Boon Question: Do I have to pay the cost for this or can a fallen ally reimburse me for components later? (SPOILERS)


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge *

From the Hao Jin Heirophant 10-11 chronicle:

Boon:
Meditations of the Sacred Flower: The sacred flower of the Sunsu Godae is rumored to have many powers: the
ability to connect a believer to their deity, to compel action, and even to return the dead to life. You can cross this
boon off this Chronicle sheet to use one of the following spells as a spell-like ability with a caster level equal to
your character level: commune, mark of justice, or raise dead. The casting time for the spell-like-ability is 10 minutes.
To use raise dead, you must first infuse the flower with diamond dust worth 5,000 gp

If I want to use this on a fallen ally, do I need to pay the cost for it by myself before anything happens and have it on hand as an emergency? Or can I have the ally agree to pay me back after I use it? Usually allies can chip in for this type of thing, but I'm not sure how it works for the boon.

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

If the ally has diamond dust on their character, I would allow it to be contributed to the cost. No different than using a potion or wand charge. Paying back is a less clear answer.

Scarab Sages ** Venture-Agent, Oregon—Portland aka TomParker

I'd think this falls under the section on Death in the Guide.

PFS Guide wrote:
He can be raised by a character of appropriate class and level seated at his table by paying all costs associated with the resurrection.

This doesn't seem any different than if you were a cleric casting Raise Dead.

***** ⦵⦵⦵

You can't pay them back LATER but any money you have on your corpse at the time can be taken out of your pocket and put towards the cost. What your player decides to do represents whatever stipulations your character had in their will.

(I just assume pathfinders carry all of their spare cash in diamond dust)

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

BigNorseWolf wrote:
(I just assume pathfinders carry all of their spare cash in diamond dust)

I had this very conversation on Saturday. Somehow over half the players in my Tier 12-13 table were unaware that you needed the material components for a spell on hand. One player even said "it's a PFS rule that you just deduct component costs from your money when you use them." I have no idea how this misinformation spreads.

Fortunately the rogue DID keep all (but a couple of thousand) of his money in diamond dust and was able to supply the material component. The alchemist used the rogue's diamond dust as a component for his infused restoration.

That's relevant to your question, Lyoto. Anyone can supply the diamond dust, and the party can even pool the diamond dust they have on hand in any proportions they want. But none of the players can be "paid back" later.

Liberty's Edge *** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

If the spell is being cast at the end of the adventure I would have no problem letting the character receiving the benefit pay the cost.

If the spell was done mid-adventure than the party would need to have the necessary components or be in a place where they could access their spare funds.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Boon Question: Do I have to pay the cost for this or can a fallen ally reimburse me for components later? (SPOILERS) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.