Multiple Archetype question


Rules Questions


Okay so I know that having more than one archetype works the following way;

"A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature."

So if for example 2 archetype change/remove Alchemist bombs, you can't take both.

But how do this work with Skills for example?


According to the archetype stacking faq adding a single class skill is altering the "class skills" feature.

Shadow Lodge

Java Man wrote:
According to the archetype stacking faq adding a single class skill is altering the "class skills" feature.

This.

If the two archetypes touch the same class feature in any way, you can't combine them. In your example, the class feature is 'class skills' so the two archetypes are incompatible.

Note that class skills added from Sorcerer Bloodlines or Oracle Mysteries are usually considered a separate class feature, so an archetype touching Oracle Class Skills does not necessary clash with an archetype touching the Oracle Class Skills from the Mystery: You'll need to read these archetypes carefully.

For example, the following two Oracle archetype features do not clash (thought the archetypes themselves clash on another feature):

Spirit Guide wrote:
Class Skills: A spirit guide gains all Knowledge skills as class skills. This replaces the bonus class skills gained from the oracle’s mystery.
Shigenjo wrote:
Class Skills: A shigenjo adds Survival to her list of class skills in place of Diplomacy.


Basically, if you have to ask, 99% of the time it doesn't stack.


Though honestly, any GM worth their salt should let you combine two archetypes which conflict only by changing different class skills.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Archetype question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.