Chronicles of Legends Irori’s Meditation Error?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I just got the new book this morning and reading through the item sets the monk one seems to be impossible to get the full bonus from.

Set Text:
Bodywrap of Mighty Strikes: For every additional piece of
this set you wear, you can add this item’s enhancement to
one additional attack and damage roll per round.
Monk’s Robe: While you are wearing all three pieces of this
set, the bonus to AC you gain from your effective monk levels
granted by this item increases by 2, exceeding the monk’s AC
bonus maximum of +5 if applicable.
Necklace of Ki Serenity: For every additional piece of this
set you wear, you increase this item’s bonus by 1.

In order to get the full benefits of the set, all 3 pieces have to be worn but Monk's Robe and Bodywrap of Mighty Strikes both take the body slot, making this impossible.


That is odd


Given that they refer to each other in their descriptions and until an erratum is published, I'd let them be worn one on top of the other in the same slot.


Agénor wrote:
Given that they refer to each other in their descriptions and until an erratum is published, I'd let them be worn one on top of the other in the same slot.

They don't normally this ability refers to them being worn in such a way. Now i agree that as a GM I would let it fly in a heartbeat but for something like PFS if this is allowed in the campaign at the very least someone will need to errata/rule on it or its a no go.


LOL whoops.

These seem to be getting more frequent as fewer and fewer resources are devoted to tightening up Pathfinder RPG content.


Talonhawke wrote:
for something like PFS if this is allowed in the campaign at the very least someone will need to errata/rule on it or its a no go.

If I understand correctly PFS, one of the role of the Game Master there is to make "not rules but rulings". This is clearly a case where a ruling is needed. I'd understand why other people would make their ruling the other way but it wouldn't be more than a ruling, carrying the same weight.

So far, we know the three items can be worn at the same time and we know two of them are to be worn on the chest. We also know specific trumps general. I believe my ruling is sound.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I think even from the Core rulebook, you could have worn both, you'd only get the benefit of one of them, but you can wear both.


Agénor wrote:
Talonhawke wrote:
for something like PFS if this is allowed in the campaign at the very least someone will need to errata/rule on it or its a no go.

If I understand correctly PFS, one of the role of the Game Master there is to make "not rules but rulings". This is clearly a case where a ruling is needed. I'd understand why other people would make their ruling the other way but it wouldn't be more than a ruling, carrying the same weight.

So far, we know the three items can be worn at the same time and we know two of them are to be worn on the chest. We also know specific trumps general. I believe my ruling is sound.

No PFS table GMs follow the rules which says these 2 use the same slot. Now the governing body will likely rule on

1. If they are allowing it at all, if they don't then they are done.
2. If they allow it they need to decide if this feat overrules the existing rules or if a characters can only gain the bonus from a 2 piece set.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Luis Loza said in the product thread that he would be inclined to let you combine two items in the same slot if they were part of a set and you had the Collector's Boon feat. I suspect that this idea will be passed along to the PFS folks for a Campaign Clarification when they get around to their next update.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
David knott 242 wrote:


Luis Loza said in the product thread that he would be inclined to let you combine two items in the same slot if they were part of a set and you had the Collector's Boon feat. I suspect that this idea will be passed along to the PFS folks for a Campaign Clarification when they get around to their next update.

Given that I wrote the Collector's Boon feats with the hope that it would give us a balanced way to allow the sets into PFS, and that Luis and I had a conversation about how best to address the Irori's Meditation issue when he realized that he'd goofed, I can assure you that the org play team is aware of the clarification and will have it at the front of our minds when it comes to sanctioning and campaign clarifications for Chronicle of Legends ;)

Luis's clarification, for reference.


Bodywrap of Mighty Strikes: For each additional piece of this set you wear, this shirt can stay ignited for 1 additional round per day.

This item doesn't have daily uses, but uses per round. Was this supposed to refer to the Immolation Shirt? Will it be errata'd?

Paizo Employee Developer

The text on the Archives of Nethys appears to be incorrect and reproducing the language from the Dread Demoniac Armor. The correct language is as follows.

Irori's Trappings wrote:
Bodywrap of Mighty Strikes: For every additional piece of this set you wear, you can add this item’s enhancement to one additional attack and damage roll per round.


Awesome! Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Chronicles of Legends Irori’s Meditation Error? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.