Deflect Arrows vs. Clustered shot.


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Class Deck, Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Clustered Shot lets an archer combine his damage into 1 total before applying it to the target.
Deflect Arrows lets you deflect one ranged attack that would hit so that it misses.

Since the special effect of Clustered Shot is that all the arrows are striking the target at the same spot, would Deflect Arrows apply to the group of arrows, or just one of them?


Just one attack. If that attack happens to be with 2 arrows (like multishot was used) both are blocked. And technically speaking you're suppose to determine with each shot if you want to block this one, which happens before you roll damage for said attack, but after you determine if it hits.


Tim Statler wrote:

Clustered Shot lets an archer combine his damage into 1 total before applying it to the target.

Deflect Arrows lets you deflect one ranged attack that would hit so that it misses.

Since the special effect of Clustered Shot is that all the arrows are striking the target at the same spot, would Deflect Arrows apply to the group of arrows, or just one of them?

Deflect Arrows applies to one ranged attack. Clustered Shots specifies that you make multiple ranged attacks and then add up the hits. Ergo Deflect Arrows does not deflect the group (which would constitute deflecting those multiple ranged attacks), just one arrow.


Just one. The arrows are fired in succession, not all at once.


It would, however, block Many Shot. As it actually is one attack, negated by deflect arrows. So that is something.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Deflect Arrows vs. Clustered shot. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.