Rondelero Swashbuckler Large falcata

Rules Questions

so the Rondelero Swashbuckler has the following ability.

Falcata Emphasis (Ex): At 1st level, a rondelero swashbuckler is proficient with falcatasUE and can treat a falcata as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for the purposes of the swashbuckler’s finesse as well as all feats and class abilities that refer to such a weapon. This ability replaces the derring-do deed.

would this allow him to use a large size falcata in 2 hands and treat it as a 1handed piercing weapon?

Maybe? But you do not count as having a free hand for feats or deeds that require that. Compare the wording to bladed brush on that.

Yeah I dont see that paying off so well, for the reasons Java mentioned

If you're wielding a large falcata you're most likely str based

I see nothing preventing you from using the following deeds while wielding two handed

parry and riposte:
Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 57): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

precise strike:
Precise Strike (Ex) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 57): At 3rd level, while she has at least 1 panache point, a swashbuckler gains the ability to strike precisely with a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon (though not natural weapon attacks), adding her swashbuckler level to the damage dealt. To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield other than a buckler. She can even use this ability with thrown light or onehanded piercing melee weapons, so long as the target is within 30 feet of her. Any creature that is immune to sneak attacks is immune to the additional damage granted by precise strike, and any item or ability that protects a creature from critical hits also protects a creature from the additional damage of a precise strike. This additional damage is precision damage, and isn’t multiplied on a critical hit.

As a swift action, a swashbuckler can spend 1 panache point to double her precise strike’s damage bonus on the next attack. This benefit must be used before the end of her turn, or it is lost. This deed’s cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the amount of panache points a deed costs (such as the Signature Deed feat).

In fact a str based should be better at riposting as they are most likely to be enlarged and not take size penalties to the riposte vs larger enemies

You see nothing preventing those deeds while two handing?

So the words
"To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand"

What's that mean then

My bad... You're right. No precise strike while two handing... But parry and riposte is still viable

So going for a one level dip in rondelero is good for the ewp and riposte whether you want to two hand using dex or str

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rondelero Swashbuckler Large falcata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.