Technomancer Spell Cache, does it cost an action to activate?

Rules Questions

Does the Spell Cache require a standard action "Activate an Item" or "Use a Special Ability" to activate it?

Since it is a Supernatural Ability, page 262 says "If a supernatural ability doesn’t specify what type of action is required to activate it, it requires a standard action."

Page 119, under Technomancer, says "While you don’t need your spell cache to cast your spells, once per day, you can activate your spell cache to cast any one spell you know and are capable of casting, even if you’ve expended all your spell slots for that spell’s level."

Does this mean it will take an action to retrieve the held spell and then a second action to cast the spell, or does it mean you spend one action to actually cast the spell held in the Spell Cache?

If it is just the one action, then does it count as a "Cast a Spell" action or does it count as "Use a Special Ability" action. This might make a difference when it comes to provoking AOO since Spell Cache is a supernatural ability.

The ability text says specifically you are using it to cast a spell, so it would be the cast a spell action.

You activate the spell cache to cast a spell.

The interpretation that it's a separate action would bring up too many questions that go unanswered. Would the spell need to be cast on the same turn, next turn, or anytime in the future?

So, I believe that spell cache is not in itself an action, it simply lets you cast a spell you know without spending a spell slot. You spend the action required to cast the spell in question when using this ability. AoO resolve based on the spell in question.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Technomancer Spell Cache, does it cost an action to activate? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions