A few questions regarding the new core set.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I just recently purchased the pathfinder adventure card game core set along with the curse of the crimson throne expansion. While playing I’m running into a few problems that some cards to specify too clearly what they mean.

Kobold horde says “if not defeated by at least 4, suffer 1 ranged combat damage.” Does this mean I have to beat it by 4 over the required combat check? Or that if my roll is 4 lower than the required combat check I take the damage?

Kobold sorcerer says “if the check to defeat does not have the attack trait, and you succeed, re roll.” I don’t have a clue what an attack trait is, I couldn’t find it listed on any card or the rule book. As such if I don’t have an attack trait on the check do I just constantly re roll until I fail or does his power only happen once?

Lastly, I’m on the adventure welcome to Belhaim: Scenario 1C: The wizard’s estate. I’m informed that at the end of my move step I need to encounter a random eldritch story bane depending on my roll. I looked all through my story bane cards and could not find any of them with a eldritch label on it. Am I possibly missing cards at all?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
tikiwaka wrote:

I just recently purchased the pathfinder adventure card game core set along with the curse of the crimson throne expansion. While playing I’m running into a few problems that some cards to specify too clearly what they mean.

Kobold horde says “if not defeated by at least 4, suffer 1 ranged combat damage.” Does this mean I have to beat it by 4 over the required combat check? Or that if my roll is 4 lower than the required combat check I take the damage?

Kobold sorcerer says “if the check to defeat does not have the attack trait, and you succeed, re roll.” I don’t have a clue what an attack trait is, I couldn’t find it listed on any card or the rule book. As such if I don’t have an attack trait on the check do I just constantly re roll until I fail or does his power only happen once?

Lastly, I’m on the adventure welcome to Belhaim: Scenario 1C: The wizard’s estate. I’m informed that at the end of my move step I need to encounter a random eldritch story bane depending on my roll. I looked all through my story bane cards and could not find any of them with a eldritch label on it. Am I possibly missing cards at all?

You try to defeat the Kobold horde like normal. Then you see if you not only defeated it, but defeated it by at least 4 more. So if your check was like just 2 over, then the card is still defeated, but you take 1 ranged combat damage.

Attack trait appears on certain spells like Lightning Touch. If your using a weapon, for instance, and make the check to defeat, then reroll once and take the new result.
Look on the back of one of the wildcards for the list of Eldritch banes.


jones314 wrote:
tikiwaka wrote:

I just recently purchased the pathfinder adventure card game core set along with the curse of the crimson throne expansion. While playing I’m running into a few problems that some cards to specify too clearly what they mean.

Kobold horde says “if not defeated by at least 4, suffer 1 ranged combat damage.” Does this mean I have to beat it by 4 over the required combat check? Or that if my roll is 4 lower than the required combat check I take the damage?

Kobold sorcerer says “if the check to defeat does not have the attack trait, and you succeed, re roll.” I don’t have a clue what an attack trait is, I couldn’t find it listed on any card or the rule book. As such if I don’t have an attack trait on the check do I just constantly re roll until I fail or does his power only happen once?

Lastly, I’m on the adventure welcome to Belhaim: Scenario 1C: The wizard’s estate. I’m informed that at the end of my move step I need to encounter a random eldritch story bane depending on my roll. I looked all through my story bane cards and could not find any of them with a eldritch label on it. Am I possibly missing cards at all?

You try to defeat the Kobold horde like normal. Then you see if you not only defeated it, but defeated it by at least 4 more. So if your check was like just 2 over, then the card is still defeated, but you take 1 ranged combat damage.

Attack trait appears on certain spells like Lightning Touch. If your using a weapon, for instance, and make the check to defeat, then reroll once and take the new result.
Look on the back of one of the wildcards for the list of Eldritch banes.

Awesome, thanks for the help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / A few questions regarding the new core set. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion