Are sunrods magical?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


It doesn't say but I would guess no, they probably just use fluorescent chemicals like real glow sticks

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Craft Alchemy DC 25, so no, they're non-magical.


It's alchemical, which shouldn't count as magic, unless it explicitly says so.


I always pictured them as like road flares, since they're about a foot long and you strike them on one end to make them glow.


I imagine you need magic to make them since alchemy is not purely mundane chemistry, but they don't need magic to operate.


Alchemy is just how things work in Pathfinder. It's nonmagical the same way long-jumping 40 feet is nonmagical.


It’s probably better to think of it as the chemistry of another reality.


Falls into the same category as the properties of skymetals or mithral etc... Beyond Earthnatural, but not supernatural or magic in Pathfinder.


avr wrote:
I imagine <b>you need magic to make them</b> since alchemy is not purely mundane chemistry, but they don't need magic to operate.

Wasn't that rule ditched in the 3.5>PF transition?


The rule you need to be a spellcaster to use craft (alchemy) was ditched, but the principle that alchemy is something more than making benchtop alcohol and lemon juice batteries is still there. Exhibit A: the tanglefoot bag.

BTW square brackets not angled ones for formatting on paizo.com


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nonmagical. Won't ping to detect magic, works in an antimagic field.


Alchemy not being magical was persistent thru all of Playtest, and I critiqued the Alchemist's usage of Resonance on basis of incoherence of nonmagical ability powered off same pool used for magic items... That conflict now being gone with the dropping of Resonance, leaving Alchemy 100% non-magical.

If it is created by Alchemy the assumption should be it is 100% nonmagical, although of course there's nothing absolutely stopping an exception that explicitly states otherwise, and I don't see why Alchemy can't potentially work on material that is already magical in someway causing end result to also be magical in some way.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I believe that this is a 1st Ed thread.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Are sunrods magical? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.