Question about Wiz / Sorc Spellslinger Arcane Bond


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hey folks!

Recently, I started thinking about making a new Spellslinger based around a Wizard with Spellslinger archetype at Level 1 and then using Arcane Bloodline Sorceror for the remaining levels. During the creation I had developed some questions regarding Arcane Bond which I researched. Through the research there seemed to be 3 facts regarding Wiz/Sorc Arcane Bond.

1. You can't have an Arcane Bond and Familiar
2. You can't have 2 Arcane Bonds ( 1 from Wiz and 1 from Sorceror Arcane Bloodline)
3. The effects for the Arcane Bond for Wiz/Sorceror "stack" with each other.

Point number 3 is where my question comes into play. As a Spellslinger my Arcane Bond is replaced by the Arcane Gun feature. So, when I get the Arcane Bond ability from the Arcane Bloodline Sorceror, does this mean that my Arcane Gun will be able to have one Sorceror spell stored in it as a free cast like a normal Arcane Bonded object would?

Appreciate any thoughts on this and thanks in advance.

UttiniDaKilrJawa


Spellslinger doesn’t have an arcane bond. Arcane sorcerer could take familiar or item (which could be the gun) for bond. There is no wizard bonded item to stack levels with, so that’s not a thing.


That. Arcane gun is completely separate from arcane bond. They do not interact with each other at all.


UttiniDaKilrJawa wrote:

Recently, I started thinking about making a new Spellslinger based around a Wizard with Spellslinger archetype at Level 1 and then using Arcane Bloodline Sorceror for the remaining levels. During the creation I had developed some questions regarding Arcane Bond which I researched. Through the research there seemed to be 3 facts regarding Wiz/Sorc Arcane Bond.

1. You can't have an Arcane Bond and Familiar

The familiar IS your Arcane Bond.

Arcane Bond (Ex or Sp) wrote:
At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object.
UttiniDaKilrJawa wrote:
2. You can't have 2 Arcane Bonds ( 1 from Wiz and 1 from Sorceror Arcane Bloodline)

Under the Arcane Bloodline

Bloodline Powers: wrote:

Magic comes naturally to you, but as you gain levels you must take care to prevent the power from overwhelming you.

Arcane Bond (Su): At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level. Your sorcerer levels stack with any wizard levels you possess when determining the powers of your familiar or bonded object. Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known (unlike a wizard’s bonded item, which allows him to cast any one spell in his spellbook). This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.

You only get one bond unless some feat or class feature states otherwise.

UttiniDaKilrJawa wrote:

3. The effects for the Arcane Bond for Wiz/Sorceror "stack" with each other.

Point number 3 is where my question comes into play. As a Spellslinger my Arcane Bond is replaced by the Arcane Gun feature. So, when I get the Arcane Bond ability from the Arcane Bloodline Sorceror, does this mean that my Arcane Gun will be able to have one Sorceror spell stored in it as a free cast like a normal Arcane Bonded object would?

Appreciate any thoughts on this and thanks in advance.

No. No spell is stored. The free cast is from the class that gave you the Arcane Bond, so no spells from the spellsinger set can be done. While you can use the bond to cast one of youe Sorcerer's spells known, those are the only spells you can free cast. You also prepare spells for the spellsinger as per a wizard of the level would normally get. Your spells known and spells castable as a Sorcerer is as a Sorcerer of the levels you have.

These Wizard and Sorcerer levels do not stack.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Question about Wiz / Sorc Spellslinger Arcane Bond All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.