Gloomblade and Item Mastery feats?


Advice


So, the Gloomblade archetype for the Fighter states:

"At 7th level, a gloomblade can create (and maintain) two shadow weapons at a time as a move action; if he does, each weapon has an enhancement bonus 1 lower than normal. If a gloomblade creates only one weapon, it gains a weapon special ability of his choice (chosen upon creation); the ability must be valid for the shadow weapon’s weapon type and must be chosen from defending, flaming, frost, keen, ghost touch, merciful, shock, thundering, or vicious. (Additional special abilities might qualify, at the GM’s discretion.)"

How useful would the Item Mastery feats from the Magic Tactics Toolbox be?

For example, the Ghost Touch property requires the Plane Shift spell for creation. And the Teleportation Mastery feat requires a Conjuration of at least 3rd level.

Teleportation Mastery feat reads:

"Prerequisites: Use Magic Device 4 ranks, base Fortitude save bonus +6.

Benefit: You can cause an item that has a conjuration spell of 3rd level or higher in its construction requirements to cast dimension door. You can use this ability once per day, plus an additional time per day at base Fortitude save bonus +9 and +12."

There's also making a Vicious weapon and using Curse Mastery, or a Merciful weapon and using Curative Mastery (from the Healer's Handbook), or keeping it simple with a Flaming weapon and Weapon Evoker Master/Energy Mastery. Or you could make Keen Weapons and use Flight Mastery.

Does this seem stupid? After taking Gloomstorm at level 4, there aren't that many feats that would be "required" for a good Gloomblade. Even the normal Weapon Focus/Weapon Specialization feat tree doesn't seem worth it because you can have any simple and martial melee weapon at any time.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Item Mastery Feats are basically giving you a few spells per day at the cost of a feat, provided you have some item that meets the requirement (which, on standard wealth, is usually straightforward enough). If you have the feats available to do it, they're worthwhile. Flight Mastery is particularly good for melee weapon specialists, because if you can't fly you're pretty much useless in aerial combat and that's a pretty common situation.

You probably don't want to go crazy and take only item master feats, but two or three of them is perfectly fine.


My inquiry is more along the lines of the practicality of Item Mastery feats with a Gloomblade. Assuming that you don't multiclass (only multiclass into full BaB classes), then the caster level for your Item Mastery feats is your character level.

Does anyone forsee an issue with using Item Mastery feats with a Gloomblade's Shadow Weapon?


OP: You are barking up the wrong tree. All the Item Mastery feats are of the form:
You can cause an item that has a XXXX spell of ### level or higher listed in its construction requirements to cast XXXX.

Your shadow weapons do not have construction requirements, so cannot drive these feats.

If you want to know how they work for anyone, check out the thread Item Mastery Feats & the Magic Items That Fuel Them - A Study. I think Ability Mastery's +2 Enh to a stat is quite useful, and Weapon Evoker Mastery can bump the energy bonus of a weapon to be buffed by 1d4 for a swift. Further down the thread are various items that satisfy the requirements for the least cost, as well as a list of items < 10,000 gp.

/cevah


...Doesn't Ability Mastery basically just double the benefit of your belt? You can't stack it on top of itself obviously but you can turn a +2 STR belt into a +2 STR/+2 [A Different Attribute]. I'm surprised I've never heard of that feat before, it seems pretty exceptional.


It's nice but not as awesome as it may sound - the primary physical ability score is way more important then the secondary one. It's either a +2 con or +2 dex. Using it for con is basically Toughness with an additional trait (+1 to fort saves), that's nice but not overwhelming, especially since you can usually take it not before 5th level. The characters that could really use the fort bonus because they have a weak progression have to wait until 13th level to select the feat in the first place, at that point, there should be better things to do with feat slots (like gearing up for Spell Perfection).
The worth of using it for dex depends on whether you have room to spare in your armor's max dex. +1 AC, +1 Ref and +1 Init (plus a +1 to a few skills) is even more than a feat plus a trait's worth for pure numbers, but of course Ref is the by far least important save and many classes don't really have feats to spare.

Regarding other item mastery feats: You shouldn't need anything for Flight Mastery, any stat belt/headband, or Amulet of Natural Armor, works for that.
Flickering Step is better than Teleportation Mastery if you're willing to invest the skill ranks. Most of the other item mastery feats aren't really worth it (especially since we can't select them on the fly, as we can't use Warrior Spirit).

The ones with a save basically have a way too low DC to be useful. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, the DC is 10 + con mod + the spell's level, e.g. 4 for Curse Mastery's Bestow Curse. That's a total DC of ~17, at a level (9th) where the average slightly tough enemy's will save bonus is +8 - that's a 40% chance, once per day (that's for CR=player level, not even a real proper boss). By the time you have two daily uses, the chance to land them is 10%.


Yes, Ability Mastery gives the same bonus as a belt. It it not limited to Str/Con/Dex, but can also do Int/Wis/Cha. Each day you choose what stat to boost. If you play a MAD character, it can be good for a long time.

/cevah


Cevah wrote:

OP: You are barking up the wrong tree. All the Item Mastery feats are of the form:

You can cause an item that has a XXXX spell of ### level or higher listed in its construction requirements to cast XXXX.

Your shadow weapons do not have construction requirements, so cannot drive these feats.

Weapon Evoker Mastery says:

"Benefit: As a swift action while wielding a magic weapon with a weapon special ability that deals extra acid, cold, fire, electricity, or sonic damage on a hit, you deal an additional 1d4 points of damage of the same type with each hit you make with that weapon for 1 round."

I guess what I'm getting at is that a +1 Ghost Touch battleaxe (for example) manifested by a levle 7 Gloomblade is the treated the same as a +1 Ghost Touch battleaxe that's bought from a store.

I suppose a follow-up inquiry would be "If a class feature adds a weapon/armor/shield property to an item (such as a Paladin's Divine Bond with a weapon), does that count as meeting the construction requirement?"

Would this be a RAW vs RAI issue?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Xaimum Mafire wrote:
Would this be a RAW vs RAI issue?

I'd say it's an "ask your GM" issue. Alternatively/additionally, you could write Isabelle Lee a PM and ask for her (unofficial) insight what she as the writer envisioned (linking this thread in the PM so we can see her answer). I did that in the past.

@Cevah: The second mental ability score is even less valuable than the second physical one. Unless you really want to use an Arcanist exploit with a saving throw or something, I guess. Not saying the feat was bad or anything, I just don't know if I would clal it "pretty exceptional".

Dark Archive

Xaimum Mafire wrote:
Cevah wrote:

OP: You are barking up the wrong tree. All the Item Mastery feats are of the form:

You can cause an item that has a XXXX spell of ### level or higher listed in its construction requirements to cast XXXX.

Your shadow weapons do not have construction requirements, so cannot drive these feats.

Weapon Evoker Mastery says:

"Benefit: As a swift action while wielding a magic weapon with a weapon special ability that deals extra acid, cold, fire, electricity, or sonic damage on a hit, you deal an additional 1d4 points of damage of the same type with each hit you make with that weapon for 1 round."

I guess what I'm getting at is that a +1 Ghost Touch battleaxe (for example) manifested by a levle 7 Gloomblade is the treated the same as a +1 Ghost Touch battleaxe that's bought from a store.

There's your problem. A gloomblade battle axe is not the same as a store bought one. It has no monetary value and no construction cost. It doesn't have spell prereqs to create.


I was mostly asking for Pathfinder Society. Rule Zero reigns in most of the home games that I play in, and in my opinion, Item Mastery feats should work with any magic item that has an equivalent in a book.

However, my opinion doesn't matter for PFS, so that's why I'm asking here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Gloomblade and Item Mastery feats? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.