Ghost Rider Cavalier help


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Was looking at the ghost rider and it's so confusingly written. I've got two main issues that I don't see being fixed at the moment that I'm hoping to get clarification on.

1) As the ghost mount levels up, the damage for its two slams also levels up. Except it doesn't have a slam. Are the hooves its slams? But the bite stays the same? That seems unbalanced. Do the hooves and/or bite not count as slams, meaning your ghost mount only has the 1d4+3 and 1d6+1 for all 20 levels? Because the Str doesn't get any better due to it being a phantom. If that's the case why would you ever take it? It's not even remotely competent for dealing damage in battle. And I'm aware that it's basically immortal.

2) What is the point of the ghost wind ability? At 11th level, the ghost rider’s ghost mount can use air walk (as the spell, no action required) at will for up to 1 round at a time, after which it falls to the ground. One round? What can you do in one round? And then you plummet to the ground. Doesn't say it won't provoke AoO when you drop down that 10-50 feet. By 11th level I'd probably have horseshoes that do better.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

1. Use the primary attack. In this case bite.

2. There is a difference between round and turn. The round would last until the start of his next turn, which would take no action to use again. So it's at will until you decide to not use it and then you drop to the ground or something prevents you from using it.

Grand Lodge

Cavall wrote:

1. Use the primary attack. In this case bite.

2. There is a difference between round and turn. The round would last until the start of his next turn, which would take no action to use again. So it's at will until you decide to not use it and then you drop to the ground or something prevents you from using it.

1. Is that sure legit? It’ll be for PFS purposes. I couldn’t find an answer on the FAQ either.

2. That’s better sounding. It’s still a standard action though, and at the start of your turn, the round is up and you’d begin falling.


It is not a standard action. Says no action required. You simply do until you do not want to or something prevents it.

As for the bite? No. I read it wrong. Under phantoms...

"Often, an individual phantom manifests in a form that makes it appear as if it had weapons or other natural attacks. Regardless of their apparent forms, the phantom’s attacks still deal the slam attack damage listed"

So all 3 would do slam damage. Just one is primary the other is not. The primary scales as a small attack it would appear (d4 on the table) the hoof slams on the bigger table.

So it's a trade off of the original. You're most likely to hit does a little less and your secondarys do more but you have more than the normal amount for phantoms. Far as I can see.


At will abilities are always a standard action unless specified otherwise.

The problem is the phrasing of the ability is weird, since it has the no action require clause in a parenthesis before the at will. I would definetly say that it's a non action to use the ability as it doesn't make much sense otherwise.

* P.S. even if the ability is a standard action, it can be kind of useful for traveling as it's a "flutter jump".

* P.S.S. you can make it even more ghost rider by making your horse be on fire via kineticist, there might be another option (maybe of the genie prc).


Yeah I cant see the issue of it requiring an action when it says no action required. Normally a standard sure but not this one not today.


Cavall, this is probably the best explanation I have been able to find for this class. Thank you. However, I am aware that

Grand Lodge

It's kind of irksome that we still haven't gotten a final answer. Might not get one since this is 1E.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ghost Rider Cavalier help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.