Synthesist Summoner and Rage


Rules Questions


How does the Barbarian rage ability interact with the Synthesist summoner?

Does the Eidolon get the Strength and Con bonus?


Minigiant wrote:

How does the Barbarian rage ability interact with the Synthesist summoner?

Does the Eidolon get the Strength and Con bonus?

I believe not, since those apply to your physical scores and those are replaced by your eidolon's scores. However, if you use an unchained barbarian, then you can get most of the benefits of a normal rage. The two losses I can think of is the 1.5 multiplier for two-handed weapons, and you wouldn't get the +2 on fortitude saves from con bonuses.

Also probably not worth more than a 1 level dip in barbarian, since you use the eidolon's BAB, unless you really want a rage power. Synthesist is just bad for multiclassing unless you plan on attacking with primarily saved based attacks, because of how Fused Eidolon affects BAB.


Well I am just looking at taking the Barbarian VMC

Is that Chained or Unchained?


The synthesist can benefit from morale bonuses fine. But you will be locked out of your spells while raging, so I wouldn’t want to do it.

Shadow Lodge

Minigiant wrote:

Well I am just looking at taking the Barbarian VMC

Is that Chained or Unchained?

If it grants a direct bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls (like the unchained version), you would get the full benefit as you are making the attack roll.

If it grants a direct bonus to your physical stats (like the chained version), you would get nothing because "the synthesist uses the eidolon’s Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution" so your physical stats are essentially irrelevant.


The synthesist uses the eidolon stats, but those stats can still be modified by abilities like rage.

Quote:
While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist can use all of his own abilities and gear, except for his armor.

So things like rage and stat belts still add to the eidolon strength.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fz#v5748eaic9oba wrote:


Summoner: What happens when a synthesist (page 80) takes a penalty, suffers an affliction, or has an ongoing effect when the eidolon disappears?

These effects persist on the summoner after the eidolon is gone. For example, a ray of enfeeblement on the fused character continues to affect the summoner after the eidolon is gone, as would a bestow curse spell or acid arrow spell, as would continuing poison damage. These effects apply to the character as a whole, and just because the eidolon is gone doesn't mean the summoner is freed from the effect (ability damage is tracked separately, as described in another FAQ, because it is a separate game statistic that the summoner "borrows" from the eidolon). If the condition or effect ends (whether from its duration running out, being cured/negated/dispelled, and so on) while the eidolon is gone, it doesn't return when the eidolon is resummoned. This applies to beneficial effects as well as harmful ones--an invisible summoner isn't suddenly visible if his eidolon disappears, nor does he become invisible again if the duration ran out while the eidolon was gone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Synthesist Summoner and Rage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.