the risk of starting a multi-page argument about unarmed combat, how do I benefit from this if I don't have a "natural weapon" as a Vesk does? Do regular unarmed strikes count?

Offensive Nanites
You can attack another creature with nanites by making attacks with a natural weapon.
Gift: Anytime you successfully hit a creature with a natural attack you possess, you deal an additional 2 points of piercing damage. If your character is level 10 or more, you instead deal an additional 4 points of piercing damage with your natural attacks.

3) Also about Offensive Nanites, the stain is: You see organic creatures as weak and always attempt to resist spells used on you, whether harmless or not.

So does this just count for spells cast by organic creatures? If an obviously-superior SRO casts a harmless spell on me, do I try to resist it? Do I try to resist a spell I cast on myself?

4) Finally, at any point I can spend 8 Fame to cross Nanite Corruption off, but I can keep benefiting from the Gift in the future if I took the Corruption's Gift feat. Does that still qualify as slotting this boon, and, if so, do I still lower my Resolve by 1?

Corruption’s Gift
Source Starfinder #12: Heart of Night pg. 52
You have embraced your corruption.
Prerequisites: One or more corruption manifestations.
Benefit: Choose one of your manifestations and make its gift permanent. If you’re ever cured of your corruption, you lose the stain but not the gift. You can take this feat multiple times, making a different gift permanent each time you do so. Each instance of this feat counts as a manifestation you have for calculating the save DC for corruption.

Scarab Sages 5/55/55/5 Venture-Agent, Netherlands aka CptJames

Following because I have this boon too

In reference to 1). That's what I read it as too.

3) Does this mean you will always try and resist even Mystic Cure from anything but an SRO?

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta aka The Masked Ferret

1 person marked this as a favorite.

@draconomicon... I don't believe there is a "Vanity" boon slot.

5/5

Glen Parnell wrote:
@draconomicon... I don't believe there is a "Vanity" boon slot.

There sure is. Check the Starfinder Society guide.

Wayfinders 3/5 5/55/55/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Illinois—Chicago aka Lindley Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dracomicron wrote:
Glen Parnell wrote:
@draconomicon... I don't believe there is a "Vanity" boon slot.
There sure is. Check the Starfinder Society guide.

You mean the section that states that it's a descriptor that is explicitly in addition to the boon slot type?

Starfinder Society Guide, page 9 wrote:
Vanity: Some boons may have this descriptor in addition to any of the above boon slot types. Vanity boons are often boons that have little or no in-game effect and are intended to provide players with interesting background hooks for their characters.

Because that's pretty clear that there's no vanity slot.

5/5

Sasha Lindley Hall wrote:
Dracomicron wrote:
Glen Parnell wrote:
@draconomicon... I don't believe there is a "Vanity" boon slot.
There sure is. Check the Starfinder Society guide.

You mean the section that states that it's a descriptor that is explicitly in addition to the boon slot type?

Starfinder Society Guide, page 9 wrote:
Vanity: Some boons may have this descriptor in addition to any of the above boon slot types. Vanity boons are often boons that have little or no in-game effect and are intended to provide players with interesting background hooks for their characters.
Because that's pretty clear that there's no vanity slot.

Oh jeez.

I miscounted how many prior categories there were when I saw that there were six boon slots. I thought Vanity was the sixth. Thanks Sasha and Glen for putting me back on track!

I amend my question: Could I slot Nanite Corruption into my Promotional Boon Slot if I don't fill it with a T-shirt or portfolio or other such jazz? It feels like cheating (but I'll still do it if it is legal).

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta aka The Masked Ferret

100% Perfectly legal and not cheese... you sacrifice a reroll or Resolve discount.

5/5

Glen Parnell wrote:
100% Perfectly legal and not cheese... you sacrifice a reroll or Resolve discount.

Cool! One question down; three to go.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta aka The Masked Ferret

To my reading of the boon, for question #4, since you can
spend 8 Fame to cross this boon off
Which means that it is no longer a boon, therefore you cannot put it in a Slot, nor do you have to reduce your Total resolve.

It is written... in such a way that it could be interpreted in several ways, including canceling itself out completely.

5/5

Glen Parnell wrote:

To my reading of the boon, for question #4, since you can

spend 8 Fame to cross this boon off
Which means that it is no longer a boon, therefore you cannot put it in a Slot, nor do you have to reduce your Total resolve.

It is written... in such a way that it could be interpreted in several ways, including canceling itself out completely.

My guess is that the Corruption's Gift feat then takes over from the boon. You no longer have a boon, but Corruption's Gift gives you the benefit for "free."

I love the idea of this boon, but the wording is so out there.

Paizo Employee Starfinder Society Developer

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Apologies for my tardiness to this thread. :)

1) It can take up Promotional if you want, but not Vanity. Vanity is a boon-subtype that is applied like a minor tag to the other six types of boons.

2) Unarmed strikes work in this specific circumstance. This is a ruling specific to this boon and nothing else (don't use this to argue other things :P )

3) SRO or a construct creature casts a spell on you, you don't resist. This is a bit of GM discretion, but before anyone asks "no, someone in full armor is still considered organic." :P

4) It does and you still would lower your Resolve by 1.

Second Seekers (Jadnura) 5/5

Thurston Hillman wrote:

Apologies for my tardiness to this thread. :)

1) It can take up Promotional if you want, but not Vanity. Vanity is a boon-subtype that is applied like a minor tag to the other six types of boons.

2) Unarmed strikes work in this specific circumstance. This is a ruling specific to this boon and nothing else (don't use this to argue other things :P )

3) SRO or a construct creature casts a spell on you, you don't resist. This is a bit of GM discretion, but before anyone asks "no, someone in full armor is still considered organic." :P

4) It does and you still would lower your Resolve by 1.

MANY THANKS, THURSTON OF THE HILL CLAN. THE ORGANICS WILL REGRET THE DAY THAT THEIR ANCESTORS CRAWLED OUT OF THE PRIMORDIAL... ER, I WILL BE SURE TO ONLY USE THESE NANITES TO BENEFIT THE SOCIETY.

5/5

Okay, new question.

Is the damage from Nanite Corruption its own source of damage, or is it part of the "natural weapon" strike? In other words, if my natural weapon is archaic and nonlethal, is that 2 bonus piercing damage from nanites burrowing into enemy flesh also archaic and nonlethal? If it is it's own source (and theoretically lethal and nonarchaic), would DR apply to it separately?

Asking for a friend who might have been using a previously lethal bite attack granted by a magic item that mysteriously no longer works.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / Nanite Corruption (SFS Boon) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion