+3 / +1Leveraging shield + shield master ...cmb=?


Rules Questions


leveraging weapon:
PFS Legal Leveraging
Source Weapon Master's Handbook pg. 30
Aura faint transmutation CL 6th
Price +1 bonus; Weight —
Description
This special ability can be placed only on melee weapons. The wielder of a leveraging weapon gains a bonus equal to the weapon’s enhancement bonus to her Combat Maneuver Defense against bull rush, dragAPG, repositionAPG, and trip combat maneuvers. The leveraging weapon’s enhancement bonus is doubled when applied to combat maneuver checks to attempt bull rush, drag, reposition, and trip combat maneuvers.
Construction
Requirements Craft Magic Arms and Armor, enlarge person; Price —

shield master:
PFS Legal Shield Master (Combat)
Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 133
Your mastery of the shield allows you to fight with it without hindrance.

Prerequisites: Improved Shield Bash, Shield Proficiency, Shield Slam, Two-Weapon Fighting, base attack bonus +11.

Benefit: You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon. Add your shield's enhancement bonus to attacks and damage rolls made with the shield as if it was a weapon enhancement bonus.

Say a shield is +3 and is also enchanted as a weapon +1 leveraging

When Shield slamming to bullrush what would the cmb be?

A) the +3 shield and shield master bonus is greater and would override the weapon sides +1Leveraging which would be +2 to cmb

B) shield master will allow the +3 to be considered the enhancement bonus which would be doubled by leveraging giving a bonus of +6 to cmb

Grand Lodge

I would say A.

Shield Master lets you use the shield's defensive bonus offensively, but it does not make that the shield's weapon enchantment bonus. I would also think it would not bypass DR like a +3 weapon, only a +1 weapon.


Quote:
Add your shield's enhancement bonus to attacks and damage rolls made with the shield as if it was a weapon enhancement bonus.

It would function as a weapon enhancement bonus then for the purposes of overcoming DR.


It seems that if it would count towards dr then it would count for leveraging

But admittedly I can't find a faq confirming either


I will float another interpretation: the leveraging weapon enchantment will have no effect whatsoever on a Bull Rush attempt generated by a Shield Slam.

Shield Slam wrote:
Any opponents hit by your shield bash are also hit with a free bull rush attack, substituting your attack roll for the combat maneuver check (see Combat).

No bonuses to your Bull Rush will have any effect here unless they also apply to the Shield Bash Attack, since the Bull Rush uses the initial Attack Roll as the Combat Maneuver Check.


add your shield's enhancement bonus to attacks and damage rolls made with the shield as if it was a weapon enhancement bonus.

Wouldn't this line limit it to only attack rolls/ damage rolls?
meaning it wouldn't apply to leveraging as that is a static defense and not involved in attacxk or damage?


Slyme wrote:

I would say A.

Shield Master lets you use the shield's defensive bonus offensively, but it does not make that the shield's weapon enchantment bonus. I would also think it would not bypass DR like a +3 weapon, only a +1 weapon.

Combat maneuver rolls are attacks rolls. All bonuses to the attack roll are applied normally.

In this case you would add the shield's defensive enhancement bonus + the bonus from Leveraging to the characters CMB when using the shield for the relevant maneuvers.


Thanks for all the responses for and against... I'm of the opinion that it would work for dr and cmb. But I can understand how others may feel differently

threads like this are useful so I can simply point the GM to this thread and after reading arguments for and against he can decide how he wants to handle it

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / +3 / +1Leveraging shield + shield master ...cmb=? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.