Empower Spell Plus some bonus damage.


Rules Questions


I need to know how Empower Spell works with a Fireball that's already getting bonus damage from Bloodline Arcana.

For this example we will be using the following Sorcerer Bloodlines playing a Cross-blooded Sorcerer.

Draconic Bloodline(Red dragon):

"Bloodline Arcana: Whenever you cast a spell with an energy descriptor that matches your draconic bloodline’s energy type, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled"

Orc Bloodline:

"Bloodline Arcana: You gain the orc subtype, including darkvision 60 feet and light sensitivity. If you already have darkvision, its range increases to 90 feet. Whenever you cast a spell that deals damage, that spell deals +1 point of damage per die rolled."

Let's say my Fireball does 10d6 fire damage on it's own. Adding the bloodline bonus that's 10d6+20. With Empower spell the base damage becomes 15d6 with a +30 for it's bonus damage. This is were my uncertainty kicks in. The reason the bonus damage increases is because of the Bloodline Arcana, not because of the Empower Spell.

The Empower spell provides the following benefit: "All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half *including bonuses to those dice rolls.*"
(emphasis mine)

So does that mean the final damage calculation for this Empowered Fireball comes out as 15d6+60?

If so I may have to get with me GM as I did not predict that much damage output.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are incorrect.

Empower spell does not make you roll additional dice, instead you roll as normal, add the bonuses to that damage, and then multiply by 1.5.

So if you had a 10d6 fireball and +2 damage per die rolled, you would deal (10d6+20)*1.5 damage.


willuwontu wrote:

You are incorrect.

Empower spell does not make you roll additional dice, instead you roll as normal, add the bonuses to that damage, and then multiply by 1.5.

So if you had a 10d6 fireball and +2 damage per die rolled, you would deal (10d6+20)*1.5 damage.

So the bonus damage (+20) would be multiplied by 1.5. For a total of +30 bonus damage. Good. That's a lot less problematic.

Thank you for your time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Empower Spell Plus some bonus damage. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.