Fleshwarped Tear of Nuruu'gal


Rules Questions


Hello, I have a question about symbiosis.

Quote:

Creating a Fleshwarped Creature

“Fleshwarped” is an acquired template that can be added to any corporeal creature. The resulting creature retains all of the base creature’s statistics and special abilities except as noted here.

CR: +1, unless the fleshwarping weakens the creature’s primary means of attacking and defending.

Special Abilities: A fleshwarped creature gains a single special attack, defense, or quality chosen by its creator—typically a physical ability, such as +2 to natural armor, a new natural attack like a bite or a tentacle attack, a new movement mode, a new sense, or an ability such as a breath weapon, ferocity, or grab. The new ability should be comparable to those of other monsters of the base creature’s CR.

Abilities: A fleshwarped creature gains a +4 bonus on one ability score and a –4 penalty on two other ability scores, as chosen by its creator.

Skills: The fleshwarped creature gains a +4 racial bonus on any one Strength– or Dexterity-based skill, as chosen by its creator.

Quote:

Symbiosis (Ex) As part of a constrict attack, a tear of Nuruu’gal can attempt to forcefully inhabit a humanoid victim’s body. A DC 21 Fortitude save resists this intrusion and renders immunity to that ooze’s symbiosis ability for 24 hours; failure means the ooze spends a full-round action inhabiting its new host. Once absorbed, the ooze grants incredible boons to willing hosts, or slowly incinerates unwilling victims. A willing host ceases aging, is sustained as if wearing a ring of sustenance, and becomes sterile. He or she also gains the fire subtype, spell resistance, and telepathic abilities of the tear of Nuruu’gal. A host can use the creature’s spell-like abilities, with save DCs calculated using the host’s Hit Dice and Charisma score, although daily limits of powers still apply. Damage dealt to the host body does not harm the ooze.

Unwilling victims are granted no abilities, and are instead tortured with searing pain. Victims take automatic burn damage each round, and must succeed on a DC 21 Fortitude save or become nauseated for 1d4 rounds. While this occurs, the ooze may telepathically appeal to the host for control of the body to prevent further pain (treat control as magic jar, with no receptacle required). The ooze may vacate the body of a host as a full-round action, bursting forth in a protoplasmic expulsion, dealing double burn damage.

A victim may attempt to expel the creature from his or her body as a full-round action with a DC 21 Fortitude save, but each attempt results in automatic burn damage from the ooze, and damage from the creature’s violent exit if successful (as if the ooze had left voluntarily). Remove curse expels the creature, if the caster succeeds on a DC 21 caster level check. The save DCs are Constitution-based.

If a fleshwarped tear of Nuruu'gal has the regeneration with the fleshwarped creature template, will the host gain the regeneration also ?

Same question with morphic body, morphic weapons for example.

Thanks to your future answer.


No, the creature lists what is gained by a host, regeneration is not one of those things.


It's normal that the ability is not in the list because the base creature hasn't the ability.


Waldham wrote:
It's normal that the ability is not in the list because the base creature hasn't the ability.

Yes. It still doesn't grant regeneration.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

the host gains 4 very specific things; 1. the Fire Subtype, 2. SR, 3. The telepathic abilities of the Tear, and 4. the Tear's SLA's; so unless the Tear got its regeneration from one of these 4 things, it would not transfer to the host.


If the tear has no subtype fire, telepathic abilities, how does it function ?


Waldham wrote:
It's normal that the ability is not in the list because the base creature hasn't the ability.

Totally correct. I would houserule that it gave you Regeneration, but that's just my gming. Ask your GM, but by RAW, the answer is no, it would not grant Regen. Great attempt though! I'm going to have to remember this thread for later:)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fleshwarped Tear of Nuruu'gal All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.