Synergist Witch Semantics


Rules Questions


Okay so after a bit of deliberation, I went with the Synergist Witch archetype and currently I have a raven and was thinking down the line getting improved familiar and get a Nosoi (probably going to say the raven was one the whole time because shape change, just didn't feel like sharing) I was wondering if:
1. The supernatural abilities carry over (pretty sure they don't but just double checking)
2. The special qualities carry over
3. The psychopomp template carries over.
Super appreciate any replies, we're running Carrion Crown and I think it'd have neat flavor (also I'm dipping a level in sorc so I can have undead bloodline Arcana)


If the ability isn’t covered by the level of beast shape spell or the synergist itself, then you can’t get it.

Scarab Sages

Here's what you would get:

At 1st level, during symbiosis the synergist gains darkvision or low-light vision if the familiar possesses it.

Nosoi has both, so there you go.

At 5th level, during symbiosis the synergist gains any abilities the familiar possesses that are listed under beast shape I, except flight.

That means you would get: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision.

At 8th level, during symbiosis the synergist gains any abilities the familiar possesses that are listed under beast shape II. If the familiar can fly, the synergist can fly for a total of 1 minute per witch level she possesses per day while in symbiosis. This duration need not be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute intervals.

That means you get: fly 50 feet (average maneuverability), darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision,

Additionally, during symbiosis the synergist gains a single natural attack of a type possessed by its familiar.

The attack deals 1d6 points of damage if a primary attack (1d6 for Small synergists) and 1d4 points of damage if a secondary attack (1d3 for Small synergists).

The Nosoi only has a bite, so you gain a bite attack.

At 11th level, during symbiosis the synergist gains any abilities the familiar possesses that are listed under beast shape III. If the familiar can fly, the synergist can fly for an unlimited amount of time each day while in symbiosis.

Here you get: fly 50 feet (average maneuverability), darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision

At 14th level, during symbiosis the synergist gains any abilities the familiar possesses that are listed under beast shape IV. If the familiar has multiple natural attacks, the synergist gains them all, rather than just one."

Here you get: fly 50 feet (average maneuverability), darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, resist cold and electricity 30

And... that looks like just about it. It's a shame the Nosoi doesn't have more abilities listed in the beast shape spells.


That’s a really good recap but the nosoi only has resistance 10. And even if it were higher the beast shape 4 caps out at 20 resistance.

Scarab Sages

Actually, beastshape 4 sets any resistance or immunity to resist 20.

"If the creature has immunity or resistance to any elements, you gain resistance 20 to those elements"

It's slightly different wording than the other sections.

The 30 in my previous post was wrong though, I meant to put 20


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The information is scattered. It’s from the polymorph rules.

Quote:
In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead.


Melkiador is correct. You gain the worse option between what the form possesses and what the spell can grant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Synergist Witch Semantics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.