Can I cast a Standard and a Quickened spell during surprise round?


Rules Questions


Can I cast a Standard and a Quickened spell during surprise round?
Or...can you take a Swift action during the surprise round might be a better way to put it.

I dont see anything that explicitly says I cant but I wanted to make sure.

Wakrob


1 person marked this as a favorite.
If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard or move action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs.
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.

Yes.


willuwontu wrote:
If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard or move action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs.
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
Yes.

+1


I would have said no to this if it weren't for willuwontu and MrCharisma's responses.... wow, this is really interesting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can I cast a Standard and a Quickened spell during surprise round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.