[Spheres of Power] Magic Skill Bonus and multi-classing


Advice and Rules Questions


I'm writing up a character with material from a bunch of different sources, one of which being Spheres of Power, and while things like the Advanced Magical Training feat or the Gift for Magic trait can help make up for caster levels lost to multi-classing, I'm unsure if they do anything for a spherecaster's MSB.

Under the Magic Skill Bonus and Magic Skill Defense section, there's the following line:
"Any feat or ability that would normally call for a caster level check instead calls for an MSB check. Any feat or ability that normally adds to a creature’s caster level for the purposes of one of the caster level checks listed above instead adds to their MSB for that purpose."

Does this mean that anything adding to a character's general caster level also adds to his MSB? As a concrete example, would a character with 2 levels each in Incanter and Conscript and the Advanced Magical Training feat have an MSB of 2 or 3?

Lastly, are there any feats, traits or abilities that outright boost MSB?


Just missed the editing window...
Another option with the Incanter 2/Conscript 2 character is that he has an MSB of 4. Since the AMT feat reads "Treat your levels in non-casting classes as low-casting classes when determining your total caster level.", does that make each Conscript level count as a "low-casting class" when determining MSB?


Magical Skill is your total levels in Spell Casting classes, It's not directly connected to Caster Level, just class level. By taking Advanced Magical Training your non-caster class now counts as a Caster class.

So the Incanter 2/Conscript 2 has a Caster Level of 3 and a Magic Skill of +4


Greylurker wrote:

Magical Skill is your total levels in Spell Casting classes, It's not directly connected to Caster Level, just class level. By taking Advanced Magical Training your non-caster class now counts as a Caster class.

So the Incanter 2/Conscript 2 has a Caster Level of 3 and a Magic Skill of +4

Cheers, that puts the Counterspell feats back on the table for me.

As a follow-up question, does the same principle apply to the amount of spell points a caster gets?

Spell points wrote:
Each caster gains a pool of spell points equal to their class level plus their casting ability modifier. Just like with caster level, a caster adds together all their levels in Sphere casting classes when determining the size of their spell pool.

Shadow Lodge

You quoted the answer. You add all your levels in Sphere Casting together to get your total pool. To use the above example, an Incanter would have a pool of 3(2 Incanter, 1 Conscript w/AMT) plus their casting modifier.


Dragonborn3 wrote:
You quoted the answer. You add all your levels in Sphere Casting together to get your total pool. To use the above example, an Incanter would have a pool of 3(2 Incanter, 1 Conscript w/AMT) plus their casting modifier.

I think it's important to note the difference here between caster level and level in a Sphere casting class. Single-classed low-casters get just as many spell points as single-classed high-casters.

Shadow Lodge

Advanced Magical Training has this line: "If you do not possess levels in a casting class, increase your spell point pool to equal your casting ability modifier."

I would take that to mean you don't get more spell points, and since caster level and spells are separate things, this makes sense.


While it's not an official answer, the Hero Labs program gives the Incanter2/Conscript2, 2 Spell points + caster Modifier. So that at least is only counting the Incanter levels when it comes to Spell Points


Yup. Magical Training isn't quite the same as the casting class feature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / [Spheres of Power] Magic Skill Bonus and multi-classing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions