Telekinetic Projectile for Harrying / Covering Fire?


Rules Questions

51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

My apologies pithica42. I was not meaning to be disparaging.

My intent was to point out that Mai Shael wasn't doing a forum blunder by rehashing the exact same arguments that had already been discussed in this very thread.

Sorry.


Apparently I am a dummy sometimes, and with the lead-up to Gen Con, had forgotten that I asked this question here.

The original question came up when a PC spellcaster at my table was wondering whether he could have a hand free to cast spells while still possibly providing harrying/cover fire without having to drop/draw firearms every other round, or if he could just use a 0th-level spell and stop micromanaging his action economy.

Thank you all for your thoughts (and thanks to most of you for keeping it civil).


The Penecontemporaneous One wrote:
The original question came up when a PC spellcaster at my table was wondering whether he could have a hand free to cast spells while still possibly providing harrying/cover fire without having to drop/draw firearms every other round, or if he could just use a 0th-level spell and stop micromanaging his action economy.

I mean, that's actually exceptionally easy, given that small arms are one handed.

Pick up an integrated weapon, like a retractable spike, and you can even have a small arm for Harrying Fire et al, always be armed for melee and able to make AoOs, and still have a hand free.

But that whole point is probably moot since I don't think Starfinder even requires a free hand for spellcasting.


At lower levels (especially given the 10% sell-back value in SF vs. the 50% in PF), cost is a limiting factor. If I recall correctly, this was a level 1 mystic wearing level 1 flight suit armor who had "something" (that I don't recall) occupying one of his hands and wanted to have the option to shoot/cast/cover/etc. with the other.


The Penecontemporaneous One wrote:
At lower levels (especially given the 10% sell-back value in SF vs. the 50% in PF), cost is a limiting factor. If I recall correctly, this was a level 1 mystic wearing level 1 flight suit armor who had "something" (that I don't recall) occupying one of his hands and wanted to have the option to shoot/cast/cover/etc. with the other.

Fair, though for what it's worth, I can't find a rule in Starfinder stating that casting spells requires a free hand.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Penecontemporaneous One wrote:

Apparently I am a dummy sometimes, and with the lead-up to Gen Con, had forgotten that I asked this question here.

The original question came up when a PC spellcaster at my table was wondering whether he could have a hand free to cast spells while still possibly providing harrying/cover fire without having to drop/draw firearms every other round, or if he could just use a 0th-level spell and stop micromanaging his action economy.

Thank you all for your thoughts (and thanks to most of you for keeping it civil).

Spells don't require a free hand in starfinder, as there's no somatic component.

Which might explain why the spell list is so delayed.. everyones casting silent stilled spells....

Pre Gap wizard "wait.. you can cast without saying the words and making the gestures of power?"

Post gap Mystic "The what?"


You don't need a free hand or need to speak to cast spells in starfinder.

You just need to be able to concentrate on what you're doing for the duration of the casting time.

51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Telekinetic Projectile for Harrying / Covering Fire? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.