Priority of "examine and replace" vs. cards that get encountered when examined


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

The Exchange

Suppose that I use a Spyglass to examine the top two cards of my location, and one of them is the "Evidence" story bane, which gets encountered when examined. Suppose that I fail the check against this bane so it gets shuffled back in. Does it get shuffled in before I resolve the "put the two cards back on top in any order" on Spyglass (so I will get to retrieve the Evidence from wherever it got shuffled in and put it back on top?) Or do I resolve the rest of the Spyglass first (in which case the Evidence will end up shuffled into the deck?) Or does the Spyglass "lose track" of the Evidence when it gets shuffled in so I can't replace it (but will still replace the other card?)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Alex319 wrote:
Suppose that I use a Spyglass to examine the top two cards of my location, and one of them is the "Evidence" story bane, which gets encountered when examined. Suppose that I fail the check against this bane so it gets shuffled back in. Does it get shuffled in before I resolve the "put the two cards back on top in any order" on Spyglass (so I will get to retrieve the Evidence from wherever it got shuffled in and put it back on top?) Or do I resolve the rest of the Spyglass first (in which case the Evidence will end up shuffled into the deck?) Or does the Spyglass "lose track" of the Evidence when it gets shuffled in so I can't replace it (but will still replace the other card?)

I think the rule is “finish what you’re doing.” So, finish the encounter and shuffle Evidence in and then examine your second card, which is now the top card.

Seem to recall this question was answered before in Mummy’s Mask.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

See last sentence on page 13. You do not shuffle before having examined all the cards in the original order.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I stand corrected.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Priority of "examine and replace" vs. cards that get encountered when examined All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion