Two small questions on about the core set


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1: On the location Oubliettte it says "When Closed: You May Heal an Ally". All references in the rules as far as I can find say to heal "the specified number of cards", but the Oubliette does not specify the number of cards to heal. I have so far assumed it to heal one card, but is this an error, or is there some rule I am missing that defines some sort of default number for healing cards?

2: In the "During this Scenario" for DD3B it says to count the cards left in the location to find out if the dragon is defeated. If there are 3 or more, it is undefeated. Is the encountered card still considered part of the location while encountering it?

In case I am unclear, if there are 3 cards left in the location, and I then explore and find the dragon, and manage to beat it, would it be considered defeated or undefeated according to the scenario?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
jorveg wrote:
1: On the location Oubliettte it says "When Closed: You May Heal an Ally". All references in the rules as far as I can find say to heal "the specified number of cards", but the Oubliette does not specify the number of cards to heal. I have so far assumed it to heal one card,

I would assume you're a non-native English speaker and that might be tripping you up - "a" and "an" are singular indefinite articles (or whatever they call them in grammar) - so their use is pretty much the same as saying "Heal one ally".

jorveg wrote:
2: ...Is the encountered card still considered part of the location while encountering it?

Generally - yes. I'm not sure about the actual *intent* here, so I would appreciate some designer feedback too. (For instance, there's precedent if something makes you examine a number of cards in a location - you do NOT count the card being encountered)


Longshot11 wrote:
jorveg wrote:
1: On the location Oubliettte it says "When Closed: You May Heal an Ally". All references in the rules as far as I can find say to heal "the specified number of cards", but the Oubliette does not specify the number of cards to heal. I have so far assumed it to heal one card,

I would assume you're a non-native English speaker and that might be tripping you up - "a" and "an" are singular indefinite articles (or whatever they call them in grammar) - so their use is pretty much the same as saying "Heal one ally".

Damn, feel stupid now. Not native speaker, but feel I should have spotted that one. Have been thinking of the word ally as in "other character" when of course it refers to the boon type.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Rulebook says “When you explore, first apply any effects that happen when you explore, then flip over the top card of your current location and encounter it.”

Since you only flip over the card, it doesn’t leave the location, and so it is counted when counting the number of cards in the location.

For Longshot’s question, the rulebook also says “If you are examining a location, when determining which cards you are examining, consider only facedown cards.” Since the card you explore was flipped face-up as part of exploring, you don’t examine it again despite it still being in the location.


That makes perfect sense. Playing solo I pick the card up to easily read it. Easy to forget spesifics like that then. The devil is in the details.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
skizzerz wrote:


For Longshot’s question, the rulebook also says “If you are examining a location, when determining which cards you are examining, consider only facedown cards.” Since the card you explore was flipped face-up as part of exploring, you don’t examine it again despite it still being in the location.

I... didn't have a question about examining, actually :) I was trying to give an example why wouldn't put past designer intent a logic like "count all the REMAINING cards besides the one being encountered".

The idea that you must be left with "Dragon and ONE other card" just strikes me as... odd. I wouldn't bat an eye at the ever popular "if there are any OTHER card left" (i.e. Dragon must be on nottom), but when we get to numbers - some do feel more arbitrary than others.

There can be a long conversation of the "sacrality" of number 3 in the collective consciosness of Western civilizations, but fact is - while the text says "three cards (for this unfavorable thing)", it actually means "must have only TWO cards left (for this favorable thing)" - and I just *can't* shake the feeling it was supposed to aim for "must have only THREE cards LEFT (for the favorable thing)"...


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
skizzerz wrote:

Rulebook says “When you explore, first apply any effects that happen when you explore, then flip over the top card of your current location and encounter it.”

Since you only flip over the card, it doesn’t leave the location, and so it is counted when counting the number of cards in the location.

For Longshot’s question, the rulebook also says “If you are examining a location, when determining which cards you are examining, consider only facedown cards.” Since the card you explore was flipped face-up as part of exploring, you don’t examine it again despite it still being in the location.

Note that there is a interesting side effect (sorry I really like those). Say you need to examine cards until you find a monster an have to encounter it (Pre-Core Ambush barrier comes to mind) and you have 6 cards in the location with the top 3 cards being boons and the 4th being the Dragon, you would actually be able to defeat the dragon (since you would only count the 2 cards below it as per my understanding that the previously examined boons wouldn't be counted nor reshuffled in the location deck yet).


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

You count every card in the location, whether it is face up or facedown, for the purpose of the Dragon. There is no rule that informs you otherwise. So, what you said is incorrect.


Jorveg wrote:
2: In the "During this Scenario" for DD3B it says to count the cards left in the location to find out if the dragon is defeated. If there are 3 or more, it is undefeated. Is the encountered card still considered part of the location while encountering it?

This same question just came up on BGG. Has there been any official clarification about the intent?

As others have noted, my guess is that the intent is to count the other cards (not including the dragon) - despite what the rules might state or imply.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
jorveg wrote:
Longshot11 wrote:
jorveg wrote:
1: On the location Oubliettte it says "When Closed: You May Heal an Ally". All references in the rules as far as I can find say to heal "the specified number of cards", but the Oubliette does not specify the number of cards to heal. I have so far assumed it to heal one card,

I would assume you're a non-native English speaker and that might be tripping you up - "a" and "an" are singular indefinite articles (or whatever they call them in grammar) - so their use is pretty much the same as saying "Heal one ally".

Damn, feel stupid now. Not native speaker, but feel I should have spotted that one. Have been thinking of the word ally as in "other character" when of course it refers to the boon type.

LOL - please don't feel stupid. I am a native English speaker and was thinking the same thing - that "ally" was referring to "character"! I'm so glad you asked and cleared that up for me. :)


I'd add that 3B is already quite difficult. (We played once and got destroyed; second try is up next.) It doesn't really need to be any harder, so the more generous interpretation of "3 cards left in deck" would be helpful.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

skizzerz wrote:

Rulebook says “When you explore, first apply any effects that happen when you explore, then flip over the top card of your current location and encounter it.”

Since you only flip over the card, it doesn’t leave the location, and so it is counted when counting the number of cards in the location.

That's correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Two small questions on about the core set All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.