Does Combat Advice Work On Summoned Monsters?


Rules Questions


So my question is if the feat Combat Advice can work on your own summoned monster if you don't share a language?

According to the text of the feat "For your ally to benefit from this feat, you must be able to clearly see your ally and the designated enemy, and your ally must be able to hear you."

And that's it. The description doesn't say it has to understand you or share a language so what would you guys say?


That is a pretty good question.

As this is the rules forum, by the rules it would work.

It may come across as bizarre, but it doesn't seem especially powerful, so it's probably not particularly exploitative.

Objections will likely come from making narrative sense, if there are any.


Seems legit. I can think of a few ways to give combat advice without sharing a language. A sharp whistle or shout to warn of danger or call attention to an opening doesn't require much of a vocabulary.


The Bardic Inspiration also works, since it is not language dependent.

/cevah

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Cevah wrote:

The Bardic Inspiration also works, since it is not language dependent.

/cevah

CRB wrote:

If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and such performances are language dependent.

...

If a bardic performance has a visual component, the targets must have line of sight to the bard for the performance to have any effect.

...

Inspire courage can use audible or visual components. The bard must choose which component to use when starting his performance.

...

Inspire competence relies on audible components.

So:

- Inspire courage: you can dance the dance of qua qua and inspire courage in some creature that doesn't understand you.
- Inspire competence is language dependant.


Curious.

SRD wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and many such performances are language dependent (as noted in the description).
AoN wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and such performances are language dependent.
PRD wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and many such performances are language dependent (as noted in the description).

Seems the legacy PRD and the SRD state many such and refer to the descriptions, while AoN states such.

/cevah

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Cevah wrote:

Curious.

SRD wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and many such performances are language dependent (as noted in the description).
AoN wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and such performances are language dependent.
PRD wrote:
Bardic Performance If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and many such performances are language dependent (as noted in the description).

Seems the legacy PRD and the SRD state many such and refer to the descriptions, while AoN states such.

/cevah

I changed with the 6th printing. :(

Well, the bard in my group will be happy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Combat Advice Work On Summoned Monsters? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.