Wakizashi and Slashing Grace


Rules Questions


I'm new-ish to the game and was wondering if anyone could explain to me why, as I keep reading, you can't use slashing grace with a Wakizashi when the description for slashing grace clearly states

"Benefit: Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon"

Emphasis on the 'LIGHT OR One-handed' weapon.

I don't understand why as a slashing (I know it's also piercing) 'light melee weapon' the wakizashi can't be used with slashing grace.

Can't get my noob head around it!!

Grand Lodge

You can. Not sure who claimed you can’t but you can certainly choose a wakizashi as your weapon for slashing grace.

You can’t use slashing grace while using Two weapon fighting, flurry, or while using the magus spell combat, maybe that is what was being referenced.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Where did you read that this wouldn't work?

Note that the rules for Slashing Grace were errataed at one point -- I think the original text may have specified one-handed weapon only. So if what you are reading pre-dates the errata, it might be for that reason.

Also, since the wakizashi is traditionally wielded in the off-hand by a samurai wielding a katana in his main hand, somebody could be running afoul of the requirement to have one hand empty to use slashing grace.


Hi, thanks for the replies, Yeah the posts and builds I was looking at were quite old so they must've been before the errata.

Thanks again for clearing that up for me.


Or just take 3 levels of UC rogue and get dex to damage all day with your super extra cool shortswords.

Unrelated but I houserule in every game I play that shortswords do slashing damage, because of course they do?


David knott 242 wrote:
Note that the rules for Slashing Grace were errataed at one point -- I think the original text may have specified one-handed weapon only.

Yes, it did exactly that.

"Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler’s or a duelist’s precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon’s damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Wakizashi and Slashing Grace All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.