Reward for 5-P1


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Texas—Austin aka SetonAlandel

Hi all - I had a player play 5-P1 that did not actually qualify for the reward for the adventure. What's the best way for them to record the adventure?

Choose not to take the reward, then come back and replay and claim the reward later?

Take the reward now, and not apply the reward until the character qualifies?

Thanks for the answers!

Silver Crusade 2/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16 aka cartmanbeck

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If this player was within my region (online play) I would tell them to choose not to take the reward for this run-through, and play it again later for credit once they qualify.

That said, Whatever Works For Your Region(TM). :-D

1/5

Stupid question: where does it say you can choose to not take the reward from a successful Scenario your character has not played before? I was looking in the Guide but didn't see it.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Tyler Beck wrote:

If this player was within my region (online play) I would tell them to choose not to take the reward for this run-through, and play it again later for credit once they qualify.

That said, Whatever Works For Your Region(TM). :-D

The rules in the Card Guild seem to suggest that - whether you take a reward or not - you cannot receive a scenario's reward for a character if it's not their first time completing a scenario successfully.

Card Guild Guide, Page 10 wrote:

Replaying Scenarios

You can replay any Adventure Card Guild scenario as many times as you like, as long as your character is of the appropriate tier (see Appendix 1: Tier Advancement). When you replay a scenario, you do not gain the scenario, adventure, Adventure Path, or tier rewards, but you can upgrade your deck.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Texas—Austin aka SetonAlandel

Yewstance's answer seems definitive - I don't see a clause around "if you choose not to take the reward"

Seems I was confused by p.15's example of play:

Quote:
Next, Alex’s party wins Scenario 1B. The scenario reward is a random spell. Alex decides the card she drew won’t improve Lem’s deck, so she records that she took no reward.

The example still executes the reward, the checkbox is for "did the player take the reward". Looks like my player's out of luck on this character.

Thanks again for the replies!

Silver Crusade 2/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16 aka cartmanbeck

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmm... yeah, I don't know why the "Took Reward" box exists on the chronicle sheet if you can't choose to take the reward, though. I've always assumed you have the option, since the box is there.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Texas—Austin aka SetonAlandel

For reporting purposes I'm guessing - making sure the campaign is offering rewards players want to take?

Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Seattle aka zeroth_hour

I suspect the "choose not to take the reward" thing was a very old holdover from Season 0 rules, because the rewards were random boons, and it would be annoying if you could decline the boon, replay the scenario and reroll for something you liked more.

I also suspect that the 5-P1 thing was to encourage playing through the same adventure rather than jumping around (which I'm not super fond of, since this forces continuous groups that can't drop out for extended amounts of time).

It does feel like a penalty for playing a scenario though, which kind of sucks.

Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka redeux

My understanding is that regardless of whether or not you can pass on taking a reward, the replay section of the rulebook explicitly states you do not gain the reward. There is no conditional statement in there like "you do not gain a reward you have previously taken".

Having said that; I believe the intention of this scenario reward was to prevent cherry-picking scenarios across multiple seasons to gain multiple feats. The best solution is to avoid playing this until everyone qualifies for the reward. Barring that, I think a FAQ or update to the reward so that it can be activated retroactively. Perhaps instruct the player to record on their chronicle "when this character has won 6 scenarios from 5-1, 5-2, 5-3 then that character gains a power feat. cross this reward out when used"

Alternatively, the rules could be updated to clarify whether or not you can pass on taking a reward, and then update the language so that on a replay you can take a reward you have not previously taken.

Otherwise, seems to be a pretty disappointing position to be in knowing you now cannot get the power feat by RAW.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Texas—Austin aka SetonAlandel

Might be a more consistent 'fix' to put the reward conditional to the top of the "During This Scenario" section, like the final scenario of 5-6.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—San Francisco Bay Area South & West aka JohnF

I'm pretty sure that Tonya has stated that the only time you can take a scenario reward is on the first successful play-through.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

For a while now, the Guide has contained a couple of references to opting out of rewards (specifically, a checkbox on the Chronicle sheet and related text in the example that explained filling out that sheet), but the rules themselves have never actually provided such an option. The new Guide, which includes a revised Chronicle Sheet, removes these. (The sentence "Alex decides the card she drew won’t improve Lem’s deck, so she records that she took no reward" has been replaced with "Alex decides the card she drew won’t improve Lem’s deck, but she records it anyway to remind herself that she has already earned the reward for this scenario in case she ever replays it.")

Opting out of a reward is not a thing.

Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

That makes sense and I'm glad for clarification, but it doesn't explain what to do with the reward of 5-P1. Does that mean that a player that plays 5-P1 before having played 6 other scenarios will never be eligible to earn the reward?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

As currently written, I'd say yes. I'll ask if the team thinks it should be rewritten.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Reward for 5-P1 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society