Polymorph and naked Androids


Rules Questions


Hi everyone,

I have an issue when polymorphing Androids into Humanoids. Android Constructed racial trait states that "For effects targeting creatures by type, androids count as both humanoids and constructs (whichever effect is worse)."
Polymorph doesn't target creatures by type, but applies different effects depending on the creature type.
Also, hard to know which one is "worse" in the case of Polymorph, as it's annoying to lose all your equipment but sometimes it's nice also to hide it or to protect your armor from harm.
But, if we consider Androids as Constructs, it means that my friend Android ends up naked... Now, it starts to be really unsettling :D

And then, you can look at Borais which are Undead but who can also be considered as Humanoids, and you end up with a headache.

How do you think Polymorph should interact with these 2 races?
Because Polymorph doesn't target creatures by type, I would just consider Androids as Humanoids and Borais as Undead. Still, it's sad to polymorph a Borai into it's original race and still lose all his equipment...


First off, you want to check the errata.

It adjusts the "whatever is worse" phrase to say "whatever is worse for detrimental effects" and "whatever is better for beneficial effects".

"When determining what abilities affect an android, and how, replace the first sentence of the constructed ability with the following. "For effects targeting creatures by type, androids count as both constructs and humanoids (whichever type allows an ability to affect them for abilities that affect only one type, and whichever is worse for abilities that affect both types).""

I'm not sure this makes life any better here though. :) Is the android getting polymorphed willingly or unwillingly? Lacking the spell description handy, I'm not really sure.


Well, the FAQ entry doesn't help much... Polymorph can affect both types. And it still says that I should choose the worse effect, which, in case of Polymorph, is not easy to determine.

Polymorph: "You change a willing target’s shape into a predetermined polymorphed form of your choice."

Under Polymorphing rules: "If the polymorph form granted by a spell is of the same creature type as the target’s true form"


The intent for Androids is that they are maximally targeted. If it can affect either a humanoid or a technological construct, it works on them.


Yeah, but the question is not if it works on them, but if they are considered Humanoid or Constructs or both of them or none of them.
It's because Polymorph polymorphs your equipment if you change type. But what is an Android's type?


SuperBidi wrote:

Yeah, but the question is not if it works on them, but if they are considered Humanoid or Constructs or both of them or none of them.

It's because Polymorph polymorphs your equipment if you change type. But what is an Android's type?

While I don't think it's the intent, the above quote says 'whichever is worse for an effect that targets both types'

So I suppose RAW, the GM determines if it's better or worse for an android to keep their equipment or merge it each time it's cast and go from there.

Seems silly.


SuperBidi wrote:
Under Polymorphing rules: "If the polymorph form granted by a spell is of the same creature type as the target’s true form"

The more I read it and the more I think the answer is: An Android is a Humanoid. If you ask the question: Are a Human and an Android of the same creature type, the answer is yes. You can't say that, because of Constructed, an Android is a Construct as it's not the case. An Android is a Humanoid. It is also a Construct.

For me, it falls under the "whichever type allows an ability to affect them for abilities that affect only one type" from the FAQ.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Polymorph and naked Androids All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.