Caster level checks and moment of prescience


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Question: moment of prescience seems to give you a bonus to any one roll, except to overcome SR (caster level checks). Or, in the case of overcoming SR, does that kind of check fall under an ability or opposed skill check? On the surface it doesn’t appear so....

Thoughts? Looking to confirm....

Grand Lodge

A caster level check is different from an ability or skill check. Moment of Prescience wouldn't apply to any caster level check.

An opposed ability check is when one creature is attempting to do something and another creature is trying to prevent that or do the opposite. Like opposed Str checks for an arm wrestling match, or a charisma check to assert their will over another.

Opposed skill checks are like a perception check to spot someone attempting to make a stealth check.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

That’s what I thought. I was 99% sure that’s how it played, but I wanted to double check. The reason being is that the way SR is described is as armor against spells, and this your “caster level check” is an attack to over come that.

So really I was just checking to see if caster level was it’s own stand-alone check or a subset of a general category of checks. Thanks for confirming!


D20PFSRD Moment of Prescience wrote:
This spell grants you a sixth sense. Once during the spell’s duration, you may choose to use its effect. This spell grants you an insight bonus equal to your caster level (maximum +25) on any single attack roll, combat maneuver check, opposed ability or skill check, or saving throw. Alternatively, you can apply the insight bonus to your AC against a single attack (even if flat-footed). Activating the effect doesn’t take an action; you can even activate it on another character’s turn. You must choose to use the moment of prescience before you make the roll it is to modify. Once used, the spell ends. You can’t have more than one moment of prescience active on you at the same time.

A caster level check is its own thing and has a DC set by the target. It is one of the hardest checks to get bonuses to. Moment of Prescience does not list caster level check as one of its instances when it works.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Yup, thanks! That’s what I thought

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Caster level checks and moment of prescience All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.