Is your recovery pile faceup or facedown?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

AKA, Can you choose the order in which to recover cards in your recovery pile?

From my first read through of the new core rules, there is a section, "Dealing with cards" that states (only relevant parts shown):

Dealing with cards wrote:

"...When you draw a card from a facedown stack, ... draw from the top of the stack. When you draw from a faceup pile, ... draw a card of your choice. ...

This applies to actions other than drawing. ...

If I had an exciting turn with Seoni, casting spells to fight off several monsters (say, Firebolt and Life drain), then before ending my turn, cast Magic eye to examine what was coming next, could I choose to recover, that is, recharge the Magic Eye first, before recovering/recharging the Firebolt and Life drain spells?

From my read of the rules (and I've only gone over them once so far, and played just the intro scenario, so forgive me if I've missed something), it seems that the Recovery pile is intended to be face up, and thus you can recover in whatever order you wish. This is a fundamental change from pre-core rules where your spells (or whatever) would always be recharged (recovered) in the order that they were played.

Of course, this is all rendered irrelevant when Seoni checks off her power feat: "On your check to recharge an Arcane spell... ([x] You may instead shuffle it into your deck.)"


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I believe you can recover them in any order. At least, I haven't found anything contrary to that in the new rule book.

As for it being a face-up pile, it is listed as a pile you may look through at any time, so I believe its intended to be face-up.

Core Rule Book, "Playing Cards", pg 8 wrote:
You can look through your displayed cards, your discards, your bury pile, and your recovery pile at any time.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
eddiephlash wrote:

Of course, this is all rendered irrelevant when Seoni checks off her power feat: "On your check to recharge an Arcane spell... ([x] You may instead shuffle it into your deck.)"

On the contrary Mr. Watson. You can decide to shuffle first the spells you want to draw again soon and then recharge the others thus maximizing the chances to draw again a needed spell.


Frencois wrote:
eddiephlash wrote:

Of course, this is all rendered irrelevant when Seoni checks off her power feat: "On your check to recharge an Arcane spell... ([x] You may instead shuffle it into your deck.)"

On the contrary Mr. Watson. You can decide to shuffle first the spells you want to draw again soon and then recharge the others thus maximizing the chances to draw again a needed spell.

Clever.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The applicable rule here is "When more than one thing would happen at the same time, you may decide the order in which those things happen."

As far as whether they're faceup or facedown, we didn't specify, but since we do say "You can look through your displayed cards, your discards, your bury pile, and your recovery pile at any time," you might as well leave them faceup.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Is your recovery pile faceup or facedown? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.