Questions from last game session (spoilers for Second Darkness)


Rules Questions


So my group is playing the second book in Second Darkness.

The party is quite large. There are only five PCs, but two companions. All but one of the PCs are 5th-level.

We have an alchemist (who is also pretty good with a longbow, and is only 4th-level), a brawler, an evoker, a cleric with a really strange build (using War Blessing, deals virtually no damage), and an unchained summoner.

For companions, we also had Kwavas (or however you spell his name), an elf ranger of about 4th-level who is extremely plot-relevant, and Fetch (the dog). We rescued that dog from his owner, put a headband of intellect on him, and when he finally gained his 4th HD at the begging of the session, he put a point into Int, so we could take away the headband. He can now continue to gain levels of fighter without magical assistance. Sometimes Samaritha adventures with us (we rescued her), but we did not take her on this expedition. We captured Clegg and despite his demands didn't take him with us. The brawler took his Gauntlets of Ogre Power +4 (which is probably not Pathfinder legal, but whatever).

The GM has increased the level of difficulty, sometimes in surprising ways. Clegg got far scarier (he's a thug with an incredible amount of Intimidation abilities, who could panic a character with a ridiculous save DC). NPCs are typically higher level than in the book.

We entered the drow cave, killed three drow rangers, and found the siren ghost. Here's my first question. The brawler has gained brawler strike (magic), so his unarmed attacks can penetrate damage reduction as if his fists were +1 (magical). They're not actually +1. Does that entitle him to damage incorporeal creatures (doing half damage), or have no effect at all?

The evoker player said a wizard can ready an action to cast any spell they have (when triggered), while I believe you have to state which spell you want to cast when the trigger goes off. (I used to regularly do this "trick": ready an action to cast Magic Missile when another caster casts a spell. They take damage and might fail their concentration check.) No I'm not the DM of this game.


"At 5th level, a brawler’s unarmed strikes are treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."
It wouldn't help against incorporeal as the ability specifies that it only counts as magic for overcoming DR.

The evoker player is ... not really wrong and it's GM discretion. The rules say: "You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it." but that doesn't really say how specific you need to be.
I've always assumed you have to specify which spell you're going to do but other GMs could be more lenient.


for spells our gm ruled you have to say specifically what spell you cast, but do not need to pick targets or effects etc.

but the wizard have a case for his side as when you ready to counter- spell(i know it's not the same but close enough) you need not know in advance what spell to ready to counter with. which prove that deciding what spell to cast can be done with reading action.

Grand Lodge

Warped Savant wrote:

"At 5th level, a brawler’s unarmed strikes are treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."

It wouldn't help against incorporeal as the ability specifies that it only counts as magic for overcoming DR.

So, this used to be the case but they changed it back in 2014. Here's the FAQ saying they can hit ghosts.


Jeff Merola wrote:
So, this used to be the case but they changed it back in 2014. Here's the FAQ saying they can hit ghosts.

Oh! Interesting!

With that in mind, it does make sense.... DR prevents some damage unless you have something to ignore that damage prevention.
Being incorporeal prevents all damage unless the attacker has something to bypass that.
So "incorporeal" is a better way than saying "DR all but other incorporeal/magic for half damage" (and then the other effects of being incorporeal).


Jeff Merola wrote:
So, this used to be the case but they changed it back in 2014. Here's the FAQ saying they can hit ghosts.

Happy news! We are facing that shadowy demon thing and, being only 5th-level, don't have enough spells to deal with it, beyond Daylight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions from last game session (spoilers for Second Darkness) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.