Drones get AOO?


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Do mechanic's drones get attacks of opportunity?


I think so

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Nothing in the rules excludes drones from getting a reaction, so as far as I can see they can take attack of opportunities.


I actually don't think they do - drones don't have the full set of actions a regular character does, and only get granted specific actions from the Limited/Expert/True AI class features; none of these provide a reaction.


Nerdy Canuck wrote:
I actually don't think they do - drones don't have the full set of actions a regular character does, and only get granted specific actions from the Limited/Expert/True AI class features; none of these provide a reaction.

Reading those sections on pages 75 and 76, Limited AI, Master Control, Expert AI, True AI, seem to suggest that drones don't have a reaction.

But if you read Shock Wave on page 79, you will see that it does mention reactions for the only time.

Page 79 wrote:

Shock Wave (Ex)

Whenever your drone is reduced to fewer than 10 HP, it
immediately shuts down and unleashes a shock wave
of electricity as a reaction (even if it is deactivated or
destroyed by the attack).

The drone has to wait until level 11 to get this. Does this mean they get reactions from level 1? It seems more like an exception.

Looking at page 248, Reactions, we are told

Page 248 wrote:

You gain access to most reactions through feats, items, and

class features, but an attack of opportunity is a reaction that is
universally available to all characters.

Is a drone considered a character? Does it have a character sheet :) It has a section in the Player Character Folio.

So, down to the GM if a drone can take a reaction. I might say that a Combat Drone could take AOO but otherwise no.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I think the larger question to ask would be "Are Drones considered 'characters'?"

That would not only answer this question, but also whether drones can benefit from wearing magic items.

Sovereign Court

CRB p. 8 wrote:

Creature

A creature is an active participant in the story or world. This
includes player characters (PCs), nonplayer characters (NPCs),
and monsters.

(...)

Monster
A monster is a nonplayer character. In general, monsters are too
strange or unintelligent to be player characters, or are prevented
from being them for other reasons. A monster might be a player
character’s opponent or ally, or serve any other role.

CRB p. 74 wrote:

A drone is considered a construct with the

technological subtype for the purposes of spells and effects
targeting it.

(...)

Like most constructs, a drone cannot recover from damage on
its own.

Drones are constructs with the technological subtype. That makes them creatures. It's either a PC (nah..), NPC (maybe..) or a monster (maybe..) or something else not worth mentioning (dubious). Since monsters are NPCs, a drone is probably technically an NPC, and therefore a character.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

The PCs are the real monsters....


BigNorseWolf wrote:
The PCs are the real monsters....

That's why I always make sure ro waterboard them.


In space, no one can hear you scream.

Sovereign Court

kadance wrote:
In space, no one can hear you scream.

We looked and looked, but couldn't find any rules saying sonic weapons don't work in hard vacuum.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you have a shout projector, people can hear you scream in space very well.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Drones get AOO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.