Free actions clairification


Rules Questions


Okay the question is can (as a free action) deactivate a Ring of Force Shield (as a free action as described in UE p. 171), make an attack (in my case 2 claw attacks), then reactivate the Ring of Force Shield as another second free action at the end of my attack? Free actions read as follows: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free.


Do a search on ring of force shield on the forum. You'll get a whole lot of argument and not much in the way of satisfaction.

Edit: Heh, a bit of Google-fu shows that I've changed my mind on the subject multiple times over the years. "I am large, I contain multitudes."


3 people marked this as a favorite.
blahpers wrote:
Edit: Heh, a bit of Google-fu shows that I've changed my mind on the subject multiple times over the years. "I am large, I contain multitudes."

Heh, well you're blaphers, not blapher.


In the end it's a GM call what is a reasonable limit.


Since free actions are supposed to take place while you are taking another action I generally do not allow them after all other actions have been completed. If a player still has a swift action available I may allow them to perform a free action as a swift actions, but that is a house rule.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
Since free actions are supposed to take place while you are taking another action I generally do not allow them after all other actions have been completed. If a player still has a swift action available I may allow them to perform a free action as a swift actions, but that is a house rule.

While free actions can be taken while you are taking another action, there is no requirement that they only be taken during another action.

This FAQ would disagree with your ruling that once you've made your attacks (or taken all your other actions) that you can no longer take free actions before your turn ends.


I would be fine as a GM with what your asking especially since that's only using 2 free actions.


Cavall wrote:
In the end it's a GM call what is a reasonable limit.

If two per round is above the limit, a significant portion of all characters immediately stop working.

Dark Archive

I see no reason why this wouldn't work. A GM could specifically rule against it if they wanted, GM's can rule against anything they want, but as written, this works just fine and you'd need no reason to specifically ask your GM anymore than you'd need to ask your GM if you're allowed to reload your bow more than once per turn.


Derklord wrote:
Cavall wrote:
In the end it's a GM call what is a reasonable limit.
If two per round is above the limit, a significant portion of all characters immediately stop working.

Then ask your GM beforehand. Seems simple enough to understand what a GM considers a limit by simply asking for that limit and explaining what actions you want to take.

If 2 actions are free but they both require a short sentence be shouted out, a GM could limit that even when another player takes 3 free actions.

Again, simple enough to understand once you ask and explain why. No one should be surprised at the table, least of all the arbitrator of those rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's no special reason it wouldn't work. I wouldn't be shocked if a DM decided it was too many incompatible free actions for one round, but I think the intention was likely for something like this case anyway. Otherwise, why have it be free actions for both in the first place?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Free actions clairification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.