Telekinetic blast-improvised weapon etc.


Rules Questions


hi, i'm here to ask how the telekinetic blast interact with the improvised weapon

in particular, the telekinetic blast say that :

".....Alternatively, you can loosen the strands of aether in order to deal damage to both the object and the target as though you had thrown the object yourself (instead of dealing your normal blast damage). You substitute your Constitution modifier for your Strength modifier if throwing the object would have added your Strength modifier on the damage roll, and you don’t take the –4 penalty on the attack roll for throwing an object that wasn’t designed to be thrown. In this case, the object’s special effects apply (including effects from its materials), and if the object is a weapon, you must be proficient with it and able to wield it with one hand; otherwise, the item deals damage as a one-handed improvised weapon for a creature of your size."

https://www.aonprd.com/KineticistTalentsDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Telekinetic%2 0Blast

so, if i have:
1) improvisational focus(alias, improvised weapon competence)
https://www.aonprd.com/FeatDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Improvisational%20Focus

2) all 3 shikigami style chain feat, (increase the "size" of impovised weapon that i use)
https://aonprd.com/FeatDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Shikigami%20Style

3)Gloves of Improvised Might +5 (amulet of mighty fist for improvised weapon)
https://www.aonprd.com/MagicWondrousDisplay.aspx?FinalName=Gloves%20of%20Im provised%20Might1

and i use a shovel as ammunition(one handed, 1d6 improvise weapon).

whit all that i throw only a 1d6 shovel, or a 3d8 shovel +5?

and if i use the flurry of blast, can i throw multiple shovel?

ps: english is not my mother lenguage, so probably i've make some mistake in this post, sorry for that.


This is tricky, in most ways it seems like "as though you had thrown the object yourself" would mean that you would apply all the modifiers from your feats to the attack and get the 3d8 +5.
The only thing that gives me pause is the proficiency requirements, and that boils down to how pedantic we want to be about Improvised Focus saying "You are considered proficient with the improvised weapon and are considered to have Weapon Focus with improvised weapons for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites of feats that specifically select a weapon, such as Weapon Specialization."
Does the use of "and" in that sentence mean that you are only considered proficient for feats that require proficiency or can we read that sentence instead instead as two: "You are considered proficient with the improvised weapon." and also "You are considered to have Weapon Focus with improvised weapons for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites of feats that specifically select a weapon, such as Weapon Specialization."
My personal ruling would be that Improvised Focus makes you count as proficient and you are free to throw all the shovels you want, especially considering how feat intensive it is to get to where this build is.
I would say flurry of blasts would also work as long as you have all the shovels already drawn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Telekinetic blast-improvised weapon etc. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.