Ampoule of false blood and crossblooded sorc


Rules Questions


Each ampoule is attuned to a specific sorcerer bloodline. If a sorcerer (or other creature with sorcerer bloodline powers, such as from the Eldritch Heritage feat in Ultimate Magic) wears the ampoule for at least one day, she loses her existing bloodline powers and gains the bloodline powers of the ampoule’s bloodline, using her sorcerer level to determine the powers gained. The ampoule has no effect on the sorcerer’s bonus spells, bloodline arcana, or bonus feats from her original bloodline (which remain unchanged).
Bloodline Powers: At 1st, 3rd, 9th, 15th, and 20th levels, a crossblooded sorcerer gains one of the two new bloodline powers available to her at that level. She may instead select a lower-level bloodline power she did not choose in place of one of these higher-level powers.

Would an Ampoule of False Blood override the selected Bloodline Powers of a Crossblooded Sorcerer?

I believe it would override their powers, but I'm unsure, as it might just not work for a crossblooded sorcerer (or do wierd things).

And how would it interact with a bloodline familiar?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
willuwontu wrote:
Would an Ampoule of False Blood override the selected Bloodline Powers of a Crossblooded Sorcerer?

Yes it would. It says you lose the powers of your bloodline, and that includes the modified powers of crossblooded.

If you had a familiar from your bloodline, it would cease to be a familiar and become a normal animal (no different than if you'd retrained).


Dasrak wrote:
If you had a familiar from your bloodline, it would cease to be a familiar and become a normal animal (no different than if you'd retrained).

By bloodline familiar, I meant the option that swaps the level 1 bloodline power for a familiar. Would it still be overridden? If it is, can I swap out the level 1 bloodline power of the new bloodline?


willuwontu wrote:
Dasrak wrote:
If you had a familiar from your bloodline, it would cease to be a familiar and become a normal animal (no different than if you'd retrained).
By bloodline familiar, I meant the option that swaps the level 1 bloodline power for a familiar. Would it still be overridden? If it is, can I swap out the level 1 bloodline power of the new bloodline?

It would be overridden. You'd lose the familiar and gain the 1st-level bloodline power of the false bloodline. You wouldn't be able to swap that power for a bloodline familiar because your bloodline bonus spells remain unchanged. If you drank the ampoule to really change your bloodline, then you could go either way.


How does this function with archetypes like Razmiran Priest then?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Technically speaking the Razmiran Priest replaces rather than modifies the bloodline spell and 9th level power features, so you keep the archetype features and don't get those features.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ampoule of false blood and crossblooded sorc All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.