Samsarans Mystic Past Life + Psychic Bloodline question


Rules Questions


By taking the Samsaran Alternative Racial Ability, Mystic Past Life

"You can add spells from another spellcasting class to the spell list of your current spellcasting class. You add a number of spells equal to 1 + your spellcasting class’s key ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, and so on). The spells must be the same type (arcane or divine) as the spellcasting class you’re adding them to. For example, you could add divine power to your druid class spell list, but not to your wizard class spell list because divine power is a divine spell. These spells do not have to be spells you can cast as a 1st-level character. The number of spells granted by this ability is set at 1st level. Changes to your ability score do not change the number of spells gained. This racial trait replaces shards of the past."

I can add psychic spells to the Sorcerer/Wizard List

If I then decide to multiclass into a wizard, can that wizard pick up those psychic spells because they are now on the Sorcerer/Wizard List or is it effectively a different Sorcerer/Wizard List?

I ask because I saw someone take the Psychic Sorcer 1/Wizard X to get, Glimpse the Akashic, and just curious how that worked mechanically, and if how I see the mechanics of that working is correct


Assuming it works (particularly anal people may argue that arcane or divine are listed but not psychic) you add spells to your spell list as a psychic bloodline sorcerer, not to the sorc/wiz spell list. MPL doesn't change the sorc/wiz spell list as a whole, just that of 'your current spellcasting class'.


avr wrote:
Assuming it works (particularly anal people may argue that arcane or divine are listed but not psychic) you add spells to your spell list as a psychic bloodline sorcerer, not to the sorc/wiz spell list. MPL doesn't change the sorc/wiz spell list as a whole, just that of 'your current spellcasting class'.

Okay so there's no way to cast high level psychic spells with only a Sorcerer dip then, that's a shame. Thanks


avr wrote:
Assuming it works (particularly anal people may argue that arcane or divine are listed but not psychic) you add spells to your spell list as a psychic bloodline sorcerer, not to the sorc/wiz spell list. MPL doesn't change the sorc/wiz spell list as a whole, just that of 'your current spellcasting class'.

Some also argue that since sorcerer as a class is arcane, you can only choose from other arcane classes to add to your list, despite you being a psychic caster from bloodline. Similar to how heirloom weapon doesn't make you proficient with all weapons of that type.


so - it is campaign dependent.

PFS limits things like this the most as they are open to abuse. You can pick up spells from the same casting type(arcane, divine, psychic) only. So if you're a wizard, you can only pick from an arcane caster list(excluding alchemist as 'they don't cast')... {no comment}. Have a HIGH primary casting ability score so you get the most bang for your one time buck. BTW you still have to scribe and pay for them as normal.
For arcane (choose bonded obj amulet), witch is probably your best list to poach at 2@1st, 1@2nd, 1@3rd, 1@4th (spread them out!). Cure Light Wounds is a must.
For divine casters, druid, ranger, paladin are excellent lists.
Psychic casters need divergent lists and the lists are too similar. Probably occultist, mesmerist depending on what class you start with.

In a home game you can probably poach any list. Go for druid for barkskin and thorny entanglement. Wizard lists has a lot of great spells. Witch has some decent debuffs.
I'd talk to your home game GM and see if you can wangle 1 spell per spell level. Yes it's worse at first but better in the long run.


I would agree with others. You can add psychic spells to your sorcerer list, because, with the psychic bloodline, you case Psychic Spells, not Arcane spells, but since they are all psychic Spells, you can't add them to your Wizard, because wizards still cast Arcane Spells.

Now, I wonder, do bloodline spells (at least those that are still for Arcane Casters), and Patron Spells all count as Arcane spells for this racial trait?

And do Domain Spells count as Divine Spells for this racial trait?

Also, what about odd archetypes that change the caster types, but not the spell list itself?

I think you might be able to find what you are looking for without resorting to wild theories.

Liberty's Edge

Bloodline spells, etc. do not count towards arcane spells. You do not get advantages from someone else's class abilities.


all imported spells are cast as the primary class's style, aka a Wizard casts an imported Cure Light Wounds as an arcane spell with verbal, somatic, and material components or foci if it has them or similar things to them.

I think the decision in PFS to restrict it to the same class type was to minimize changes. A home game GM has more leeway and control. The original verbage in the race option clearly did not imply such a restriction.


Azothath wrote:

all imported spells are cast as the primary class's style, aka a Wizard casts an imported Cure Light Wounds as an arcane spell with verbal, somatic, and material components or foci if it has them or similar things to them.

I think the decision in PFS to restrict it to the same class type was to minimize changes. A home game GM has more leeway and control. The original verbage in the race option clearly did not imply such a restriction.

The original ability has always had the verbage that restricted to same casting type.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Azothath wrote:

all imported spells are cast as the primary class's style, aka a Wizard casts an imported Cure Light Wounds as an arcane spell with verbal, somatic, and material components or foci if it has them or similar things to them.

I think the decision in PFS to restrict it to the same class type was to minimize changes. A home game GM has more leeway and control. The original verbage in the race option clearly did not imply such a restriction.

Quote:

[PFS Legal] Mystic Past Life (Su)

Source Advanced Race Guide pg. 198
You can add spells from another spellcasting class to the spell list of your current spellcasting class. You add a number of spells equal to 1 + your spellcasting class’s key ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, and so on). The spells must be the same type (arcane or divine) as the spellcasting class you’re adding them to. For example, you could add divine power to your druid class spell list, but not to your wizard class spell list because divine power is a divine spell. These spells do not have to be spells you can cast as a 1st-level character. The number of spells granted by this ability is set at 1st level. Changes to your ability score do not change the number of spells gained. This racial trait replaces shards of the past.


Azothath wrote:

all imported spells are cast as the primary class's style, aka a Wizard casts an imported Cure Light Wounds as an arcane spell with verbal, somatic, and material components or foci if it has them or similar things to them.

I think the decision in PFS to restrict it to the same class type was to minimize changes. A home game GM has more leeway and control. The original verbage in the race option clearly did not imply such a restriction.

lol... so I have to retract that last paragraph (what I get for not fact checking). At least someone is reading my posts... lol


So, I guess a Psychic can't grab sorcerer spells just because there is of the Psychic Bloodline.

And Druids can't grab spells from the Domain list.


You can add spells from another spellcasting class to the spell list of your current spellcasting class. You add a number of spells equal to 1 + your spellcasting class’s key ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, and so on). The spells must be the same type (arcane or divine) as the spellcasting class you’re adding them to. For example, you could add divine power to your druid class spell list, but not to your wizard class spell list because divine power is a divine spell. These spells do not have to be spells you can cast as a 1st-level character. The number of spells granted by this ability is set at 1st level. Changes to your ability score do not change the number of spells gained. This racial trait replaces shards of the past.

I would say that similar to how things that select a specific weapon (ex. Heirloom Weapon) vs. a general type of weapon (ex. Weapon Focus), this selects a general spellcasting class (ex. Sorcerer) you have and not a specific version of a spellcasting class (ex. Psychic Bloodline Sorcerer). Therefore, as a psychic bloodline sorcerer, you can select spells from arcane spellcaster lists, not psychic spellcaster lists.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Samsarans Mystic Past Life + Psychic Bloodline question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.