Mithral + Masterwork interaction


Rules Questions


All Mithral items are considered masterwork so does that apply the masterwork -1 to armor check? Basically do Mithral items actually have a -4 reduction in armor check or is the masterwork rolled into the normal -3?

Given how screwy Pathfinder can be I'm not sure this an unreasonable question.

Grand Lodge

Mithral does exactly what it says it does. Mithral is already masterwork. It reduces armor check penalties by 3, increases max Dex bonus by 2 and weighs half as much.


Existing published items have stats that say mithral's bonuses already include the masterwork adjustment.

Mithral Full Plate (of Speed) - full plate normally has ACP of -6. This mithral full plate has ACP -3.

Elven Chain - chainmail normally has ACP -5. This has ACP -2.

Unless you hold that "of speed" and "elven" actually increase the armor check penalty, the material portion must reduce the penalty by exactly 3.


Syries wrote:
Mithral does exactly what it says it does. Mithral is already masterwork. It reduces armor check penalties by 3, increases max Dex bonus by 2 and weighs half as much.

^This.


As you say, the masterwork -1 is rolled into the overall -3. That's why the other numeric benefits of mithral have a value of 2, specifically max Dex is up by 2, and spell failure is down by 10% (where spell failure is measured in 5% increments). The mithral part gives -2 reduction to armour check penalties, stacking with the -1 masterwork benefits for -3 total.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mithral + Masterwork interaction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.