Conversion Guide


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Core Conversion Guide, which provides further instruction on using older cards with the Core Set, or using the Core Set rulebook with older sets was posted on Friday.

Please note that this is not a rules discussion thread. Please keep this thread for updates and commentary about the FAQ itself, not about the gameplay issues that are or are not described in the FAQ. (See the Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion forum for discussion of those issues.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added WotR promo character Ekkie to list of characters replacing proficiency with Light Armors with a hand size feat.

In the entry detailing spell recovery, deleted "If the action to play is “Discard” but is not rechargeable: Change its cost to 'Banish', and if necessary add 'DURING RECOVERY If proficient, (do whatever it says to) discard this card.' These spells include: Haste and Web." These cards were addressed by FAQ a while ago, and the new versions no longer have an issue.

We implemented a more gentle solution for Dream Voyage (replacing "end your turn" with "you may not explore again this turn").

Added Letter of Marque and Planar Tuning Fork to the items that care about closed locations.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Urgraz' Tyrant role.


So, RAW, Cogsnap's conversion is a bit... odd. It's not obvious, but the conversion of his banish power to recovery means that for older cards - like those in his CD - he can't actually use that power until he checks the "you may discard it instead" box. Until then, he can't do anything with those cards except banish them, so they never hit the recovery pile. RAI is obvious, but still.

(Also, that discard power has been significantly buffed, but I expect that's intentional.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Helms and Helmets.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
In the entry detailing spell recovery, deleted "If the action to play is “Discard” but is not rechargeable: Change its cost to 'Banish', and if necessary add 'DURING RECOVERY If proficient, (do whatever it says to) discard this card.' These spells include: Haste and Web." These cards were addressed by FAQ a while ago, and the new versions no longer have an issue.

Haste and Web no longer do that, but Holy Feast does. Added back, giving that example.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Codex of Conversations to the recovery items list.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I've removed some posts. This is not a rules discussion thread. Please keep this thread for updates and commentary about the FAQ itself, not about the gameplay issues that are or are not described in the FAQ. (See the Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion forum for discussion of those issues.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The entry regarding scourges has been rewritten to cover scourges themselves. (Previously, it covered only cards that banish scourges.)


The conversion guide entry on amendments to the Witches' cohorts have made substantial changes to their powers beyond keeping them displayed for their Arcane skill. Centipede, Compsognathus and Daji used to only require recharging cards to use their powers but now require discarding cards. Flying Squirrel and Snapping Turtle did not require use of any cards previously but now require recharging cards. Are these official errata of their powers?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

As Chad said in the blog about the Conversion Guide, "While we were adjusting these powers, we noticed that sometimes the former wording had impacts beyond what was appropriate—the powers were turning out too broad, getting things that didn't fit or feel right for the characters. Since we needed to add specific wording for each character anyway, we took the opportunity to clean up some of these concerns. Bottom line, these adjusted alchemist characters aren't always exact mechanical equivalents to their former selves, but we feel that they're a better fit for the character concepts, and the changes result in better gameplay."

These changes are needed only in Conversion Guide, because in their own environment (that is, when you're not using the Conversion Guide) those cards work correctly as written.

Lone Shark Games

Because the witch cohorts are now displayed, using their powers is _much_ cheaper by default than previously, where you lost use of the cohort, it was actually at risk of being lost to bane effects (largely stopping your turn), and it took up one of your draws for your hand at reset.

Accordingly, the card requirement was slightly increased to avoid overwhelmingly improving them. So far in our tests, they're still generally more powerful than before the change.


Thanks for the clarification. I noticed Vic was talking about alchemists but I guess his points were meant for witches as well.

Also appreciate Keith's points about the benefits of displaying instead of reloading cohorts. (Didn't think of the extra draw needed.) On the other hand I feel there is a significant cost difference between recharging and discarding unless you have ready ways to heal. But I understand the changes. Looks like Flying Squirrel and Snapping Turtle might become more attractive relatively speaking.

And I guess this would apply for PACS games then.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added blessings.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added two new paragraphs (the first two) to villains and henchmen.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added characters that are allowed to play more than one card of a certain type.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Added the following bullet to the main entry for Items:

On Alchemical items that you banish to play and that have Craft in the check to acquire, but do not already have a During Recovery power, add “DURING RECOVERY If proficient, you may succeed at a Craft X check to recharge this card” where X is equal to the Craft check to acquire the card + 2.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added characters with powers that involve moving after closing locations.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Ekkie.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Flenta to the list of characters that gain new proficiencies.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Conversion Guide All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion